Thread: best defender in the league?

I say Heary, but as regards central defenders I'd go Danny O Connor as my choice. This year with the season we've had he is own best player. Himself and Stevie Grey were the foundation of our season. Grey is more talented I'd say but lacks Dannys mental strenght.

As much as it pains me to say it Dillon of Longford is another quality defender.
    A man is never really poor,
    if he can still laugh.

30 Posts
    Pat Purcell is a class player and no doubt our signing of the season. Rumours abound that Finnucane could be wearing the three ships on his left breast next season.

Even tho he cant get into the team at the moment Danny Murphy
    First Division Champions

GK - Williams
    Defender - Heary/Foley
    Midfielder - Byrne
    Striker - O'Brien

Keeper: Williams
    Full-back: Heary
    Central Defender: Bennett (just ahead of Gray from Drogs)
    Winger: Kearney
    Centre-mid: stuey byrne (just edges gamble out)
    Forward: "Super" Kevin Doyle

Keeper :Micky Devine(extremely consistent)
    Defender:Owen Heary(not the best passer but great heart)
    Midfielder:Liam Kearney(left sided)
    Striker:Robbie Doyle/K Doyle/John O Flynn when fit/Fenn when he puts his mind to it...

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Keeper: Williams
    Full-back: Heary
    Central Defender: Bennett (just ahead of Gray from Drogs)
    Winger: Kearney
    Centre-mid: stuey byrne (just edges gamble out)
    Forward: "Super" Kevin Doyle

Agree with this one mostly. Heary is a dirty scumbag of a player, but that's why he's so effective! Kearney has come to the fore this year despite early criticism, and Benno has been faultless-pure class.

I can't see why Hunt is in people's teams of the league as a whole-He's bloody good, but hasn't been quite himself this season. I'd still like to see him play for a proper team down South

233 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Yeah, but so long as he keeps scoring in the small games, you know, the title deciders, fai cup finals and the like, it'll be enough for me.
    I'd say WWS was thinking more of big games as in european games, where this season Byrne had countless chances to score and didn't do so. OK, he is still one of the best strikers in the league, but when it came to stepping up a level he didn't have it. Making a mockery of the repeated calls for him to play for Ireland and that stupid Brian Kerr song the Shels dorks sing.

Dave Rodgers in the Prem and Wes Charles in the First

Quote Originally Posted by the ox
    Wes Charles in the First
    Spot on there!!!!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by jofyisgod
    I'd still like to see him play for a proper team down South
    Sure Cobh could'nt afford his wages

lads just wanted to get an honest answer as being a limerick fan i might be a bit biased but can neutral fans from div 1 clubs especially tell me is paul finucane as good as i think he is?

Used to think Terry Palmer but I donno now. Have his powers declined or just the fact that he's playing for poor team.

Drogs centre backs are both very good.

Harris is good but a scut
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Sure Cobh could'nt afford his wages

Ha Ha Very Funny... We hear it every year about Hunt to City-will it ever happen?

Quote Originally Posted by inexile
    lads just wanted to get an honest answer as being a limerick fan i might be a bit biased but can neutral fans from div 1 clubs especially tell me is paul finucane as good as i think he is?
    very very good. himself and purcell were a great partnership, but both are very good players in their own right. agree with SOC on Palmer- excellent player too.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    Used to think Terry Palmer but I donno now. Have his powers declined or just the fact that he's playing for poor team.

Drogs centre backs are both very good.

Harris is good but a scut
    It might have something to do with those around him, but Palmer has depreciated a lot over the last few seasons. Personally would'nt even put him in the top ten now.....

tell me is paul finucane as good as i think he is?
    Well if he's anywhere near as good as Pat Purcell is,we'll take him off your hands in the blink of an eye.Purcell has been by far the find of the season!!Top class player,we always look a more solid team with him in the side.

As for J.Bryne,he has got to be the most over-rated striker in the league.fair enough he scored 25+ league goals but you put Daryll Murphy,John O'Flynn,Kevin Doyle,Glen Crowe,Robbie Doyle,etc into that Shels side and they'll score that amount and more on top of it.How many times have we seen J.Bryne bottle it this season when Shels needed him and his goals most?????????

Quote Originally Posted by ConfusedBlue
    Well if he's anywhere near as good as Pat Purcell is,we'll take him off your hands in the blink of an eye.Purcell has been by far the find of the season!!Top class player,we always look a more solid team with him in the side.

As for J.Bryne,he has got to be the most over-rated striker in the league.fair enough he scored 25+ league goals but you put Daryll Murphy,John O'Flynn,Kevin Doyle,Glen Crowe,Robbie Doyle,etc into that Shels side and they'll score that amount and more on top of it.How many times have we seen J.Bryne bottle it this season when Shels needed him and his goals most?????????
    Yeah, like the way he keeps scoring in crucial title deciding matches, ie the winner against your lot. What a choker. If he scores one more goal this season he'll have one of the highest league goals talleys of all time in one season, he's already equalled Crowes top effort and the elague has improved dramatically since then.

find of YOUR season

[QUOTE=ConfusedBlue]Well if he's anywhere near as good as Pat Purcell is,we'll take him off your hands in the blink of an eye.Purcell has been by far the find of the season!!Top class player,we always look a more solid team with him in the side.

Find of the prem season perhaps! we knew about Pats ability for the past 3 years and Paul is just class alongside him. Pat is the ball winner while Paul shows class and poise around him. Will this partnership be brought back together again? in the blues of Waterford or Limerick? my bets on the latter!

Yeah, like the way he keeps scoring in crucial title deciding matches, ie the winner against your lot.
    How so???Now had ye been playing Bohs,Drogheda or Cork maybe it would of been a title deciding game i.e. both teams having something to play for.What did Waterford have to play for????From what I've heard and seen of the game Bryne missed a hatful of chances and Shels should of been 5 or 6 up goin in at halftime!!!!

As I said in the post earlier you put the likes of Crowe,O'Flynn,Doyle,Murphy,etc in that Shels team and they're going to score goals.Any half decent striker is going to score goals given the service Bryne has recieved from his teammates this season.
    He choked bigtime when it mattered,in both ties in both legs against Depor and Lille!!!