Fair play to ye.Really want to see a non Dub team win.So Come on Cork
What a performance!!!I really want Cork to win the title after that. Fenlon is a little scumbag. The team as a whole (Shels) were a dirty crowd of scumbags and they had to be the most unsporting team ever.
Plus we were against 14 men until Moore got sent off. Ref and flag boys were terrible. Penalty decision was dodgy. Some of the decisions were mind boggling. Shels fans couldnt even understand how some decisions went there way. But We Won 4-1!!!!!! It realistically could have been 6. Dessie missed 2 1on1s. Deano had 1 that looped just wide. We could have scored 3 goals identical to the 1 Kirbs scored. Prunty's goal was a cracker. Lovely ball by Dessie for it. Was delighted to see Eric score. Worked so hard recently. I am so happy we have beaten them. It was sweet!
RATINGS:
Digger - 8 - nothing to do apart from save the pen
Dillo - 8 - Solid
Baz - 8 - Solid
Garto - 8 - Solid
Paiso - 7 - Solid enough but don't have much confidence in him for some reason
Kirbs - 7 - Quiet enough but took his goal well
Martin - 10 - MOTM - Best performance for De Town that I have seen
Deano - 9 - Excellent. Dominated the midfield with Johnny
Prunts - 9 - Great performance
Eric - 9 - Worked his balls off. Won his fair share of headers. Deserved his goal
Dessie - 8 - Worked harder than usual. Played very well
Fair play to ye.Really want to see a non Dub team win.So Come on Cork
cheers lads
especailly to max power...hahaha
Thanks a million lads .... it could come down to the wire yet !!
It'll be a great year if it is down to the last game of the season !!
Why can't Longford do this every week. I mean you've shown you've got a good team by winning cups and ye prove ye can beat any team (like tonight). Why don't Longord ever challenge for the title???Originally Posted by DE TOWN
I'm surprised you are only now realising Shels are scum.
have to say I thought Baker should have been hauled off. He needs a swift kick up the ass. He wouldn't finish his dinner. Easily the worst town player. His work ethic isn't what it should be and before we got our third he wasn't putting it in.
John Martin was super, delighted for him...
Diggers peno save was top drawer but have to ask the tough questions of him for that Byrne header which hit the side netting. Also the wall and Digger for Crawleys free kick.
Fair to say that the ref was so bad. We roughed Shelbourne up and they didn't like it. Clearly we had a score to settle there and it's no harm introducing a bite and a rivalry into our game because thats what brings the best out in us.
For regulars in the Flansiro, it was a much needed boost because at times we are brutal at home and it's fair to say that as supporters we need to back the team as much as we did tonight. when's the last time we netted four at home. and should of had 6.... never I guess, well never as much....
Time we made flancare a fortress.... need to score some success with Cork and Drogs at home and work form there.
BTW, to whoever believed Deano wasn't all that, think again.... he's a gem...
Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
Strachan:"Velocity"
Crux of the problem is that we are too conservative. we like safe options.... knock most ball long, for a long time we haven't had a midfield like we did tonight to support any other way of playing. This doesn't suit any strikers. we could have JOF, Crowe and Byrne and it wouldn't make a title winning team playing like that.
The biggest reason we did what we did tonight is the fact that Deano and Martin were massive. Every other position usually looks after itself or holds its own most of the time.
Second to that is the fact that we didn't deserve the 3-1 in Tolka and we were sore after that...
Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
Strachan:"Velocity"
Yep. Probably the best performance i've seen us put out since the first day of the season a couple of years back when we hammered cork.
Its unbelieveable to have beaten $hell$ 4-1 and still have to make comment about the ref. It's a close call between the set of officials tonight and the ****er in Vaduz as to who got the biggest back hander before the game. Every thing that could go $hellS way went their way. They had one player sent off, but how there was only one, i seriously cannot believe. The boi rodgers decided to slide tackle Gartland when the ball was ten ****ing yards away. None of the ****ers seen it!!
And before anyone gets wind of crowd trouble, can i just say that if it wasn't for the same **** there would have been no trouble. When the final whistle went, he went over to the $hell$ fans and was waving for them to come onto the pitch. When they were stopped, thats when the trouble started.
Will he be mentioned in any reports, in the rants that will undoubtably follow? I ****ing well doubt it. He went looking to start something tonight and started it. Well done dave.![]()
Top drawer performance and by the by the dirtiest game I've seen in a long time, both benches seemed intent on getting at each other at one stage..This kind of thing happens when you play a team two games running, all grudges are still fresh on the mind and you have a chance for instant payback, plus I dont feel Shels were expecting us to be so up for it but the fact of the matter is we owed our fans a performance and preferably a home performance..we certainly gave them that tonight..as others have mentioned John Martin and the whole midfield four top class.
wow, all i can say is wow......the cards really fell well for us tonight....
xlex, how true bout baker, tryin to shoot from almost the half way line and not layin on one decent pass in the 1st half. oh on the wall for the free kick, correct, it was the same on monday, look at the pic on one F and u'll see how badly positioned it was.
bakers goal was a clear hand ball and it showed how bad the ref was when he missed it, one of the shels coachs was sitting beside section o and he even said if the ref didn't get a hold of the game someone would get hurt......
one thing that helped us was stewie a right back, two of the goals came from his inexperience in this position.
eric played very well and was worth his goal, as was prunty....had to leave early so i missed kirbs goal but martin worked so so hard in midfield......
it shows how the pressure is gettin to shels when their fans were fighting between themselves after the game.
that win was one for the flansiro faithful and not the sunshine gang.....well done all and roll on tues...
oh pics will be up later tonight or in the morning.
BTW the corner, it was one of the games of the season, hope TV3 show it as we played them off the park.
Last edited by max power; 07/11/2004 at 1:41 AM.
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
i ask myself that on a regular basis, but i was around the team for bout 2 hrs before the game and they were up for it, really up for it......we need to get up the table which means we win the 5 remaining games, including tonight.Originally Posted by sullanefc
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
$hit there was a peno, i missed it....my reporter did not mention that after the game......info please and what happened after the game.....please, thank you.
I dont know about winning the league but a challenge at the business end a la Drogs this year should be achievable..what would cost us ultimately would be our part time status, not as much time to get treatment on injuries, not as much training etc . A regular (as in 15-20) goal season striker would have helped alot this year though in saying that Desmond has 14 in all, think Deano and possibly Johnny Martin if he continues like he did tonight could solve our midfield woes..a fresh Deano will be something else next year, I can feel it!! Also thought Prunty had his best left wing game in two or three seasons, gave Stuey a torrid time, he had to buy a ticket to get back in at one stage!
Jayo Byrne won a penalty..Town observers reckoned a dive hadn't a great view myself..Brilliant save by Digger diving to his right to push it out
EDIT: After the game, handbags between initially Shels fans trying to get on the pitch and the stewards and then apparently amongst Shels fans themselves, most Shels fans were sound afterwards
Last edited by Longfordian; 07/11/2004 at 1:55 AM.
there you go,max
doesnt it feel good to try and help us out![]()
read my post in its still possible, i just want a pint in the horseshoe next season![]()
Originally Posted by max power
u would have get 10 pints if ye had won monday night as well![]()
Sure we won on aggregate..does that count.our coefficient must be improved..![]()
Originally Posted by thecorner
whats the point in us winning if yee fcuk up against derry and destroy all our good work![]()
but what a game, i hope the club DON'T give the tape to TV 3, i really do.
Originally Posted by max power
WHY![]()
because lots of tapes were sent to them and they never bothered showing them, made all sorts of excuses......now when we have a good game, don't let them have it.......b@stards