Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: The big one

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Croke park is packed all weekend so they mightn't get permission this late in the day.
    Yeah I forgot about that. Fook it play it in Dalymount, I want the game tomorrow!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Yeah I forgot about that. Fook it play it in Dalymount, I want the game tomorrow!
    Only for the game to be called off for holes in the playing surface 🙈

1,104 Posts
    5.45 kick off tomorrow is the latest report from Tony G on Twitter!

The club can't agree to that at this short notice, and shels couldn't force it through either surely?

1,104 Posts
    Seems like they have agreed to it. God knows why, can't think it suits anyone except maybe the players.

I'm more disgusted with town going along with this than I am with shels tbh. Feck all consideration for the fans.

1,104 Posts
    Agree. Can't see the logic at all unless the management think this is a good time to play Shels? Can't imagine the home supporters will be thrilled either.

81 Posts
    I'd have to assume that it suited the players the best, so it was probably the right decision.

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    I'd have to assume that it suited the players the best, so it was probably the right decision.
    I'm sure they could have managed to work around a midweek game in a week or two. Just leaves a bad taste and if the club felt they had no choice then they should be making people aware of that ASAP, officially or unofficially. A lot of unhappy fans out there.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    I'm sure they could have managed to work around a midweek game in a week or two. Just leaves a bad taste and if the club felt they had no choice then they should be making people aware of that ASAP, officially or unofficially. A lot of unhappy fans out there.
    Stories already changing on twitter from agreed to the change to it being done under instruction of the FAI.

Not buying it tbh, I am sure the FAI wanted it played, but don't see how they could enforce it at this short notice. If the FAI was worth a sh!te they wouldn't countenance this in the first place, let alone pressurise a club to accept it (if they even did).

861 Posts
    This is a disaster. There has been a great buzz around this game for weeks. 2 full busses were set to travel and even today at work I heard young lads from around the town talking about the game and saying they were traveling up so all of a sudden the buzz has been totally ripped from the game and not only that it has left a bad taste in ye mouth of some and damaged our support base for future away games IMO.

As said above it has probably been done to suit the players and I can understand why de town don't want to put it back too far with the LSC final coming up and other league games still to play so I guess all we can do is try to get as many fans as possible there and make more noise than we planned on making first time round, the lads really need our support.

If the Leinster senior cup is an excuse, its even more of a joke. If it was to suit the management/ team, they better deliver to try and salvage something from this farce.

If Da town win, they call play the game at dawn

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Just had to send a text to cancel the two seats on bus, unfortunately cant make it that early, pity. So thats the Bohs Rovers game and now this, jesus the LOI!!!!

I don't see how the player's are going to be impressed with the change. They have to go to their main employer and try and get time off work at short notice. If they don't get the time off, will they be available for kick off.

49 Posts
    Surely the kick off time has to do with daylight rather than Shelbourne messing us about or the FAI being a bunch of tits, I have to agree the time is awful, Friday traffic at that time will be a nightmare plus parking restrictions will be in play (no pun intended)
    personally I would have preferred it to be put off for a weekend game and make it the last game of the season rather than going to Ballybofey (possibley looking for points), that could have been a possible title desider, massive crowds, and plenty of money for both clubs, but I guess that wouldn't suit either as it might affect the playoff games

Quote Originally Posted by Darklordsbane View Post
    Surely the kick off time has to do with daylight rather than Shelbourne messing us about or the FAI being a bunch of tits, I have to agree the time is awful, Friday traffic at that time will be a nightmare plus parking restrictions will be in play (no pun intended)
    Obviously it's because of daylight - but it shels that haven't fixed a problem that happened on Monday. Shels, the FAI, and the club are being a bunch of tits by thinking it's acceptable to change kick off at this short notice. Biggest game of the season, and instead of being something good with a big crowd, it can be filed in the embarrassment file(?), with Dalyer's holes, and Mondays floodlight failure.

This league, the FAI and the clubs, do everything possible to turn a potential PR success into a PR disaster.

Unbelievably lucky that I booked a half day off work at the last minute on Wednesday but I am still fuming about this. Such a big build up to a game in Longford anyway and what promised to be our biggest away league crowd since we've went down and it's all blown up in our faces because of a bunch of cowboys.I can imagine if the situation was reversed there would be no way Shels would put up with it!Would have been very disappointed if the game was to be called off but to change it the way they have is an absolute farce. People from the outside give the league a very hard time and it's at times like this its pretty much indefensible, it's an absolute laughing stock once again.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

33 Posts
    Its stupid for the majority of fans and it the biggest game of the season, luckily I work in the City Centre and have flexi time ..............and will be able to make it. I should just bring a tent as going to Tolka and then Croke Park twice over the weekend .............

1,104 Posts
    I'll hopefully be able to nip out of work a bit early and get there so it doesn't put me out too much but as said above it's just ruining the whole buzz that was building up and the big crowd that was travelling.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast