Thread: Eircom Weekly Last Night

Eircom Weekly Last Night

Watching this ever-increasingly delusional pile of drivel, I made the following observations about ye're last two games:
    1). Ye got a major dodgy penalty against Derry...I would be disgusted if I was a Derry fan.
    2). Bennett should never have walked last night...he wasn't last man back, and the contact was minimal.
    3). Can someone tell me what the hell Devine was doing for the second O'Brien goal. It was bad enough that ye were caught trying to play offside so deep, but to have a keeper that couldn't read it and stay at home was worse...Could have cost ye the game.
    4). Fair play to Conor O'Grady.
    5). Noel King is officially the second biggest tool in Eircom League football, narrowly beating Eamonn Collins and Pat Fenlon, just behind Cod Collins!!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Watching this ever-increasingly delusional pile of drivel, I made the following observations about ye're last two games:
    1). Ye got a major dodgy penalty against Derry...I would be disgusted if I was a Derry fan.
    Keeper committed himself and got no ball, penalty in my book.
    2). Bennett should never have walked last night...he wasn't last man back, and the contact was minimal.
    With O'Briens pace Murray would never have caught him, tough one to call but the refs mind was made up before he ran the 30 yards to get up with play.

3). Can someone tell me what the hell Devine was doing for the second O'Brien goal. It was bad enough that ye were caught trying to play offside so deep, but to have a keeper that couldn't read it and stay at home was worse...Could have cost ye the game.
    5). Noel King is officially the second biggest tool in Eircom League football, narrowly beating Eamonn Collins and Pat Fenlon, just behind Cod Collins!!
    Agree with almost all of that.. the derry peno was soft but the keeper should have stood up longer.....these things balance themselves out...we have been done earlier in the season for a few clear cut penos......

I think to catch shels is very difficult but we have the momentum and they are faltering so it is deffo possible...26 points from a possible 30 in our last 10 games is championship form...great stuff they have showed great character as prior to this run they were in the horrors and third place looked a distant dream....theyu all deserve credit but I think gamble has improved no end in those games and has given us steel and vision where we lacked it all season....anyway we Dare to dream...c'mon CITY....win the two ereamining games and make shels work for it
    Bring back the plank

Don't like Seary but at least he's mainly only too passionate about his club -

Collins is a different level completely. Seary was dead right about at least paying his players. It made me sick to hear King and Damo going on about how "it's all fair in football" and "every man for himself". The fans are bad enough, but you must have to be a scumbag to be involved at the board level there. Rovers and Collins deserve each other .. any chance they could be docked points?
    Mick D. for Ireland!

1.The penalty balanced itself out, they got a dodgy one deep into injury time up there earlier this season.
    2. Agreed
    3. Devine was poor, but Murray must sharew some of the blame
    4. Agreed
    5. Would have to throw Scully into the running as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Hecko
    Don't like Seary but at least he's mainly only too passionate about his club -

Collins is a different level completely. Seary was dead right about at least paying his players. It made me sick to hear King and Damo going on about how "it's all fair in football" and "every man for himself". The fans are bad enough, but you must have to be a scumbag to be involved at the board level there. Rovers and Collins deserve each other .. any chance they could be docked points?
    You're joking there right? Docked points for what? Nothing illegal happened. He walked out on a nothing club to manage the biggest one. You're not wrong about our board either.

Always had a feeling that Roddy would be our manager someday. Just happened a lot quicker that we thought! I guarantee you that Dolan will be a Rovers manager someday as well.

Agree with joe soap on his last point though.

i have it recorded on mpeg if anyone wants it. might put the highlights up later.

Fair 'nuff. they probably couldn't have been more direct.

I was only wishful thinking about the Rovers getting docked 3 points, but not all boards would have approached another manager at this stage and only he would have jumped ship. Even at the press conference it was all about how HE will become a great Manager and not about the club
    Mick D. for Ireland!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    He walked out on a nothing club to manage the biggest one. You're not wrong about our board either.

Always had a feeling that Roddy would be our manager someday. Just happened a lot quicker that we thought! I guarantee you that Dolan will be a Rovers manager someday as well.

Agree with joe soap on his last point though.

Rovers are a long way from being the biggest club in the league. Your in second last spot and If you survive , it'll be because your new manager(the greatest manager ever, soon to be maager of Celtic & Ireland ) shaffted his former team & his signings are now refusing to travel tonight. Look forward to seeing what players he takes from Dublin City, at the end of the season

Re bennett- I feared the worst when the ref blew. I think the Drogheda player would have got a shot in if Bennett hadn't pulled him back so by the letter of the law he should have gone. Thought the Drogheda sending off was a bit harsh actually. He bumped into George but didn't raise his hands.

Re Derry peno - Saw it for the first time last night. Doyler made it look good. The ref couldn't have been 100% sure the goalie didn't get a touch.

Re O'Grady - He obviously thinks we Cork folk are nice people and doesn't want to upset us
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Rovers are a long way from being the biggest club in the league.
    I think it's rotten luck that only one team goes down this season.
    In any other season, Rover would be at least in the play-off's and would surely sink down to the lower division where their two-bit sham of a club belong. There's always next season I suppose.
    Sham Rovers, you're 'avin a laugh!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I think it's rotten luck that only one team goes down this season.
    In any other season, Rover would be at least in the play-off's and would surely sink down to the lower division where their two-bit sham of a club belong. There's always next season I suppose.
    Sham Rovers, you're 'avin a laugh!
    Well the fact the the Third is coming up is a bit Irish, there should have been play offs to make it fair

You're joking there right? Docked points for what? Nothing illegal happened. He walked out on a nothing club to manage the biggest one. You're not wrong about our board either.

WHat every manager is on the slippery slope that is Rovers, you can have him.....
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Rovers are a long way from being the biggest club in the league. Your in second last spot and If you survive , it'll be because your new manager(the greatest manager ever, soon to be maager of Celtic & Ireland ) shaffted his former team & his signings are now refusing to travel tonight. Look forward to seeing what players he takes from Dublin City, at the end of the season
    Learn your history. If he had jumped ship to another club it wouldnt have raised half the attention and not just because of where we are in the league. Can tell you now what CHF players will come. Na wont bother

We will survive and it wont be for the reasons you give. Why dont you take a look at your own teams you had this season? The table doesnt lie. You are last for a reason. You are the worst team in the league.

Good riddance to bad rubbish. BYE BYE

Nah, King definately wins that award. A Sylvester the Cat tie - give me strength! fantastic camera work once again!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dufferlover
    Nah, King definately wins that award. A Sylvester the Cat tie - give me strength! fantastic camera work once again!!!
    The ties are obviously to deflect from his lack of knowledge of the game, and the glaringly increasing baldness !!

Learn your history. If he had jumped ship to another club it wouldnt have raised half the attention and not just because of where we are in the league. Can tell you now what CHF players will come. Na wont bother

We will survive and it wont be for the reasons you give. Why dont you take a look at your own teams you had this season? The table doesnt lie. You are last for a reason. You are the worst team in the league.

Good riddance to bad rubbish. BYE BYE

what am i supposed to learn about History? Your no anywhere near teams like Cork , just becuse your around longer ,under different owners. You've cheated your way into staying up, a proud history indeed.

You've cheated your way into staying up, a proud history indeed.
    Cheated, begged, borrowed, and now.....stolen !!

just becuse your around longer ,under different owners.
    Good point and one which I've made a few times myself.
    At least we changed our name when the club changed.
    Rovers just pretend that they're the same club.
    What is your history since the current crowd took ownership?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Good point and one which I've made a few times myself.
    At least we changed our name when the club changed.
    Rovers just pretend that they're the same club.
    What is your history since the current crowd took ownership?
    Changed your name to what exactly? Ye didnt even have a club 20 years ago.