Page 33 of 39 FirstFirst ... 233132333435 ... LastLast

Thread: Scotland V Republic of Ireland - Friday, 14th November 2014 - Euro 2016 Qualifier

610 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boysingreen View Post
    What a woeful performance. Pretty sure we had more touches in the Scotland half with our heads than our feet. Why bother?

Dreadful day in the campaign, and a nice little treat that we get to suck on it for 4-5 months til the next fixture.
    Yeah you're right.
    Let's just jack it in!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Cannot understand the criticism he's getting.
    He'll get criticised regardless of how he plays. He's an easy target.

Great analysis of the game by Steven Reid here: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30746551.html

I don't necessarily agree that dropping Robbie was a mistake but certainly the way the team was set up was a major factor in the way the game unfolded.

I thought this was quite a fair report from Scotland too: http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...rawn-1-3605990

As usual the optimism misplaced and the usual suspects found out just like the players.very poor and oneill very bad.

We are where we are in the rankings like I said and we probably will be for a long time.shocking shocking performance just as bad as trap and oneill talking crap about deserving a draw.

Everyone om here would be saying if we got a draw how great we were and that it wouldn't be down to luck.everyone was saying that we were better man for man and Scotland weren't up to mucj.well their team looked two tiers above us.

It was as bad as anything under trap and keanes thinly veiled pot at keane and Mon doesn't help things and don't try and tell me that's what it was cos it's exavctly what it was.

At least keane would have held up the ball last night. Our play was terrible time after time we hoofed it.its Scotland ffs. Control the ball, play the ball.

It was just as bad as anything under trap. I thought we could sneak a draw but I knew Scotland were better than us.

Oh ya and georgia? Give me a break. As I said not up to much.poland showed that pretty well didn't they?

Pot-shots at disagreeing posters on here? Check.
    Pot-shots at Robbie Keane? Check.
    Casting doubt on all previous positive results? Check.
    Reminders about how he'd called it right all along? Check.

It's a Paul O'Shea victory post alright.

All it was missing was Seamus Coleman conceding a penalty and we'd have the POSH Full House.

Well unfortunately I'd much rather I was wrong. I'd feel a lot better.

It's hard when ye call it right. But softened by being a realist and managing expectations accordingly.

The other performances particularly georgia were just as bad but as has been said before we got lucky.

214 Posts
    bad day at the office.

We can play better and it's a shame we didn't vary our play. Scotland adapted to our aerial bombardment early on. Walters and Long were isolated when they did pick up scraps and I think that game was crying out for somebody like Wes to link up play. Pity he was injured.

Folk are going on about Scotland as if they played like Brazil in the 1970 World Cup in all the reports I read over last 10 hours, they played a little bit more football than us and scored one well taken goal because our team switched off at a set piece.

They caused us problems from crosses because our centre backs weren't winning their headers. Bread and butter stuff. If they weren't winning headers they were giving needless free kicks away. Coleman has been getting slagged but defensively he was covering for O'Shea and Keogh and made a number of blocks or did enough to put off opposition when close to goal. Pity we couldn't get him up the field where he is most effective.

McGeady was rattled and once he got the yellow card he was treading on egg shells. Same as Hendricks, difficult for a centre mid to pick up a yellow card so early in game. McClean was McClean, works hard but picks wrong option every time in possession and cannot take a set piece. We have a guy just like him in my Sunday league squad! Brady needs a chance at left mid.

Robbie swearing post match? Stay classy. Media will probably run with that story now for the next 4 days....

1,025 Posts
    They won the midfield battle fairly comprehensively, but apart from that I didn't think there was much in it.

The goal didn't come from anything other than a well-worked set piece we didn't react to.

In midfield, we were far too deep for most of the game. On the occasions when the midfield got forward, we actually passed it round ok. But there were periods last night where the gap between midfield and attack was just massive, so there was no other option but to hoof it.

How would we have fared with McCarthy and/or Whelan in there? Were we defensively minded due to the absences, or would we have been anyway?

I think going on previous performances throughout the campaigns we would just have been the same. Scotland looked like brazil the way they played it on the floor and controlled in tight spaces compared to us. We out Britished the British with our football.

Well they'll have their win but they'll never have their freedom...

Freeee...oh wait no you didn't want that.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    He'll get criticised regardless of how he plays. He's an easy target.

Great analysis of the game by Steven Reid here: http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...-30746551.html

I don't necessarily agree that dropping Robbie was a mistake but certainly the way the team was set up was a major factor in the way the game unfolded.
    It's a curious deceptive analysis and a good read.
    He doesn't really take issue with the way we were set up, except for that corner and he doesn't really take issue with dropping Robbie, but in the end he says we lost the game in midfield.
    Which i'd also agree with, that regardless of shortcomings elsewhere, midfield was the crucial area.

446 Posts
    Two very mediocre teams...
    End of.

We now epitomise the word?

130 Posts
    On way home from Glasgow, deflated. Great atmosphere, deflating night. There isn't much between the two sides but Scotland used what they have a lot better. That for me is the most disappointing thing, this wasn't Germany. We should have been able to match the scots in the possession stakes. Too much and too often we hoofed the ball long to the front two. How frustrating it must be for Walters and long to rely on hopeful long balls. So much for a change in approach!

Defensively, with the exception if the inexcusable lapse for the goal, thought we played well. Keogh impressed and looked assured with ball at his feet. Ward was ok, exposed once in second half because he was too deep. Don't feel we do enough to maximise colemans strengths.

Mcgeadys head didn't look in a good place right from the off. Disappointed that Hendrick was so ineffective but still one for the future.

Finally don't think we coped with Naismith role all night. We didn't seem to have allocated responsibility to who was to mark him, whether it was a CB or CM. Surely we need to look at more creative formations than 442 particularly given the personnel we have. We are not maximising this teams potential.

285 Posts
    Wilson instead of Ward, Brady instead of McClean, McCarthy in the middle & Hoolahan off Keane or Long or Walters up front is what I would like to see from now on. Disgusted by last nights performance.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 15/11/2014 at 1:03 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

2,796 Posts
    The better team won and the better coached team won.

Although I think we're a better team without the ball now than we were in recent years I think we failed to adapt to the space that Naismith found between midfield and attack. This is the space that Glenn Whelan occupies and a few people I met last night said that although he's a popular target for criticism, we did miss him.

We asked a lot of our midfield two and in hindsight Quinn should have been there too. Walters worked his nads off but ultimately our offensive play was all huff and puff and little else. Work the ball wide or chip it up the touchline, that's all we had. The first 15 mins of the second half was when we got most traction but Scotland's response to this passage of play was impressive. For almost all of the game (last decade) midfield contributed nothing in the way of creativity. That's why a Hoolahan player is needed. Without the ability to use the ball centrally in an opponent's half and to get into that space that Naismith was finding last night, we are one dimensional and easy to play against.

As for individual performances, only McGeady was below usual standard I think. We know sometimes McClean doesnt make inroads in some games. Coleman might have offered more going forward but I thought as individuals everyone was alright, it was the CM unit and everything that stems from that that misfired.

O'Neill was right though. Our home form in 2015 is what'll shape the outcome, not last night. We need to step up a few gears big time but I fear our coaching team are most familiar with a version of the game played in the 2000s, not the 2010s.

Nice to meet AB last night, I looked for you after my "pit stop" but lost you!
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 15/11/2014 at 10:48 AM.

610 Posts
    I'm pretty sure everyone was happy with the team before the game.
    We didn't play as well as we could have and we lost.
    Move on.
    It wasn't a terrible performance, it just wasn't as good as Scotland.
    They had more experience in the centre of the park and were more composed on the ball in what was a scrappy game on a slightly greasy pitch.
    People talking about dropping McClean for this but McClean was our man of the match in Germany.

We've a bit to go in this group so let's not let our emotions get the better of us here lads

517 Posts
    Keogh criticism may be over the top but so is the praise.

He let someone get a free cross into the box on 5 minutes, he let someone have a free header which is forgotten about because it went unpunished, he switched off for the goal (in fairness everyone did) and started completely losing his composure after the goal. I also read something a few pages back about him having a pop at Coleman too. He did the same thing after the one goal he wasn't at fault for against Portugal. He is decent with the ball at his feet but it makes no difference to the way we play. I'm much more concerned about him facing players direct and basics like staying tight to players in the box. Poland will have better attackers than Steven Fletcher but then hopefully Wilson will be back for that game.

Long & Walters linked up well at times and looked a hell of a lot sharper than Keane did in his last 20 odd games against teams of this stature. But we would have been stronger with Long on his own up front, granted Reid & Hoolahan were absent, granted they wouldn't have started to begin with.

Gibson was shocking. Hendrick would have been better served in a proper midfield 3 with Meyler.

It's not an unmitigated disaster as we have played Germany & Scotland (a) now and still welcome them to Dublin but I just cannot see us getting a solitary win against any of these teams in this campaign. It's just a mental block we have as a team.

O'Neill is as negative & bad as Trapattoni. A few lucky late goals doesn't change that. I said our luck would run out tonight & it did.

Keane's shots at Walters & Long & the management team, and his overall belligerence in that interview sum him up. He'll be back in the first 11 for the Poland game and if he isn't, there is going to be problems. He's not happy.

"If we play two up front & want to score goals."

That's the f***ing problem. We were playing Scotland not The Falkland Islands. You don't score f***ing goals against these teams.

Look at NI and Kyle Lafferty. Get Hoolahan & Reid back, get McCarthy back, persevere with Long.... we'll make headway.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    Keogh criticism may be over the top but so is the praise.
    Really? The closest remark on Keogh's performance that you could classify as "over the top" that I can find is this (no offence Fixer82, this is just the most complimentary post I can find about Keogh's performance)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Keogh for me had an outstanding game and barely put a foot wrong.
    Every other comment was reasonable, or critical, of his performance.

O'Neill is as negative & bad as Trapattoni. A few lucky late goals doesn't change that. I said our luck would run out tonight & it did.
    Did you? I used the search function to search your posts for "luck" and none of them mentioned our luck running out against Scotland.

Look at NI and Kyle Lafferty.
    I didn't notice him in the highlights against Romania last night, score a good goal against Greece alright.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 15/11/2014 at 4:22 PM.

229 Posts
    One of the worst performances I've seen from Ireland. Deserved nothing from the game. I've yet to see anything to suggest that MON was a better appointment that Mick McCarthy. McCarthy himself, if he is to ever return, is better coming in after the MON fascination has blown over. Last night is the the future. At 3 years of hoofball lie in store!

417 Posts
    Bruce Arena thinks Robbie should have started. Bruce should manage Ireland.
    I cant believe we lost to Alba. You people are the second biggest disgrace in Europe after Rod Stewarts hair. Im ashamed of my ancestry. Im not eating soda bread until at least 2019.

Page 33 of 39 FirstFirst ... 233132333435 ... LastLast