Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast

Thread: Promotion/Relegation Play-Offs 2014

230 Posts

Dunne is a spoofer though, hard to pick between him and Cousins as to who will be sacked first next season.
    My money would be on Heary to go before either of the above

3,491 Posts
    "Our ex manager's the worst!"

"No, ours is worse!"

"Nuh-aa! Ours was awfuler"

Got to love football.

Except when you've got a bloody centre-half up front for 40 minutes to chase a game while a forward sits on the bench.

Agree with everything you said pineapple stu but this was a young nervous team and with that comes silly simple mistakes. If you look at our team that played last night I believe only 2 players were over 25 years of age with half of the remainder of the team under 21. Manning our #8 is still only 17 and he got the man of the match.

Financially we can bring in players but they will have to agree to the clubs structures, something a lot of experienced LOI players won't like.
    Last edited by Terry; 01/11/2014 at 11:00 AM.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Such bad a windup that you respond using choice language and calling sligoman a looper and weirdo...caught hook line and sinker
    Not bothered in the least, we're back in the Premier, I'm delighted.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Agree with everything you said pineapple stu but this was a young nervous team and with that comes silly simple mistakes. If you look at our team that played last night I believe only 2 players were over 25 years of age with half of the remainder of the team under 21. Manning our #8 is still only 17 and he got the man of the match.

Financially we can bring in players but they will have to agree to the clubs structures, something a lot of experienced LOI players won't like.
    Appreciate it was a big occasion for what was in effect a new team (if not a new club), and that while it was 0-0, the size of the crowd was maybe more daunting than encouraging. So yeah, I can understand nerves. But trust me - if ye were nervous playing a team in freefall riven by internal fights who had a centre half up front, there will be streams of what looks like, but isn't, water coming down players' legs when ye travel to Drogheda. And someone like Keith Fahey will cause your players to have heart attacks with nerves simply by emerging from the tunnel alongside them.

And that's not really conducive to staying up.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 01/11/2014 at 11:06 AM.

But that's not the same pressures as last night where nearly 3000 people are expecting you to win, that's a chance to prove yourself with no great expectations.

And someone like Keith Fahey will cause your players to have heart attacks with nerves simply by emerging from the tunnel alongside them.
    A tunnel he's spent the previous hour complaining to a journalist about.

Dunne is a spoofer
    Nonsense.

He's a relatively new manager learning the ropes in many ways but he's far from a spoofer. He's taken 2 teams in the first division and gotten them promoted playing some lovely football.

He's not yet at the level for a club that wants to be top half of the premier, but trying to claim he's a spoofer is ridiculous. His record speaks for itself. He's a decent manager at league of Ireland level.

There's definite areas he had to improve, choice of signings was a big one with us, keeping the dressing room happy when things were going badly was another. But I think with time and experience hell improve in those areas.

He did exactly what we asked of him when we hired him, and it's a shame it ended negatively when he wasn't ready to bring us to the next level we were asking for, but city history will remember Tommy Dunne fondly, and that run in the year we won the first division was some of the best memories most city fans have

Delighted he's doing well again with Galway, and fully confident he can keep them in the premier next year. The question will be what their expectations are.

3,491 Posts
    He took Cork out of the First Division at the second attempt. Well done him.

Then got sacked half way through the next season I think?

Was Doolin's right hand man at ucd.

None of that is really great tbh.

Bit early to judge him at Galway yet. But beating a shambolic ucd team isn't a huge achievement.

Next season will tell a lot I'm sure. Maybe he's improved. I'm happy to remain unconvinced for now.

448 Posts
    finished 6th in his first season with us in the premier, which was acceptable, but he wasn't able to kick on and some of his signings were very poor in 2013

861 Posts
    Wouldn't be a Dunne fan either but he honestly did have galway playing the best football in the division this season (or for large parts of it anyway) although some would argue the Mervue influence in the squad had a lot to do with it as they played a great passing style last season. If Dunne signs well in the off season you'd have to imagine Galway will stay up, big pressure tho.

147 Posts
    His team can only beat the muck that's in front of him, not his fault UCD are rubbish. His side also beat a decent Shels side, won 9 of last 11 games and drew the other 2. We're not claiming to be world beaters or to have the best manager, but right now he got us promoted and so is the best manager for us
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

3,491 Posts
    Not arguing with any of that alright

64 Posts
    In answer to Stu interesting points on last night's game

The refs in the first division were better this season than those in the premier, and it was a surprise to me to see one of our "top refs" given the game.

I was far from sure when Dunne got the job, and while we (myself included) rarely do in life, everyone should be given a chance. From the start the team has played a nice style of soccer. Last night was the most long ball they have played this season, along with 1st half of game in Belfield.
    This might be due to lack of ability when they come up against better players, but I see room for improvement in a lot of them.

I believe you would have made the same judgement on Gary Rodgers, Bisto Flood, Séamus Connneely when they first played at Terryland. Even Séamus Coleman had a few faults when he was at Sligo. Hoban and Rory Gaffney did not look top LoI strikers when the played here in Galway either.
    UCD players, fair play to them, always looks more polished than other weak teams. A good example would be Ronan Finn, but despite all the predictions he still waiting on the move to a big english club. I hope he gets as I like watching him play. Himself and S Williams were part of a Sporting Fingal team that played some of the nicest stuff I have seen played in the LoI Game in Terryland on a fine summers evening, Zayed also played that night.

There is 5/6 of last nights Galway team who can progress, but I agree that a few new players need to be signed as well. Players improve also when they step up a level.

He took Cork out of the First Division at the second attempt. Well done him.

Then got sacked half way through the next season I think?

Was Doolin's right hand man at ucd.

None of that is really great tbh.

Bit early to judge him at Galway yet. But beating a shambolic ucd team isn't a huge achievement.

Next season will tell a lot I'm sure. Maybe he's improved. I'm happy to remain unconvinced for now.
    You've gone from saying his history at cork proved he was a spoofer, despite getting that history wrong, to saying his achievements were not great. Maybe we have different definitions of spoofer but for me there's a huge gap between those two...

He got us promoted in the first season he was in any position to do so, mourinho couldn't have gotten us promoted that first year. He then had us finish a respectable 6th our first year back in the Premier with a limited budget. Again meeting the expectations at the time. What he couldn't do for us was push on into top half and challenging for Europe, he's not that level of manager yet. That's why he was sacked. That doesn't in any way make him a spoofer. He's an inexperienced manager capable of a certain level for now, and he's proved with Galway that he's good at that level. I expect his second time round in the Premier with a team hell do a bit better overall than he did with us, and I wish him the best of luck.

Dunne was in no way a spoofer for us, he did exactly what we asked of him until we got to a level he wasnt ready for yet. There's no shame in that.

445 Posts
    In fairness to Dunne he had Cork playing some really nice football at times and just looked to be a few players short of really challenging higher up the table, then Caulfield came in and looks like he got more of a financial backing than Dunne did, so he might feel a little hard done by.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    In fairness to Dunne he had Cork playing some really nice football at times and just looked to be a few players short of really challenging higher up the table, then Caulfield came in and looks like he got more of a financial backing than Dunne did, so he might feel a little hard done by.
    JCs budget is definitely not bigger than Dunnes. We made a significant loss last year, with Dunne, and have been trying to make up for it this year. The bigger crowds have helped but budget would have been smaller to start. Caulfield very charismatic and I think is better at attracting players to come to us. Dunne struggled with who he signed and signing players in the right positions. We also brought through a lot of unknown locals and youth players this year, and one thing Caulfield does incredibly well is get the best out of someone willing to work hard for him. Mark o Sullivan, Rob lehane, Brian Lenihan, Kavanagh, Josh o shea were all brought through, none of which would have been on decent wages at the start. I think JC did particularly well in integrating our 'big money' players with the guys he was giving a chance to.

I don't think there's any doubt Caulfield is the better manager for us. His history with the club, his passion and focus have rallied the Cork public around us for the first time in a long time. People want to listen to what he says, he makes people want to be a part of it. That's an incredibly valuable off the pitch skill for a manager which has hugely benefitted the club

not very often that two first cousins win the first div title and the playoffs! delighted for Galway. when was the last time a first div side won the playoffs? What is goin to be the story with Callaghan for next season -judgin from his spell with us I dont rate him as a manager but as a first class no 2! hes too tempramental for starters!

122 Posts
    not very often that two first cousins win the first div title and the playoffs! delighted for Galway. when was the last time a first div side won the playoffs? What is goin to be the story with Callaghan for next season -judgin from his spell with us I dont rate him as a manager but as a first class no 2! hes too tempramental for starters!
    Monaghan United in 2011 were the last First Division side to win the play-off.

Out of the 21 play-off series' since they were introduced in 1992/1993, First Division sides have only been victorious on 9 occasions- Monaghan Utd (1993, 2011), Home Farm Everton (1996), Kilkenny City (2000), Dublin City (2005), Dundalk (2006), Finn Harps (2007), Sporting Fingal (2009), Galway FC (2014).

23. Thanks From:

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Monaghan United in 2011 were the last First Division side to win the play-off.

Out of the 21 play-off series' since they were introduced in 1992/1993, First Division sides have only been victorious on 9 occasions- Monaghan Utd (1993, 2011), Home Farm Everton (1996), Kilkenny City (2000), Dublin City (2005), Dundalk (2006), Finn Harps (2007), Sporting Fingal (2009), Galway FC (2014).
    2006 - the year of the fix

Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast