Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 3111213

Thread: Transfers In/Out

220 Posts
    So our light in numbers strike force has just gotten lighter! I have a bad feeling going into this season. We've been very lucky that Davy hasn't missed a league game through injury if I'm not mistaken. And Shawsy has been in the wars in a few aerial battles over the last couple of seasons. But not only injuries and suspension, if either has a dip in form we're in bother. With our tight defence we could battle out the wins if that does happen but as we've seen from pre season our defence is far from water tight! But......it is preseason!

205 Posts
    We never do well in pre-season. I would be alot happier if we had more strikers.
    Sporting F*ck All!

220 Posts
    I know we never do well in pre season, that's why I do have a bit of hope. But then again for the last 7 years we were a first division side playing premier sides. It's the other way round this year. But we are unbeaten though.....

861 Posts
    Looks like Don will be called upon as 3rd choice striker and about time too, he showed before and now in pre season that he can score goals and his pace and power would terrorise any back 4. However if Don gets injured playing out wide we are back to square 1 with the SOS situation so in my opinion it's madness we haven't signed another named striker. I know he's a lakes boy but Daryl Kavanagh is one i wouldn't have minded as a back up.

Was chatting to one of our ex players uncle and aunt and they told me that Etanda Nkolo is now playing with Mullingar Athletic joining Mick Lee and ex coach Phil Coffey.

1,103 Posts
    There's still time to bring one in if one can be found. You'd imagine TC wouldn't have let Pender go if he wasn't able to replace him. Unless he thinks one of the young lads can step up.

Don played good up front v ucd and took his two goals well, looks far more comfortable up top but then he was running onto balls rather then trying to knock ones down or hold up play like shaw is used.

This leaking of goals, 11 in 4 matches i think it is , has me worried too, the 2nd half v ucd the back four were so lackadaisical, the attitude among the senior players was Cat, none of them looked as if they wanted to be there atall...
    I think Smithers picked me because of my motivational skills.
    Everyone says they have to work a lot harder when I'm around.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    There's still time to bring one in if one can be found. You'd imagine TC wouldn't have let Pender go if he wasn't able to replace him. Unless he thinks one of the young lads can step up.
    Was chatting to someone when we signed Pender. I was going with the "things worked out ok with the last striker we got from Wayside", the response was that he had potential but that he hadn't put the time in at that level that Davy had.

622 Posts
    From Prenders point of view, he's at an age where he needs to be playing every week, so you can't blame him for jumping at that chance, so it's understandable enough for him to want to leave.

Some of ye looked at me like I had two heads when I said I see Don turning into our best striker when we get to the PD, if TC gives him a chance. I still stand by that, he's the best athlete of the 3, no disrespect to the SOS, but Don's a beast, and we seen what he could do when given a run up top a few years ago, really don't see why he won't eventually get his chance and take it up there again, in time.

I hate him on the wing, if he knew how to pick a pass it'd be grand, because he has the beating of anyone on his day, but it's a square peg in round hole job, when he's out there.

36 Posts
    Let's face it, the only reason why Cowan is likely not to play right wing in the Premier cos he won't do a job defensively against wingers of a far better quality than what we were up against last year. He has a lot of improving to do if he is to make any impression in the Premier

861 Posts
    After tonight's game lads there's absoutly no way Ben Mohammed can't start against Dundalk, stunning display, can see why he's so highly rated now.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    After tonight's game lads there's absoutly no way Ben Mohammed can't start against Dundalk, stunning display, can see why he's so highly rated now.
    was there many town fans at the match? only logging now to check result and had no idea the game was switched to Drogheda!

Was chatting to Martin Deady on twitter and he told me that Conor O Brien is no longer with us due to college commitments.

861 Posts
    Was chatting to Martin Deady on twitter and he told me that Conor O Brien is no longer with us due to college commitments.
    Another wasted signing

1,103 Posts
    Might have been some use if he'd been registered for the start of last season. Once he was free to play there wasn't too much room for experimentation. I've never seen him play mind you as far as I can recall so I've no idea whether he actually is any good.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Just wait until he shows up playing for Athlone.

19. Thanks From:

Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 3111213