Thread: Frenchman Sacked?

Frenchman Sacked?

this topic was brought up on the Into The West Forum:

The news is that Tony Mannion has sacked our french star,he told him to leave the training ground on sunday morning ,Damien was not happy with been taken off last week and has had a falling out with tony,this is a great start for next season,things are really looking up!
    Have no chance of getting promoted next season,the club needs a change of direction,where do you start.

is there any truth in this, if so i really shows what the club is made of.
    we need someone to come in with some money to be able to hold on to our good players: Damien Dupuy, Alan Murphy, Eric Lavine the list goes on...
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

As I said somewhere else, Damian is going back to France at the end of the season , so maybe it will be good for us to play without him and see what we are like?

Anyway, isn't what we were expecting? we have never held onto anything good! you could add Fergal Coleman, Ricky Flaherty, Ski....... to the list but to be honest, from memory, we have 1 good player coming through every season and neverheld on to 1 of them!

MANNION OUT !

Fans have to show they love Damo. Mannion has to stop. Would be the best thing for United !!!

What the **** happened?

"Did you see the reaction when Galway took off their no. 10- Dupuy, I think? He refused to shake hands with his replacement, sat down in the dugout pulling on a top. His manager approached him and he blanked him too, flouncing off to the dressing rooms, stamping his little feet. What a wankr!"

This was thread posted in the Bray Section of Foot.ie

One of very few matches i've missed this season and look what i miss
    Can any Utd. supporter that was there tell me what happened??

According to the sentinel today they have patched up there differences and Dupuy is available for the match this friday! Hoorah!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    According to the sentinel today they have patched up there differences and Dupuy is available for the match this friday! Hoorah!
    but will he stay???
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

As I said somewhere else, Damian is going back to France at the end of the season

This is the last time im posting it for you francis!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

damien

ok lads i m gonna answer briefly just becauze i don t like rumours

first i don t come back to france ok Terry i just come back for christmas and the new year and hopefully i come back in ireland next

all i can say is thats not a question of money if thats what you think!

damien

bien répondu fiston!!!

So the fans have to thank Mannion...

bizanet

Quote Originally Posted by connemara
    So the fans have to thank Mannion...
    mais de rien papa et si apres ca ils ont pas compris!!!!

PS: salut eric!

When is Dupays contract up ? at the end of this season or next season ? I wonder could the lure of premier division football with the likes of a Bray, UCD or Harps take him away from Galway ?

Can anyone shed light on the Derek McCarthy situation. I know he had a head to head with Mannion on friday after the game which has ended with him leaving the club 3 games early.
    You don't become a bad striker overnight, and Derek is a cracker, our top scorer last season. I know he has the odd flaw, but Mannion seemed to take a personal dislike to him.Anyone know why?? Any rumours abounding. Something must have happened because he's 10 times a better striker than that O'Dowd fella ye have

derek

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Can anyone shed light on the Derek McCarthy situation. I know he had a head to head with Mannion on friday after the game which has ended with him leaving the club 3 games early.
    You don't become a bad striker overnight, and Derek is a cracker, our top scorer last season. I know he has the odd flaw, but Mannion seemed to take a personal dislike to him.Anyone know why?? Any rumours abounding. Something must have happened because he's 10 times a better striker than that O'Dowd fella ye have
    derek is gone for good this week in limerick
    he s gone after the last match against monaghan

You don't become a bad striker overnight

Funny you should say that, a few of the other players who haven't been getting a game lately, said the same thing to mannion in the past couple of weeks and they got no response from mannion. Just a shrug of the shoulders and he would then turn and walk away. A TOTALLY USELESS MANAGER WHO IS WELL PAST HIS SELL BY DATE

MANNION OUT NOW!!!!!!!

I know he had a head to head with Mannion on friday after the game which has ended with him leaving the club 3 games early.
    never heard a thing about this episode joesoap
    gonna have to get onto my sources and see what the story is

Angry Patrick Dunne

Derek got at least six chances in the first team, and as far as I
    am concerned, made little or no impact.

Tony made several mistakes during the year - one was discipline. A lot of the players seem to be giving out about Tony around the town. A lot of these wasters should realise that if a new man comes in the first thing he will do is clear out the deadwood immediately. We only have two or three Premier players, and at a stretch 7/8 who are good enough to get us into the top three in the First.

Tony signed eight players at the beginning of the year, his downfall was that many of them made little or no impact, for example :

Sean "The Invisible Hun" Flannery
    Luke "Who ?" Byrne
    Derek "Stella" McCarthy
    Brendan "No, I can't remember him either" Hughes

None of the signings were outstanding, Damien Dupuy was the only player who came in and made a huge contribution.

If Tony stays, which I'd say is a strong possibility, the only signings will be local junior players, rubbish from Athlone/Limerick or players released by
    Sligo/Longford. Our underage set up is a disaster. It has been destroyed by Salthills ridiculous "taking part is good enough", ethos, which can ultimately only lead to failure, and your rich daddy having to bail you out.

There are no outstanding young players coming through.
    The U-18's were disbanded because "they were winning everything".
    Madness. We are Galway United Football Club. We want to win everything.

Rant over !

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    Derek got at least six chances in the first team, and as far as I
    am concerned, made little or no impact.

Tony made several mistakes during the year - one was discipline. A lot of the players seem to be giving out about Tony around the town. A lot of these wasters should realise that if a new man comes in the first thing he will do is clear out the deadwood immediately. We only have two or three Premier players, and at a stretch 7/8 who are good enough to get us into the top three in the First.

Tony signed eight players at the beginning of the year, his downfall was that many of them made little or no impact, for example :

Sean "The Invisible Hun" Flannery
    Luke "Who ?" Byrne
    Derek "Stella" McCarthy
    Brendan "No, I can't remember him either" Hughes

None of the signings were outstanding, Damien Dupuy was the only player who came in and made a huge contribution.

If Tony stays, which I'd say is a strong possibility, the only signings will be local junior players, rubbish from Athlone/Limerick or players released by
    Sligo/Longford. Our underage set up is a disaster. It has been destroyed by Salthills ridiculous "taking part is good enough", ethos, which can ultimately only lead to failure, and your rich daddy having to bail you out.

There are no outstanding young players coming through.
    The U-18's were disbanded because "they were winning everything".
    Madness. We are Galway United Football Club. We want to win everything.

Rant over !
    Well Patrick Dunne, with a rant like that i'm surprised you dont have more posts on this forum
    You should have started a new thread with it though, cause i have a feeling there'll be alot of replies to it

shankilwanderer
    Ah well, It would be nice to get Damien Dupuy and Derek McCarthy over to the east coast for next season.
    Last edited by shankilwanderer; 09/11/2004 at 7:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by shankilwanderer
    It would be nice to get Damien Dupuy
    NO CHANCE