Thread: Player's salaries

Player's salaries

it's probably rude of me to ask, but does anybody know how much the players get paid and/or how much the yearly wage bill is? does th eclub publish details about turnover and all that sort of thing?

i've heard that george and a few others are getting close to 2K a week. is it true? fair play to them if it is. the quality is so much better than it used to be. but i wonder if it is sustainable....

I don 't think its published and I think that there are a lot of rumours flying around most of which are groundless.

One of the Dublin papers (Times or Indo) stated that Fenn, Georgie and Danny are each on €1,900 a week plus car. Uh-oh, that means we just blew the guts of €300,000 on two bench warmers and a whinger!

Only messin.
    Last edited by Fair_play_boy; 16/11/2004 at 5:40 PM.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Lets not start a page guessing what the players are earning. It stinks of Bohs fans and their singling out players that are getting high wages.

Bottom line is that these people are pro sportsmen and have short careers so they are different to the normal joe.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    so they are different to the normal joe.
    what do you think of that joe?
    normal eh.. i dont think so

I donno Harry.
    We (the supporters) pay a lot of their wages, so we are stake holders.
    Also, can't we discuss their wages in a positive way? I think the wages quoted above are about right. I support the club paying the players well, not just for the reason you say, but because I want to see quality games for my €10.
    Anyway, it is not like they are comparable with other types of employment. The more a player earns, the more it is in the public domain, whether that is a good thing or not.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

NOBODY here knows what any player earns. Anything said is idle speculation and pointless.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    Bottom line is that these people are pro sportsmen and have short careers so they are different to the normal joe.
    Well they certainly seem to have more money to spend in the hairdressers than your ordinary Joe.

Quote Originally Posted by kingcolers
    it's probably rude of me to ask, but does anybody know how much the players get paid and/or how much the yearly wage bill is? does th eclub publish details about turnover and all that sort of thing?

i've heard that george and a few others are getting close to 2K a week. is it true? fair play to them if it is. the quality is so much better than it used to be. but i wonder if it is sustainable....
    would tell somebody that u dont know, what ur wage packet was?. whatever the players earn is their own business and i wouldnt begrudge them one cent of it

i've no problem with the players earning good money. as i said, fair play to them. the more money they earn, the better the quality, etc. it's great that we can afford to keep decent players and offer a viable alternative to going to england.

i'm just curious: with 16 full-time professionals, 3 of which are on supposedly 1900 a week, the wage bill could be pushing 1million a year. brian must be selling a lot of chips...long may it last.

What is it with Joe.........he's either ordinary, normal, or rejoices in the surname of Soap!

Comparing the wages of a footballer with an ordinary "Joe" you have to take into account that Joe is usually in a job/career which will in most cases last until he retires. Many footballers have either no other job or part time work which leaves them in a dodgy situation once they reach 30 years of age and the legs start to go. Looking for a fulltime job at that stage is not easy.
    The best of luck to them in the meantime.

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    would tell somebody that u dont know, what ur wage packet was?. whatever the players earn is their own business and i wouldnt begrudge them one cent of it

Here Here. Its a private matter and I think we should be more concerned with Friday night cos if the lads win the league then they'll be after proving they are worth every last cent

Quote Originally Posted by observer
    Comparing the wages of a footballer with ordinary Joe you have to take into account that Joe is usually in a job/career which will in most cases last until he retires.
    Now, now, now, Joe is in a quality job, and does quality work. A worker of the highest quality is our Joe, in fact......

Btw, Joe seems to be a very popular topic of converstion these days...
    It must be great to be a Trend-setter, Joe......

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Well they certainly seem to have more money to spend in the hairdressers than your ordinary Joe.
    and casinos $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    First Division Champions

Well they certainly seem to have more money to spend in the hairdressers than your ordinary Joe
    Razor,

dont let your cousin hear you say that!!
    Cork City F.C. the envy of the EL

fact, those 3 players aren't earning any where near €1900.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    One of the Dublin papers (Times or Indo) stated that Fenn, Georgie and Danny are each on €1,900 a week plus car.
    I'll tell you now that the fact of the matter is that nobody in the City squad earns anything like 1900 a week.
    As for the car, don't make me laugh!

Lads don't post that players are earning x amount unless you know for sure. By saying they are earning such excessive amounts, you're only giving the begrudgers an excuse to abuse them if things ever start to go wrong.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Anything said is idle speculation and pointless.
    Isn't that what Internet message boards are for?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by yan
    Razor,

dont let your cousin hear you say that!!
    And don't u be tellin her either.