Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk Fined For Palestine Flag at Euro Game

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Eh? Think you miss the point, again. The fines for all the listed clubs are stupid, even Legia.
    There are two separate issues.

Firstly, the UEFA position is ridiculous. Secondly, the supporters who raised the flag knowing that Dundalk would be fined were reckless and did not have the best interest of the club at heart.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    There are two separate issues.

Firstly, the UEFA position is ridiculous. Secondly, the supporters who raised the flag knowing that Dundalk would be fined were reckless and did not have the best interest of the club at heart.
    Depends on your viewpoint

Eh? Think you miss the point, again. The fines for all the listed clubs are stupid, even Legia.
    I think you're missing the point. Stupid or not, everyone knows the score before they put them up. Legia are clearly OK with paying that fine (as you can't do a display like that without club knowledge/assistance). Dundalk aren't OK with it, as they tried to stop the flags being shown

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I think you're missing the point. Stupid or not, everyone knows the score before they put them up. Legia are clearly OK with paying that fine (as you can't do a display like that without club knowledge/assistance). Dundalk aren't OK with it, as they tried to stop the flags being shown
    Was a Palestine flag at the hurling the other day, wonder did anyone make a complaint?

I am sure you know that supporter groups on the continent have a lot of leeway. Certainly in Basel the ultras have pretty much free reign over what they can and cant do. Just look at the final game of last season, or the walk through Bern to the stadium on cup final day. Crikey, was mad.

But in dear old Ireland we love silly rules dont we!

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    its a ****ing joke ffs

would love to know were people like him were in 2012 when we were rock bottom and needed publicity to help our plight. he was nowhere to be seen.
    It would actually make you sick. We had the same craic for the last few years, every chancer was a "lifelong fan".
    Wont be a sign of them until we win the league again, in another 30 years.

Was a Palestine flag at the hurling the other day, wonder did anyone make a complaint?

I am sure you know that supporter groups on the continent have a lot of leeway. Certainly in Basel the ultras have pretty much free reign over what they can and cant do. Just look at the final game of last season, or the walk through Bern to the stadium on cup final day. Crikey, was mad.

It's not about the rule, it's about the ability to pay the fine!

You're not comparing UEFA rules to the GAA are you?

555 Posts

You're not comparing UEFA rules to the GAA are you?
    A 20 stone man invades the pitch to "remonstrate with the ref" during a big match. The game is held up while he is restrained and taken down by six stewards. The man is now a folk hero and feted everywhere he goes in Mayo.

if this was football, he would be banned for life. The two sports are very very different.

863 Posts
    I see a bohs fan had a Palestine flag with him in Sligo last night (didn't really display it to be fair) and one of the stewards was pointing at it but nothing after that, not that there's anything wrong with having it at a league game I'd just say LOI clubs are a little edgy about the subject at the minute.

114 Posts
    Not at all, it seems yourself and a few others seem to be doing just that. It simply boils down to two things:

1) Time and a place

2) You play in UEFA competitions, you play by their rules.

Anything else is soapboxing and superflous and has long since gone past the border of look at me, attention seeking territory. Not from you now mind, I mean them, and they have a long and varied history of doing that exact thing.

Your defence of it seems to be on the basis of ah sure it's grand, work away and do as you like. In that case I hereby grant Dundalk FC 6 points for a win and away goals count as quintuple.

Now unfortunately I can't very well make that happen as I have absolutely no authority to rewrite the rules, but sure it'll be grand and it's perfectly acceptable just because I said so and fcuk everyone else who does play by the rules and regulations.

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by colonelwest View Post
    Not at all, it seems yourself and a few others seem to be doing just that. It simply boils down to two things:

1) Time and a place

2) You play in UEFA competitions, you play by their rules.

Not really, they dont own football
    Otherwise its a difference of opinion.

Dundalk do have the option of not entering the Europa League and flying as many flags as they want...

114 Posts

http://badsentinel.com/wp-content/up...-Patrick-6.gif

399 Posts
    Dundalk do have the option of not entering the Europa League and flying as many flags as they want...
    Hopefully we wont be playing in the Europa League next season.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

1,555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Hopefully we wont be playing in the Europa League next season.
    Good point. Does anyone know who runs the UEFA Champion's League?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Good point. Does anyone know who runs the UEFA Champion's League?
    The GAA I think.

19. Thanks From:

446 Posts
    UEFA & Legia are *******s...who deserve all the flack that comes their way.

Dundalk, St.Johnstone & Celtic shouldn't be compared to those morons.

2,284 Posts
    How might Dundalk have more appropriately dealt with the matter though? They can't just decide to ignore competition rules without punishment or opting out of UEFA competition. I'd take the flag-wavers a bit more seriously were they to acknowledge responsibility for their actions and (somehow) cover the fine they cost their club. The fact is they left Dundalk up sh*t creek. Why should Dundalk tolerate a few selfish idiots intent on repeatedly breaching regulations without any concern for the repercussions?

Is there another confederation governing football and organising professional competition in Europe to which Dundalk can instead align themselves?

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    It seems we have reached a clear divide between those who acknowledge that tournament organisers make rules and clubs follow them, for better or worse, and those who have a more liberal interpretation of how the real world works.

Come off it lads. Dundalk are in no position to thumb their nose at UEFA over an issue like this, which seems to be what you want them to do.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

I think most people here would agree that it's a very heavy fine for something that many of us don't think should be contentious, but nevertheless Dundalk were prepared to abide by UEFA's rules and they are unfortunately paying a heavy price for the obstinance of a small number of their fans. It's a harsh lesson for the club but I would be surprised if they'll be so accommodating to a small group who have shown flagrant disregard for the interests of their hometown club. In hindsight, they should have confiscated the flag and, if that wasn't agreeable, they should have thrown the fans out, but we can all sympathise with the people within the club who wanted to give them a fair chance to support their club in a big game.

55 Posts
    They own the UEFA Europa League competition. It's UEFA's competition. Once you agree to enter, you argee to abided by UEFA's rules.

Here's an example. My local night club don't own fun. But if I went in and started dancing on the tables after begin warned not to, I'd be barred. Why? Because it's their club and their rules.

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast