Page 5 of 66 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast

Thread: The John Delaney Thread

He's never gonna leave the FAI.
    People need to boycott Ireland games until he resigns.
    Income from internationals is only thing the FAI cares about.

Unless someone organises this he'll still be here in ten years.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    Solicitors were instructed to deny it was Delaney

There is a whole plethora of questions around that. Threaten Guardian(and other outlets....) and then come out and admit it.
    Another OG by John and the FAI - Come out denying it was him and threatening legal action if it is reported/not pulled - then 48hrs later admitting to it and apologising? I am past caring about what specific issue it is that brings about change in the FAI (all the legitimate areas of concern are ignored by mainstream media, FAI governance, politicians etc..) so if its something as daft as this, so be it.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    Solicitors were instructed to deny it was Delaney

There is a whole plethora of questions around that. Threaten Guardian(and other outlets....) and then come out and admit it.
    Was interesting I was listening to something on the radio related to some form political adviser to Gordon
    Brown and he was making the point that is it is not usually the initial incident which gets you, rather the
    attempted cover up.
    However having said that I don't think the attempted cover up here will be his undoing, I don't think
    he took it far enough. Had he persisted with the denial he could have dug a really big hole for himself,
    however he seem to have avoided that dead end, or so he will hope.

103 Posts
    Do the FAI normally pay out for their solicitors to work on behalf of their staff for matters arising in the staff members personal life?

103 Posts
    Football fans in the North are struggling with this bit of the statement:

"and have worked tirelessly through my role at the Football Association of Ireland to strengthen links between communities on this island, north and south."

Anyone throw any light on this tireless work and give some examples of the strengthened links between communities?

3,197 Posts
    Did he buy ye any cans?

103 Posts
    No but one fan did think the cross community work he was referring to "Taking players born in Northern Ireland, who previously represented Northern Ireland youth teams into the fold?"

3,197 Posts
    Maybe we both dislike him? That's kind of unifying.

(Serious answer of course is nothing springs to mind)

130 Posts
    Few thoughts on the whole debacle. It's been strange watching the swing the last couple of days of the moral high ground for want of a better expression. Obviously as fans we had it following the heavy handed response to the protest at the US game last week. This changed a bit last night with the utterly stupid posts having a pop at his bird, I appreciate it was only a few but they were up for far too long and was an og in terms of the YBIG reputation as our name was dragged through the mud in a lot of the media, especially the O'Brien press. However, Delaney has now scored and even more spectacular og by instructing his legal team to deny it was him, it's embarrassing behaviour and indicative of the arrogance of the man and has completely surrended the initiative despite him still trying to spin the cyber bullying angle every chance he gets in an utterly shameless manner. It was some comments on a message board, it wasn't her Facebook or Twitter account that people were posting on, however stupid it was.

As for the song, I've no issue with rebel songs and anyone who knows me can vouch for many I've sung on trips during the years. However, what I do have a problem with is the consistent oafish behaviour of a man who is pulling in a salary of nearly €400k while running the FAI as a personal fiefdom and overseing debacle after debacle whether that's with the LOI, schoolboy football, issue of tickets etc. A man in his position should not be filmed getting carried shoulder high off a train while full of ****, carried shoeless and shoulder high while full of **** or singing what is clearly a contentious song for someone who has to deal in their job with associations from the North and England, let alone the Scots. If he wants so badly to be one of the lads then fine, jack it in and let someone who can carry themselves with the decorum that the CEO of a major sporting organisation earning his salary should do. He should not be splashing his new relationship all over the media, making documentary's that Alan Partridge would probably reject or having gushing articles from that f**kwit Barry Egan all over the gossip pages in the Sindo. How ironic that it was Egan rabbitting on about that sing song in the Bath that encouraged Emmet Malone to push to get the story published. Fair dues to Emmet by the way, a good journo and has come across very well on the radio today. The Delaney statement is as hamfisted and embarrassing as I'd expect.

I can't see him being sacked over this though, people need to understand that John Delaney IS the FAI these days. He's surrounded himself with cronies and acolytes, all of whom earn their bread through his say so. The only way he's going over this is if he decides the heat has got too much and resigns. He's the same brass neck as his old lad, he didn't lick it off a stone. Now, if another story was to break then it might be a different story but I think he'll ride this out.

As for the usual halfwits on YBIG trying to defend his behaviour, the mind boggles but looking at the posters involved I shouldn't really be surprised.
    Irish Football Blog - A False First XI - http://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.ie/

Twitter: @afalsefirstxi

To Follow on Facebook go to:https://www.facebook.com/afalsefirstxi/

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    No but one fan did think the cross community work he was referring to "Taking players born in Northern Ireland, who previously represented Northern Ireland youth teams into the fold?"
    Delaney doesn't realise he doesn't have to defend his choice of folk tunes and is all too worked up over how he's perceived in some plastic universe, but not where it matters, the football universe. Yet Delaney on an average day, ran rings around the IFA's finest. For years he represented the FAI on the eligibility issue with a restrained, informed and appropriate dignity, compared to the rabid ignorance, bigotry and downright condescension, emanating with bullhorn amplification from the IFA brethern.
    I would have assumed that Delaney's reference to cross community work was ignoring all that overt IFA bigotry and ignorance and focussing on cooperation with the IFA with whatever they cooperate upon

398 Posts
    LOI over (no club bankrupt), International team signs off on a win (despite the best efforts to cause a fuss), editors tell their hacks to find something to write about other than a 1 team league, and the FAI again deliver. Very depressing.

2,284 Posts
    Football fans in the North are struggling with this bit of the statement:

"and have worked tirelessly through my role at the Football Association of Ireland to strengthen links between communities on this island, north and south."

Anyone throw any light on this tireless work and give some examples of the strengthened links between communities?
    Well, we are the only cross-border all-island team.

Did he buy ye any cans?
    Cans of worms, maybe...

1,522 Posts
    Coverage of this on Newstalk from 32 minutes. Both journos raise a lot of questions: http://www.newstalk.com/player/liste...he_Ball_Part_1

2,681 Posts
    I think this has mileage. This is different to other JD critical pieces.

2,681 Posts
    Is the cyber trolling of his partner just a deflection / smokescreen?

It is totally moronic that anyone's family should be subjected to abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Is the cyber trolling of his partner just a deflection / smokescreen?
    Of course it is. Not that it's in any way justified.

103 Posts

399 Posts
    I forgot the internet existed in 1999. Must have been the AOL days.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

I'm not sure it's really valid at all to compare this situation with one in a culture where violent sectarianism has been endemic for decades. The difference in context between a rebel song being sung in a pub in south Dublin and a Rangers FC function in Glasgow or Northern Ireland is massive. Joe McDonnell isn't a sectarian song in itself, nor is the Sash, but in a specific context it is. And this isn't one.

29. Thanks From:

1,912 Posts
    What's the comparison? what are you alluding to?

Page 5 of 66 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast