Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk Fined For Palestine Flag at Euro Game

960 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    Dundalk little or know chance of winning this on appeal, imo. The best they can hope for is for the fine to be reduced. I would assumes that the fine for the flag(s) is 10k out the 18k.
    Thats it really, I doubt anyone expects the fine to be overturned but hopefully reduced. If reduced for the flag element it may not make a significant difference to the amount of the fine as the fine has 3 elements to it(i think).

555 Posts
    This is getting embarrassing.

"Republican Network for Unity have organised a picket to show their solidarity with Dundalk F.C and to display disgust for UEFA.

Assemble at Derryhale hotel, opposite the entrance to the Football ground. Friday 29th August. 7PM. All welcome."

http://www.republicanunity.org/rnu-d...-on-uefa-fine/

These political parasites are NOT welcome any where near Oriel Park.
    Last edited by White Horse; 25/08/2014 at 10:58 PM.

1,557 Posts
    Bloody hell. It'll be the Judean People's Front turning up next.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Well Bohs will be in town, which means the Guards will have their dogs, horses, and the armed response unit at Oriel Park.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    I think the fine gets deducted from the total prize money received so we don't have a choice in the matter.
    The club should appeal this to UEFA and then to the CAS.
    To be honest, if the case ever was to go to CAS, the panel might even see it as an "aggravating circumstance" that the stewards were alerted to the flags' display (along with their alleged-inappropriate nature by the UEFA delegate) and, even though they clearly knew where the flags were situated and had easy access to them, as demonstrated by their initial request to the flag-wavers, they failed to confiscate them and prevent their further display. That the flags would be waved again because they were left in the hands of the known perpetrators was very much foreseeable and avoidable. UEFA might well view matters similarly if Dundalk were to lodge an appeal with them.

UEFA are savvy and familiar with the process of how CAS operates; their disciplinary and legal affairs divisions won't often make careless mistakes and silly errors of judgment. If you were going to take them on in the court, you'd need to be pretty sure of your case. Besides, you'd have to appeal to UEFA first and they'd have to reject that appeal (on dubious grounds). The whole process would also be pretty expensive. Possibly even more costly than the fine itself?

Quote Originally Posted by GypsyBlackCat View Post
    Dundalk FC have no links with Palestine. That's the difference with Ajax and Spurs. They both have links with Judism (not a religious link). Celtic have links with Ireland.
    How do you objectively quantify or measure these "links" though? If you can acknowledge that the rule is as fluffy and nebulous as your posts on the matter seemingly imply, so as to be bordering on inherently-conflicting and ultimately-meaningless, why shouldn't or can't Dundalk argue that the SSE have humanitarian "links" to Palestine? They may have supporters who identify with cultural Judaism, but do Ajax and Spurs have official links (or even informal links, for that matter) with the state of Israel? Even if all Ajax and all Spurs fans were indeed Jewish anyway (and they're not), Judaism and Zionism are not one and the same.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    It's getting even better.

SSA: "In Ireland citizens have a Constitutional right of freedom of expression. This right does not vanish at a football turnstile."
    Jesus, the cries of oppression... Actually, it does vanish. With rights come responsibilities. On the other side of that turnstile is what's known as private property. Freedom of speech can be restricted when it conflicts with the rights and reputations of others. If you're to remain welcome on someone else's private property, there is, at the very least, an implicit agreement that you play by their rules; you don't have any absolute right to express yourself contrary to their interests and wishes. If they want you to pipe down, they have no obligation to listen to you and can legally restrict you or throw you out. Being shunned as an unwelcome trespasser isn't a denial of freedom to express oneself. There's plenty of public space upon which expressions can be freely made. Freedom of expression is something that the state bestows upon its citizens in order to protect them from a potentially overbearing or all-powerful government.

I see Dundalk's statement mentioned the club's "ground regulations and code of conduct". I'm not quite sure how, and I'd imagine, if it was possible, clubs all around Europe would already have thought of it, but could there be some way a club could argue that the supporters concerned, rather than the club itself, should be held liable for misconduct or breach of ground regulations that have caused material loss for the club?

Quote Originally Posted by SSA
    There are unsubstantiated reports that UEFA are seeking to victimise this small club for displaying these flags with a gigantic 18,000 euro fine.
    Unsubstantiated?...

I don't have much time for the bluster and show-boating of a bunch of vain intransigents who've cost their club a significant deal of money through their stubborn irresponsibility, but, at the same time, if UEFA had their way, football would be a very sterile place. I have no issue with political expressions at football matches per se - I don't think football and politics can be separated; we're political beings by nature - and I've already given my opinion on the regulation in question - it's daft and arbitrary - but it exists and that's the reality whether we like it or not, so if a group of supporters are going to engage in outlawed activity at significant cost to their club, they should at least do the decent thing; take responsibility and cover the fine.

On the wider point here I think it's wrong to bring politics into football. People have their strongly held beliefs and that's fine, but there will be others there that will have opposing views. What happens if everyone starts bringing their politics to the game? It could get very messy. There's no need to bring it into football, there are plenty of other arenas to do that. At Harps we've always had players, fans and directors from across the communities (there was a website at one stage devoted to Harps and Rangers for example) and I'm glad that we've been able to focus on the club and on football rather than whatever people follow outside of it. Feck knows we find enough to row about without bringing politics in as well.
    I hope you realise that, whether you mean for it to be perceived as such or not, what you express above is an inherently political view.

It is undeniably a contentious point of view that relates to how you believe other humans should act or behave in a particular situation and would arouse great disagreement with those who wish to see and use their community's club as a vehicle for wider communal expression, as is so common around Europe. Football clubs have traditionally been channels through which their supporters have expressed their communal identities; be they ethnic, national, cultural, religious, political or whatever. I don't think it's possible to remove these elements from football because the supporters and their intrinsic identities are an integral part of the game. To pretend that politics and football are separate and mutually exclusive entities is to impossibly try and deny the human nature of the game's adherents.

For what it's worth, if there was a choice in the matter, I wouldn't like to see these elements removed from the world of football anyway. I loathe football grounds that have more in common with a clinic. The game would be soulless and terribly bland without the emotion and humanity its supporters bring to it with their various baggage.

Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    How the people of Gaza which is being bombed to bits tonight would wish their cause/plight was popular.
    So you keep saying and I doubt anyone here would actually disagree with that; their plight is a tragedy of unspeakable proportions. It's a moral outrage what the Israeli state is doing and has been doing this past half-century. In an ideal world, we'd all be able to say what we liked, wherever we liked. Or, even better, there would be no Israeli occupation and bombardment of Palestine for us to get disgusted with. But that doesn't really deal with the (admittedly much more trivial) issue at hand; what is your solution to this present predicament in which Dundalk find themselves exactly? It's an insignificant one in the grand and worldly scheme of things, but it's still a rather sh*tty problem that Dundalk have to deal with. This is Dundalk's reality and it doesn't pale into non-existence simply because it's not as important an issue as Gaza. Is it right that Dundalk have been involuntarily dragged into this humanitarian matter through a combination of stupid UEFA regulations and irresponsible flag-wavers? UEFA might have a fairly rotten and unsavoury core, but it still doesn't change the fact that Dundalk are down quite a lot of money due to the irresponsible posturing of some of their supporters. Will those supporters cough up the fine?...

2,284 Posts
    There could be trouble; the Palestinian People's Front and the People's Front of Palestine are already down to attend.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    This is getting embarrassing.

"Republican Network for Unity have organised a picket to show their solidarity with Dundalk F.C and to display disgust for UEFA.

Assemble at Derryhale hotel, opposite the entrance to the Football ground. Friday 29th August. 7PM. All welcome."

http://www.republicanunity.org/rnu-d...-on-uefa-fine/

These political parasites are NOT welcome any where near Oriel Park.

Funny that. I believe that some of SSA's leaders are affiliated strongly to groups that are affiliated to RNU.

Should Liverpool fans, for instance, display a banner saying vote Labour at Champions League games?
    What about Justice for the 96 banners and flags - is that not a political campaign?

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    How do you objectively quantify or measure these "links" though? If you can acknowledge that the rule is as fluffy and nebulous as your posts on the matter seemingly imply, so as to be bordering on inherently-conflicting and ultimately-meaningless, why shouldn't or can't Dundalk argue that the SSE have humanitarian "links" to Palestine? They may have supporters who identify with cultural Judaism, but do Ajax and Spurs have official links (or even informal links, for that matter) with the state of Israel? Even if all Ajax and all Spurs fans were indeed Jewish anyway (and they're not), Judaism and Zionism are not one and the same.

I got this from an Ajax website:

For Ajax, the image of being a Jewish club comes from the fact that Amsterdam was called the "Jerusalem of the West" before World War II. Some 80,000 Jews are said to have lived in the city at that time, and many were Ajax fans. The De Meer Stadium, where the team played home games until the 1990s, was in eastern Amsterdam, where most of the city's Jews lived at the time.
    "When Ajax played teams from more provincial regions, the guest fans would take streetcars to the stadium from the main train station and go through the Jewish quarter. That's how many people saw Jews for the first time in their lives," says Hans Knoop, a Jewish journalist and spokesperson for a foundation that addresses anti-Semitism in Dutch football.
    After World War II, Ajax also had some prominent Jewish leaders, among them Jaap van Prag and his son Michael, who both served as club president, along with Uri Coronel, who also served in that position. Among the players on the club's celebrated teams in the 1960s and early 1970s were Jews Bennie Muller and Sjaak Swaart, not to mention Salo Muller, a physiotherapist loved by players and fans alike.
    During and after the 1970s, Ajax was repeatedly subjected to anti-Semitic hostility in the Dutch national league. To fight back, the hooligan group "F Side" demonstratively took on a Jewish image in 1976. The group is still active today, though its members aren't particularly interested in solidarity with Israel or Judaism, says journalist Knoop. "Some 90 percent of Ajax fans don't even know where Israel is," he tells SPIEGEL ONLINE. "When they yell 'Jews, Jews!' or 'Super Jews,' it's about firing up the team and nothing else."
    Alot of Ajax fans and Jews don't like the link and wish Ajax would drop it. Also in England, the Jewish community, Peter Herbert and Kick It Out have asked Spurs fans to stop the Y-d chants as it's offence.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    What about Justice for the 96 banners and flags - is that not a political campaign?

It's has a lot to do with football. LFC are looking for justice for their fans. So there's the link. Robbie Fowler was fined for wearing a t-shirt showing support for the dockers. It was a stupid fine but them the rules UEFA go by.

446 Posts
    Yes, but their rules are moronic and should be challenged at every opportunity.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Yes, but their rules are moronic and should be challenged at every opportunity.

Like the one when a team got kicked out of Europe for fielding a player who was ineligible two minutes from time in a tie that was already over. And then there was the FC Sion affair.

446 Posts
    And your point is...

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    Funny that. I believe that some of SSA's leaders are affiliated strongly to groups that are affiliated to RNU.
    One of the "co chairman" / whatever you want to call him has recently got out of prison and is associated big time with that other shower.

Sadlier on RTE last night about it if it's not been posted yet, absolutely bang on with what he said:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_sGQ8iCGksw

Also just to say as well that the SSA was originally set up by a couple of young fellas who are for want of a better term "proper" supporters. Instead of hanging around street corners or acting the maggot etc; they put their time, effort and money into making flags, tifos, displays and helping out around the club.

They're a credit to the club, themselves, their parents etc and it's an absolute shame that all their good work has been sullied and co-opted by a couple of middle aged auld fellas with axes to grind and delusions of grandeur who want to cause ructions and be the pied piper to the rest who are only there for the cans and the wannabe green street experience, not to mention bullying anyone and everyone who doesn't do what they say.

55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    And your point is...
    IMO, Legia shouldn't have been kicked out of the Champions League as the player had no impact on the game. It wasn't cheating, it was an administive mistake. But UEFA rules say if an ineligible plays for his team the game is void. Legia have plenty of grounds to appeal (like Dundalk have) but the rules are there in black and white.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Seems to me that Dundalk FC have had issues with their support now for a while yet they dont look like they are willing to resolve it in anyway. Just blaming supporters for everything wont solve anything, and leads to mad situations like this.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by colonelwest View Post
    Also just to say as well that the SSA was originally set up by a couple of young fellas who are for want of a better term "proper" supporters. Instead of hanging around street corners or acting the maggot etc; they put their time, effort and money into making flags, tifos, displays and helping out around the club.

They're a credit to the club, themselves, their parents etc and it's an absolute shame that all their good work has been sullied and co-opted by a couple of middle aged auld fellas with axes to grind and delusions of grandeur who want to cause ructions and be the pied piper to the rest who are only there for the cans and the wannabe green street experience, not to mention bullying anyone and everyone who doesn't do what they say.
    This is a very important point and I would hate for these young lads to think that they are looked down upon by the rest of the fans.

The problem, and it is a substantial ome, rests with one or two older individuals.

24. Thanks From:

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Seems to me that Dundalk FC have had issues with their support now for a while yet they dont look like they are willing to resolve it in anyway. Just blaming supporters for everything wont solve anything, and leads to mad situations like this.
    Dundalk FC have had great support, home and away. There is an issue with one or two individuals and their attempt to steer impressionable young lads into areas that cause problems for the club.

Definitely seems like an ego thing from a couple of fans alright.

1) Told numerous times to take the flag down. Did it anyway
    2) Sought "legal advice" and contacted UEFA directly

No one with an ounce of self-awareness would do either of these

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GypsyBlackCat View Post
    IMO, Legia shouldn't have been kicked out of the Champions League as the player had no impact on the game. It wasn't cheating, it was an administive mistake. But UEFA rules say if an ineligible plays for his team the game is void. Legia have plenty of grounds to appeal (like Dundalk have) but the rules are there in black and white.
    They appealed even to the CAS, who have a lot more credibility than UEFA currently. And it was rejected. It's hardly as if it's not happened before.

Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast