Where's McDermott gone? He's a weird one - bags of talent but unlucky to sign for a team where the strongest XI was pretty much nailed on and there was no route in. Hopefully he doesn't drop out of football entirely.
On Towell, it's been great craic watching the ITK crowd on Facebook. Regardless of what PS says, there are plenty of Pats fans convinced he was signing with them, on the basis of some jokes about his Inchicore granny, and for some reason loads of Dundalk fans convinced he was going around Dundalk a few weeks ago telling everyone he'd signed a new contract but was going on holiday to Vegas before anything was announced.
Robert Birdsall and Craig Burns sign for Waterford from Cobh. Had been expected. Two decent players and will be badly missed. Not looking good for next season again sadly
McDermott had about 3/4 good performances (Rovers away on his debut, Hadjuk Split and 1 or 2 more) Rest of the team, he was a tad lazy and got booked in at least 70% of games he played (he would be booked minutes after coming on as a sub for stupid tackles) He has bags of talent. Id think he would need a team to be built around him, could do a decent job at alot of clubs.
As for lads going around in Dundalk saying signed a contract (that would come from Maxi and only be said by clowns) Towell has publicy stated on a few occasions since we won the league, that if he is playing in Ireland next season it will be at Dundalk.
Like I said, it's from Facebook (and Twitter) where lads are passing on things they've heard as gospel. You know as well as I do the amount of nonsense people talk as if they have an inside track.
I watched him a couple of times in England and it was obvious the talent he had, and obviously when he came on against Rovers he just had that bit of class. From what I've seen and heard, I'm not sure he'd be a player you build around either as he's not the very professional and driven Towell-type player and not as naturally gifted as Quigley, but he's a player you want to see in the league.
McDermott was the only frustrating thing in the Dundalk side this year. The getting booked and moving around the pitch in that half jogging motion like pretending to give a **** ****ed me off.
Question to ask out there? How happy or disappointed are you so far with your clubs signings?
Long Live King Kenny
Last edited by Dunny; 01/12/2014 at 11:20 PM.
Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)
Termonbarry Athletic TID!
So is he a Quigley or just a chronic waster?
Pretty happy. Midfield is better with Fahey. The most important signing was always going to be Barry Murphy and a two-year deal means we don't have to worry about that. We all know how talented North is but his fitness and desire has been sketchy in the past, and we definitely need two more strikers at least.Question to ask out there? How happy or disappointed are you so far with your clubs signings?
Fahey took a pay cut after leaving Pats, I had doubts when Crolly claimed the budget he had was only 4th biggest in the league, but he might have been right after all.
I've heard it all now.
Feck. Harps should have offered €100 a week and we'd have got him for sure.
Dundalk keen on Patterson according to this: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30786550.html
He's contracted for another year though, so Dundalk would probably be looking at a sizeable fee.
If he became available I think Kenny could change his mind. He needs a striker, if he can't get one somewhere else Patterson could come into his thoughts, as he would Rovers and any other club needing a goalscorer.
Here you go
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/...well-1-6449643Two potential targets that could certainly be labelled as high profile are former Lilywhites terrace favourite Mark Quigley and Derry City hitman Rory Patterson. Monday’s Irish Independent had both players linked with a move to Oriel Park to replace Patrick Hoban but Kenny said that a move for a striker was some way off.“We aren’t close to signing anybody there and I haven’t spoken to those two players,” he said.
“We have David McMillan, who we feel is capable of scoring a lot more goals, but we do want to add to that. We are widening our net and having a look to see what’s available elsewhere.”
Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)
Termonbarry Athletic TID!