Ye will have derek mcCarthy back for next season as well
Out of our current crop who would you like to see retained for next season? Apparently the players have all been written to and assured that there's a place there for them if they want it. There's only a few that I'd really want to see released and given that the only bad apple's already gone I don't even want to get into that here. The players that I would really like to see us keep though, are as follows:
Jimmy Fyffe
Paul Finucane
Jalmard Kusten (though I'd imagine it's unlikely enough)
Brendan Hughes (to be played in midfield next year though and not at centre-half)
John Whyte (for one more year anyway. Even if only as a bit-part player Whyte's experience could be invaluable)
Conor Molan
Stephen O'Mahony (based on last season's form alone he deserves another chance)
Mick Ahearne (has gotten much better as the season progressed and offers a lot of options)
The likes of Dave Conway, Keith Hartnett and Liam Costelloe should be kept too. They've all shown promise and even if not certain starters for next season's hopefully strengthened squad they'd form a very good core for an U-21 side. Ditto for Timmy Lynch & James Sugrue.
Frank Browne and Ross Cosgrave are two more who are probably worth squad places as both have been good players for Limerick in the past.
Ye will have derek mcCarthy back for next season as well
I'd go along with that. John Whyte I'm not too sure about, and the only one I'd disagree with is Jalmard Kulsten. I've only seen him twice, but for me, he didn't cut the mustard.....however you've seen a lot more of him than I have, so I'll take your word for it.
agree on several of those suggestions SLK i think rossi will produce the goods if he can get settled into one position and stay 100% fit, but i think frank browne mick aherne john whyte and jal kulsten have to go
Frankies a great clubman, very committed and passionate. Every club should have a Frankie. Mick Aherne has proven himself to be extremely versatile in a number of positions, and deserves to be retained on that basis alone.
Actually, carrying on from inexile's post below I think that no player has polarised opinion this season more than Jalmard Kulsten. Players like Frank, Rossi and John Whyte have their fans and their detractors and clearly Can't Pass O'Brien caused a bit of a divide. Kulsten though seems to be the player that you either love or loathe. Personally I can't remember a time that an opposition winger got past him which is a strong recommendation in my book. It's all about opinions though and inexile has just shown how it's possible to disagree with somebody without causing a fight. Some of the others could do with taking notes!I salute you inexile.
thanks very much SLK im actually a member of the EU's diplomacy council!!
again not disagreeing for the sake of it but joe i do think that every club should have someone like frank browne but on the committee not on the field
IMO Jal Kusten has been the one good thing to come out of this season. He has to be kept. I know a thing or two about full-backs and in Kulsten and O'Mahoney we have two of the finest in the division.
Can I ask a possibly loaded question but if FB is totally committed etc - why did he go to Kilkenny? I am not trying to stir it but probably am stirring it. I have never rated him highly as a player - if he stays he will be a squad/cover option.
We need a second decent centre half - preferably one with some experience. Timmy Lynch looked very good but only judged on one/two performances before he broke his leg.
We need a combative central midfielder - Brendan Hughes will be effective in there - but it would be so cool to get Brendan Sweeney back. Conor Molan is not the real deal in there. I have been ver disappointed with Rossi this year - he needs to be pushed hard to deliver and we could do better I'm sure. Jamesie Sugrue will be a welcome return. Derek will be welcome back but we need more up front than him - we need a real goal getter - Denis Behan would be brilliant but... With Derek maybe we need a taller lad to play alongside.
Jaysus, lads this season is not over yet - it has been an umitigated distaster on the field (and off) but as always happens I actually feel optimistic about next season. When will I ever learn.![]()
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
I have said it on other threads and I shall say it again for those who did not read my postings. Limerick FC were not the worst side to play us in Belfield by a long shot. The first thing your club has to retain is the services of Michael Kerley the manager... if ye can manage that, a lot of what the previous posters in this thread and loyal Blues fans wish to see will become attainable. Read somewhere that there is investment about to come on stream for the club in 2005. That is a welcome development.
Limerick is too large a centre of population to be without an EL club and everything should be done to keep the present one up and running.
Good luck next season folks.
Good man CTID. It's great the positive vibes towards the club from all other clubs' fans. Won't it be great when we get back to the top and loads of other supporters hate us...Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
lfc in exile we will always hate u,but must agree with collage tillidie.
fair play to u loyal fans for sticking with it this year and i hope everything works out with your new investor.look forward to our games next season.
limerick must have el football.
Agree with you....he would only be squad cover in ideal circumstances, but we won't have ideal circumstances for a while yet.Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
He went to Kilkenny 'cos he was told he would be surplus to requirements and not needed. When he came back from Oz however, the whole thing was such a shambles, he was welcomed back with open arms.
not strictly true joe soap he left limerick to play for janesboro and only moved on to kilkenny cos he had lost his place with them
He left the 'boro after 2 weeks 'cos he couldn't get on with Jaws....surprise surprise...Originally Posted by inexile
again not strictly true joe.... they had very little dealings with each other in fact jaws picked him for the first game ahead of alan sheehan and paul o donnell in midfield as frank wanted to play there however he played poorly and was subsequently left out for the next 2/3 games then left i dont think there was any confrontation, in fact i remember paul o donnell having the confrontation with jaws over frank browne being picked ahead of him, i believe his exact words were frank brown couldnt pass water!!
Maybe so, but the start of all of the problems at the boro with Jaws started when Paul O'Donnell, Frankie, Jason O'Connor and Brian Lawlor started to criticise and question Jaws' training methods, which were a little 'dated' for want of a better word.
Anyway, which is whether, I'm not going to get into an argument over this, seeing as none of us are in full possession of all the facts.
well joe i am in possesion of the facts from the janesboro side of things and what i could definitly tell you is that brian lawlor never once questioned anything to do with jaws,brian lawlor even though he was captain last year never once opened his mouth its just not the way he is
i do agree that jaws methods were dated to say the very least though, so at least we agree on one thing!!!
OK....Let's move on now then....![]()
funny thing is you could pick a lot of players from limerick playing in the el and could make a pretty decent side if you could get them all back
likes of derek mccarthy, pat purcell ,bobby ryan,mike behan,colm heffernan
add to that the better players that are there at the minute like finni, stevo, jimmy in goal,get keatso back for a full season, brendan hughes,get rossi playing well, look at taking steve o flynn back for another year to help him "rehabilitate" hang onto the younger lads like lynch costello and harnett and they could learn from them
maybe pick up one or two from local soccer if the money is there like brian buckely tommy barrett and robbie kelleher if possible and they would p155 the 1st division
............................Jimmy Fyffe.................................
S.O'Mahoney...P.Finnucane.....P.Purcell....C.Molan .........
Bobby Ryan....Eoin Leating...Brendan Hughes.. C.Heffernan
................Derek McCarthy....Denis Beahan..................
Subs: Mick Aherne, John Healy, Hartnett, Browne, John Whyte.
That wouldn't be bad at all, except for the fact that Bobby won't come back, neither would Beahan(not so sure we'd want him anyway....I believe he's a major pr1ck and really up his own hole), and Keatso will go playing nancyball when he's fully fit again....![]()