Originally Posted by Jim Smith
What have I told you about drinking during the day, Jim???
I'm sure your post will make sense if I read it after a few pints.![]()
Alcohol can be a disaster. For example, the night of the FAI Cup Final, I ended up staying the night with someone in Rathmines. The person I woke up beside the next morning was not what I'd expected.
Then again, I know lads who've been happy to bring shopping trolleys and wheely bins home with them after nights out so I shouldnt complain too much.
I think there is a thin line between getting happy drunk and getting ossified drunk. Im still learning how to judge that line.
"Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo
Originally Posted by Jim Smith
What have I told you about drinking during the day, Jim???
I'm sure your post will make sense if I read it after a few pints.![]()
After winning a Cup Final, there is no line....Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
I seem to be alone of my generation in that I am 100% Bulmers intolerant - the very whiff off that sickly apple urine makes me want to chuck
was a regular guinness drinker than stopped a while ago but last friday decided to have a few as I was in Mulligans and it just seemed right - and hey presto - you cant beat the magic full taste of a good pint of Guinness - unfortunately its so rare in dublin these days that i just have to settle for a plain old fashioned beer - the quality of which on draught in this country is actually shockingly bad compared to just about anywhere in Europe
Last edited by wws; 12/11/2004 at 12:12 PM.
I used to be the same (memories of being 14, flagons and puking), until on one weekender in Galway it was the only thing I could stomach! It's a great "cure" pint...Originally Posted by wws
You told me that anything from "de country" makes you want to chuck!Originally Posted by wws
Given the close proximity of Inchicore to St. James' Gate I suppose we'll let you off with Guinness.
Originally Posted by wws
Try living over here, boy!
Last edited by Peadar; 12/11/2004 at 12:16 PM.
england isnt in europe peadar - and well you know- they even have their own currency!![]()
That's not their fault!Originally Posted by wws
Apparently the scary lady on the money will come back from the dead and haunt them in the change to the €uro
Even if they did change, I can't see the quality of the draught beer improving.
Have to agree Peadar. Don't know what defines moderation with me yet thoOriginally Posted by Peadar
The pros outweigh the cons most of the time after a few scoops. Problem with me is I'm a reasonably reasonable lad without drink, but the odd tipple can shove me towards being a confrontational figure as opposed to argumentative. If I could find the common ground I'd be laughin!
Mens sana in corpore sano
Dillo is just destructive! JoeSemi is just misinterpretedOriginally Posted by Dillo
Mens sana in corpore sano
Fair play. If I drank that much every night I'd never make it to work. Used to be able to lower the pints no problem (and the pernod and blacks-showing my age their I think). FInd now that I can only handle it Friday and Saturday. Bottles of weissbeer if at home , guinness when the wife lets me out. Can't touch cider of any description since the first time I got drunk on a six pack of Stag when I was 14 and spent a day and a half bringing it back up.Originally Posted by Conor74
"I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles
A nice pint of well pulled Beamish does the job. Although because i'm mostly in busy/horrible places the only thing i drink is Bulmers. Which tears my stomach apart the next day and has made me do some VERY stupid things over the pastfew weeks.
last sat night i wenta bit mental though, ended up drinking vodkas and red bull (yuck) along with a couple of fat frogs, although i didn't pay for those, thank christ! the next morning wasn't pretty though.
i've a bottle of absinthe on top of the fridge at home, it's 70odd percent proof, I only smelled it and i swear i killed some brain cells. i'm never ever going to drink the stuff. you could probably put it in your car and it'd run
Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?
Ive had it a few times, half guinness and half lager... It is only really an American thing. If you want to try it my advice would be to use cider. A "Super-tramp" (half cider, half special-brew and a twist of blackcurrant) is ok too, its bascially a revved-up "Snakebite".Originally Posted by noby
Are you messing Conor? 5 pints is a binge! I don't drink myself. Unlike smoking there's no direct harm it can cause to those around you (I mean distance wise, not family), so I guess people can do as they please without harming others although I think the whole nation is serverely damaging its health with its drinking habits. One thing I do hate is the bus on Monday morning 'Ahhhhh it was deaaaaaaadly, oi drank 10 pints, don't even have a clue what happened, it was kewl', 'He was puking all night after that bottle of voldka, jaysus it was mad' and all that ********. Makes me think there's something seriously wrong with this country as I hear that every bus ride without fail.Originally Posted by Conor74
whiskey is the way of the future. conveniently small in a hip flask to bring to bray matches. the only way i can stay awake at them lately!
you are a student, a filthy student,
you're only happy on giro daaaaaay
your mammy's wheeling
and daddy's dealing
so please don't take my hubcaps away.
geesh man you know how 2 kill a conversation. i was smiling til i read that post, now im just not sure what direction my life is going in!!![]()
if i had a nickle for every time i heard the word relegation i would have a lot of nickles-which are useless when you use euro's and just create small holes in your pockets..i pooped a kettle!
I normally drink Carlsberg but the cheap pints of Fosters that most pubs are selling at the moment are the job and mean you can have an extra 3 or 4 pints for no extra than you'd normally pay.
When on a night out or a match + a night out I'd usually start off with a good few pints followed by bottles of WKD, Fat Frogs and maybe a few vodkas. This pattern generally occurs about twice a week.
Champions!
Think I'll edit the title of this thread to Alcohol- The solution to all life's problems!![]()
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
im a geek. when you said alcohol, i thought of alcohol 120%![]()
How do you know I'm not talking about 120%??![]()
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum