Thread: Midweek fixtures. 30/9/14

3,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nailor View Post
    Any Idea why Callaghan did an impression of Phil Brown at half time ?
    I meant to ask that after alright. I have no idea what that was about.

I think it was our coach rather than Aaron himself who was in the dugout with everyone.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Funny - I was thinking if I was a Rovers fan, I'd have been annoyed at that performance last night. We were there for the taking - couldn't keep hold of the ball at all - yet Rovers "only" scored three. One of those was a cracker, one a lovely inswinging cross and one a penalty. I guess with all Rovers' possession, I'd have expected them to create more. Granted, O'Donnell made a couple of top class saves, but still.

We're going down this year, or else next year for sure.
    Ah, it wasn't the most clinical performance but the game was over after 10 minutes. When you have lads taking shots from 40 yards, you can tell they're just looking to stay fit for Sunday. And O'Donnell had no right to make those saves, Brennan missed badly when he was through, Kilduff was awful as usual and should have scored, some very questionable offside calls, etc.

41 Posts
    whats Brennan been like this year CD ? Obviously we have the best Brennan, but how has your inferior, uglier version been doing ?

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    whats Brennan been like this year CD ? Obviously we have the best Brennan, but how has your inferior, uglier version been doing ?
    He was one of our best players for the first few months when we were scrapping out 1-0 wins, but then he had a couple of injuries and his form's been patchy since. Fenlon's mainly been using him as a substitute for one of the wide men late on to inject a bit of pace and directness into the game because he can be a bit of sieve defensively.

3,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Ah, it wasn't the most clinical performance but the game was over after 10 minutes. When you have lads taking shots from 40 yards, you can tell they're just looking to stay fit for Sunday. And O'Donnell had no right to make those saves, Brennan missed badly when he was through, Kilduff was awful as usual and should have scored, some very questionable offside calls, etc.
    Yeah, take your point on the nature of the game alright; it just would have frustrated me to see the team so superior yet with relatively little to show for it at the end of 90 minutes.

O'Donnell's been making those saves since he joined in fairness. It's what we pay him to do!

Yeah, take your point on the nature of the game alright; it just would have frustrated me to see the team so superior yet with relatively little to show for it at the end of 90 minutes.

O'Donnell's been making those saves since he joined in fairness. It's what we pay him to do!
    Well "relatively little" is three points. You don't get any more points for winning 6-0. Teams just play differently at 2-0 up than they do at 0-0, especially if they have a more important game coming up. They'd already seen Cregg go off injured and didn't want to risk anything themselves. We are, also, just plain useless at scoring goals.

3,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    We are, also, just plain useless at scoring goals.
    That's the thing. Last night was basically target practice. It would have been encouraging for ye to have had a go at becoming better scoring goals.

Obviously can't argue that Rovers didn't need to play last night, and that we were lucky to get the nil (even if we did hit the post twice)

That's the thing. Last night was basically target practice. It would have been encouraging for ye to have had a go at becoming better scoring goals.

Obviously can't argue that Rovers didn't need to play last night, and that we were lucky to get the nil (even if we did hit the post twice)
    We did have a bit of a go, to be fair. We must have had about 20 shots. It was just one of those days where everybody thought they could score (even Boccer was hitting them from 25 yards) except for our actual striker. Agreed it might have benefit the team more if they'd put the individual stuff to a side and tried to cut UCD to shreds, but that may not have worked either.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Bray v Derry was a decent game. Was quite surprised that Derry played a pretty much full strength team though.

We dominated pretty much from start to finish, how we didn't pick up all 3 points i'll never know. Poor Jake Kelly missed chance after chance, well Doherty pulled off a couple of fantastic saves and the woodwork came to Derry's rescue as well. 2 points dropped for Bray. Actually gave them a nil all hammering earlier in the season to so should have an extra 4 points on the board and be safe.
    Cork must be delighted after Derry playing a weakened team before the Drogs game.

504 Posts
    Took some photos at the Pats - Bohs game if anyone'd like a look. Richmond is a grand little place.

https://www.behance.net/gallery/2019...k-under-lights

Last edited by Acornvilla; 02/10/2014 at 10:43 PM.

41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Took some photos at the Pats - Bohs game if anyone'd like a look. Richmond is a grand little place.

https://www.behance.net/gallery/2019...k-under-lights

ah you were the hipster photographer at the match taking photos of anything but the match
    Checked the photos out last week, fair play to you, they are very impressive, fair play lad