Page 13 of 39 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Scotland V Republic of Ireland - Friday, 14th November 2014 - Euro 2016 Qualifier

446 Posts
    Nah, still a draw. Can't see us winning, but definitely capable of the former.

My Scots 'master pundit' acquaintance has predicted a 2-1 home victory. Sadly the bassa has a v.good record, though he reckons they also should have 'stuffed' Polska.

2,081 Posts

2,796 Posts
    I've a lot of time for Strachan. Celtic fans probably didn't realise how lucky they were. He was always an outsider I feel, a throwback to the days when those feisty upstarts Aberdeen interfered with the league and cup wins Celtic felt they were entitled to.

I admire the way he realised his limitations, took time out and traveled the world to learn more about football. Easy to do when you've just been earning a million a year though!

2,081 Posts
    We might have picked a good campaign to get Scotland out of the way...

Jack Harper shines for Real Madrid

Ryan Gauld scores first Sporting (B) goal

417 Posts
    They are going to be looking for revenge as all of Alba was ashamed not to have a whisky in the top 5 for the first time ever. Congrats to Japan.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddr...the-world.html

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    We might have picked a good campaign to get Scotland out of the way...

Jack Harper shines for Real Madrid
    no mention of Alex O'Hanlon and Dan Cleary's goals for Liverpool, or Jack Byrne scoring for Man City in the same competition?

1,159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    no mention of Alex O'Hanlon and Dan Cleary's goals for Liverpool, or Jack Byrne scoring for Man City in the same competition?
    Or that Sporting B play in the Portuguese second division...

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    And maybe-piler Dan Crowley scoring again yesterday to add to his three in Anderlecht.

2,081 Posts
    Are ye giving out about me or The Mirror?

Was just some useless info.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    Are ye giving out about me or The Mirror?

Was just some useless info.
    neither really, you could rewrite the article with O'Hanlon's, Cleary's and Byrne's goals, as well as Holland and Whelan appearing for City and Liverpool respectively, and claim that Scotland might have picked a good campaign to get us out of the way

2,081 Posts
    That comment was very much tongue-in-cheek. I came across the Harper article and it got me wondering about how mini-Messi was getting on. To be honest, I thought after the large transfer fee (or large buy out clause anyway) he would be closer the first team.

Call me snobby, but I would be more excited by one of our young lads playing underage for Real Madrid than Liverpool, but it seems more circumstantial than anything else.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 05/11/2014 at 3:30 PM.

3,500 Posts
    can't find anything recent about John Joe Finn at Real Madrid, but there's a few mentions on twitter that Zak Gilsenan is training with Man United:
    from https://twitter.com/jb_8521/status/528186688498315264
    11 year old Zak Gilsenan who made headlines as the Irish Messi when he signed with Barcelona has been training with United recently
    and https://twitter.com/mufcstufff/statu...77447502077954
    Zak Gilsenan (11) has been training with Manchester United for the past few weeks, and could be offered a longer stay at United [men]
    Not sure what [men] is a reference to, thought it might have been Manchester Evening News, but nothing on their site about it

2,284 Posts
    The 11-year-old is so good, he'll be training with the senior men, maybe?

1,928 Posts
    I get the impression that Strachan is some kind of janitor/handyman with the SFA, does a bit of this does a bit of that and does the senior team as well. He has a 10 hour nixer tonight with the most obscure mainstream tv channel, discussing games of little interest outside their fan base.
    You wouldn't get O'Neill on that, he'd be of World Cup finals stature.
    Scotland think small and it just so happens they have a midget in charge.

2,284 Posts
    Just over a week 'til kick-off now, what's Scotland's likely line-up? I was having a look through their squad and they're very much lacking in the goal-scoring department. Robbie has more than double the number of international goals their entire squad has combined.

Darren Fletcher is their top scorer with five. Next come Scott Brown and Naismith joined on four. Steven Fletcher has just the one.

2,796 Posts
    I was surprised by how few Naismith has for Dvotland. His left footer last night was quality.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Just over a week 'til kick-off now, what's Scotland's likely line-up?
    Marshall, Hutton, Martin, Morrison, Anya and Naismith have started all three matches so far. Hutton is out so presumably either Phil Bardsley will come straight in at right back or Whittaker will swap over from the left and Robertson will left back.

I preusme it's unlikely Darren Fletcher will start given his lack of game time under Louis Van Gaal. I'm not sure if Mulgrew will come back in, probbaly depends on what system they go with. If he does maybe Steven Fletcher will be sacrificed? Of course, he could also fill in at left back to release Whittaker to right back.

----------------------Marshall-------------------

Whittaker------Martin-----Hanley--------Mulgrew

-----------Brown------Morrison/McArthur-------

---------Moloney---Naismith----Anya-----------

------------------Fletcher----------------------
    Last edited by DeLorean; 07/11/2014 at 8:25 AM.

646 Posts
    I'd go with
    __Marshall
    Bardsley Martin
    Hanley Robertson
    Brown Fletcher
    Morrison __Naismith
    Anya
    __Fletcher

With a possibility of Whittaker at RB, Maloney in at RM with Morrison switching in for Fletcher. The lads in bold are almost definite injury permitting.

2,081 Posts
    Bardsley is built for this kind of game, committed and aggressive. Could be some battle with McClean if it happens!

1,825 Posts
    And hopefully a red card early on.

What are the possible Sco v Irl matchups this weekend in England and Scotland.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Page 13 of 39 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast