Thread: Dublin City gone (pending legal action) and Limerick up for re-election

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    Well I can only tell you what I was told be a well-respected person from Letterkenny Rovers. Seemingly Letterkenny provide Finn Harps with quite a few players and if they were admitted to the eL the supply of players to Finn Park would diminish.
    That doesn't add up,because Harps get players from Inishowen and that scource hasn't diminished!Somebody talking before thinking!

Quote Originally Posted by CRAMBLER
    most of the lims fan's on this forum are true blues and fan's of el football.
    let's hope they get the investment needed and re election.
    From reading the limerick forum they do seem to have investment lined up and their re-election is a given.

Its one of the crying shames in the eL that a city the size of Limerick can't produce a competitive senior team. Hopefully that will change in the near future.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Why should a team who could only muster 12 or 13 players for a game this season and on other occsions failed to even fill the bench be allowed to retain their place after performing so miserably?
    I actually think they have done amazingly well under the circumstances ! they turned up to bray with 11 players and a manager, not even a physio and they put up a great showing, they even had jimmy fyffe playing up front, he's a bleedin keeper ! I really hope they have new investors lined up for next season and can get everything in order.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    That doesn't add up,because Harps get players from Inishowen and that scource hasn't diminished!Somebody talking before thinking!

Well maybe so, after all he is an FAI official
    Always look on the bright side of life

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAMBLER
    most of the lims fan's on this forum are true blues and fan's of el football.limerick have had a bad time on/off the field,if it were our clubs in the same position would we like some of the comment's made above.
    fair play to the loyal limerick fan's that have supported them all season.
    let's hope they get the investment needed and re election.
    Have to agree with ya Crambler.Ive met some of the nicest supporters in the Eircom League down Pike Rovers Sportsground way.Thank god it was for the last time a few weeks back but I never doubted their supporters and would love to see them rewarded in terms of a future.Its tough to follow a club in such a position but well done to everybody associated with Lims.

Lets hope for a better future.Time things went their way.

Brendan

Has any club ever failed to get re-elected?

Limerick need to be re-elected: presumably they will have to present their case, and show how they're not just going to do the same again next season. If they have sorted out this investment and are going to move forward next season, then they should be re-elected. A strong limerick team would be great for the league.

As for Dublin City: they have a poor team, a poor attitude and a poor fanbase, AND their ground isn't up to standard- they don't deserve to be in this league, never mind the premier division. BYE BYE

Apart from investment, isn't the main stumbling block for Limerick the rule that does not allow players to drop from Senior Level to Junior Level for 18 months? Is this a rule just for the Limerick Junior Leagues? Can a petition be done to get it changed? What's the point in such a stupid rule? I have no doubt that a successful Limerick side full of local lads would draw crowds. Best of Luck to them

226 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    The U21 team wouldn't be a huge threat to Harps, but thinking on down the line, a Letterkenny Rovers team in the eL would be.
    The Inishowen League team entered into the U21 League doesn't affect Harps as there is no eL senior team to advance into there. If a player in Inishowen was good enough to play for Harps, he'd be there regardless of the existance of Inishowen in the U21 League.

How many players do Harps get from Inishowen? We get the best of them anyway.

We have the benefactor in place that is prepared to provide us with much needed financial security, a ground of our own, and the opportunity to make the club the profitable, supportable entity it once was. There are three stumbling blocks that should be treated like skittles, but heres hoping....

60 Posts
    In a situation like Limerick’s the FAI as the parent body, should step in and help Limerick. Its vital that large population centres like Limerick, have a thriving football club. The FAI remit should to facilitate, promote and, in certain cases, invest money in clubs like Limerick. The situation about the 18-month ban on re-entering junior football should also be tackled. I know junior football is huge in Limerick but you have to look at the bigger picture.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    We have the benefactor in place that is prepared to provide us with much needed financial security, a ground of our own, and the opportunity to make the club the profitable, supportable entity it once was. There are three stumbling blocks that should be treated like skittles, but heres hoping....

Sounds familiar

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Sounds familiar

As long as we don't end upwith Shoddy...

and the opportunity to make the club the profitable, supportable entity it once was.
    When was this?????????
    Is it not true that when Limerick last won the league,Sam Allardyce was in charge and he had to go cap in hand collecting door-to-door in the Limerick housing estates to try to raise the funds to pay the players wages???????

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    When was this?????????
    Is it not true that when Limerick last won the league,Sam Allardyce was in charge and he had to go cap in hand collecting door-to-door in the Limerick housing estates to try to raise the funds to pay the players wages???????
    He was a brave man Theres great potential there if the club gets its house in order over 2000 at the Kildare Co. game last year is evidence of that but the fact of the matter is the Limerick sporting public are a notorious fickle shower of fcuks and dont tend to come out and support something unless its being successful. But hopefully with the right kind of backing we can get beck to the good old days of huge crowds and derbys against Cork City and Waterford instead of Cobh Stinkin Ramblers

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    When was this?????????
    Yes it is true the last time we won the First Division Big Sam was in charge. The second part if your post is not true. And even if it was that does not diminish the tremendous tradition of senior soccer in Limerick. When many of the great battles were between the Blues of Munster.

Don't get into an argument about tradition/support in years gone by - particularly Waterford and Limerick have a very similar proud tradition. Limerick are in a slump (a long one) but don't get ideas above your station - because bad times can come calling again. And it is not that long since Waterford were plying their trade down in the lower division.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Despite the terrible season, Limerick deserve to be in the EL. If the lazy ass people turned out to support them things would be different. I do admit that Pike Rovers Sports Ground is an awful place to visit but to say Limerick don't deserve to get re-elected because of their lack of players is farcical.
    They don't have the players coz there is no money mainly because of the apparent lack of interest from the City people. It's not Kerley's fault and personally I think he deserves a medal for sticking with them.
    Don't forget he led them to a play-off place last season with an equally small squad then in rolled the bigger boys and took most of the quality players away.
    Here's to Limerick back next season. We the three quality teams gone, the first division should be very interesting next season indeed.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dufferlover
    Despite the terrible season, Limerick deserve to be in the EL. If the lazy ass people turned out to support them things would be different. I do admit that Pike Rovers Sports Ground is an awful place to visit but to say Limerick don't deserve to get re-elected because of their lack of players is farcical.
    They don't have the players coz there is no money mainly because of the apparent lack of interest from the City people.
    So they deserve their place because?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    So they deserve their place because?
    History and tradition. Not many moons ago they were playing Real Madrid in europe. Also dont forget last season they got to the play offs with absolutely no resources.

IMO monaghan and chf should be thrown out cos they bring nothing to the league. 20 teams with 5 from the capital is more than enough.

The rift between Junior clubs and eircom league clubs in some areas around the country is ridiculus. The EL is like a missing step of the ladder in the developement of any good footballers in this country, and the FAI or anyone else don't seem to care.

Only Kerry & Sligo/Leitrim DLs in the U21 league have the right approach with a representative team made up of the best players from a number of clubs. Gives the players a feel for representing their county or what ever, but if these teams can develope to a stage where they are ready to join the EL proper, then we could see some real progress.
    I think a plan is just a list of things that don't happen - Mr Parker