Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Cyrus Christie D Hull b.1992

575 Posts
    I'd never even heard of him.
    Surrised Matt Doherty wasn't given a go but saw him wearing gloves in a match the other day so maybe O'Neill/Keane thought 'I just can't trust a man who wears gloves'
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

517 Posts
    Everyone knows my stance on Granny rule players, i thought we were already relatively covered with Coleman, O'Brien and Doherty at RB and there are 4 or 5 better forwards than McGoldrick already in the squad but they are committed and hungry and that's all you can ask for! Nobody even knew Christie was eligible 2 months ago and now here he is after turning down England U-21 honors - no ifs, buts and maybes; In the USA squad and the Scotland squad.

It's not Kane, Naughton or Bamford but always good to have options i suppose!
    Last edited by TheOneWhoKnocks; 11/11/2014 at 5:07 PM.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    778 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    Everyone knows my stance on Granny rule players!
    You flatter yourself.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

517 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    You flatter yourself.
    http://thescore.thejournal.ie/cyrus-...74306-Nov2014/

"The England U21s were in touch as well but for me the Republic of Ireland was the better option. They’ve not got many right-backs here so that was the main thing but the manager getting in touch with me – that’s always a pleasing aspect. There are more opportunities and they’ve got a good team here and the manager getting in touch with me – that was more of a selling point as well.”"

“I’ve seen Seamus Coleman numerous times. He’s a terrific player – it’s tough competition but I think I can learn a lot from him. He was in the Team of the Year last year and I think he’s been one of the best full-backs in the Premier League for the last few years. It’ll be good to be alongside him and learn from him. It’s pleasing to see that there’s not too many people ahead of me – that you’re going to be given an opportunity. I think that’s what’s good about playing for Ireland.

At least he's honest I suppose.

2,681 Posts
    I've no problem with that. We know there are "career oriented" players out there. He made his mind up promptly and credit for that.

575 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneWhoKnocks View Post
    http://thescore.thejournal.ie/cyrus-...74306-Nov2014/

"The England U21s were in touch as well but for me the Republic of Ireland was the better option. They’ve not got many right-backs here so that was the main thing but the manager getting in touch with me – that’s always a pleasing aspect. There are more opportunities and they’ve got a good team here and the manager getting in touch with me – that was more of a selling point as well.”"

“I’ve seen Seamus Coleman numerous times. He’s a terrific player – it’s tough competition but I think I can learn a lot from him. He was in the Team of the Year last year and I think he’s been one of the best full-backs in the Premier League for the last few years. It’ll be good to be alongside him and learn from him. It’s pleasing to see that there’s not too many people ahead of me – that you’re going to be given an opportunity. I think that’s what’s good about playing for Ireland.

Jesus who does his PR?
    Metion the word pride at least once will ya Cyrus? We'll all sleep a bit easier
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

85 Posts
    Picture of the new boys in training

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/oth...ts-650609.html
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

2,681 Posts
    Caption competition. I'll start with a very poor effort.

CC: "Farking freezing mate innit? Is it too late to defect to England?"

DMcG: "At least I didn't declare for Scotland when they wanted me. If it's cold here it'll be way worse there"

82 Posts
    "Where's that b****x Grealish... This was all his idea!!!"

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I've no problem with that. We know there are "career oriented" players out there. He made his mind up promptly and credit for that.
    Definitely. He has been quick to dismiss the England interest and has declared for us early in the day, which is to his credit. As a dual national, he was more than entitled to weigh up his options. Why wouldn't he? Many England-born players who've declared for us haven't had the burden of such an option to weigh up. And just because he's career-oriented doesn't mean he can't feel a sentimental attachment to Ireland or pride in representing the land of his grandmother either. He's an Irishman in law now and I'm sure that pride is something that will only further develop the more he immerses himself in the squad and explores/finds that side of his identity.

622 Posts
    "Fack me Cyrus, not a poppy in sight, where's the facking respect, 'innit"
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

2,681 Posts
    "Jesus, this is some culture shock. The real Irish lads were talking about some bloke in an Irish soap opera. I've never even heard of him"

"That's Miley, Cyrus".

622 Posts
    I was wondering were they going to give him a nickname like Billy (as in Billy Ray Cyrus) or Browner (as in Christy Brown) but then thought of Miley (as in Miley Cyrus, and Miley from Glenroe)

Looks like I'm not alone there Stuttgart
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

85 Posts
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

They werent speaking to eachother lads so those captions are just whatever ye felt the order of the day was.

Its more like Cyrus the Virus realised they had made a mistake following the drills, he informs McGoldy who promptly and slyly does a quick turn in the hope no one notices. None of ye have obviously been involved in drills or got them wrong :P
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 12/11/2014 at 11:08 AM. Reason: Reverse the names

I've been secretly hoping for this, great to read:

“Yeah, I’ve played at left back,” he says, agreeably. “I played left back when I was first in the Championship, played there quite a few times so I’m capable of playing there, it’s just the same as right back really, there’s not much difference. I don’t mind playing off my left foot.

24. Thanks From:

517 Posts
    The natural question is, if Cyrus falls out of favour, how would he feel about being called up to preliminary squads and left out of the final squads? And how would he feel if he was left out of squads?

Would that be a good thing about playing for Ireland?

1,092 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I've been secretly hoping for this, great to read:

“Yeah, I’ve played at left back,” he says, agreeably. “I played left back when I was first in the Championship, played there quite a few times so I’m capable of playing there, it’s just the same as right back really, there’s not much difference. I don’t mind playing off my left foot.
    Christ. It's not hard to see his trail of thought on that one. It follows on from his praise of Coleman really.."Coleman's class.. but that Ward lad...."

27. Thanks From:

1,813 Posts
    Who cares? Why preempt something not remotely on the table at present.

If he resents his initial call up then fine. But that's his prerogative. Kevin Foley did similarly after the Euro squad announcement and he's from Ireland. Is he immune to criticism or is the criticism covering your own xenophobic beliefs about "impure" Irishmen

Edit- always thought he was from Palmerstown. Turns out Luton. Anyway I think your concerns at Christie's motivation are OTT.
    Last edited by BonnieShels; 12/11/2014 at 4:06 PM. Reason: Kevin Foley error.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast