Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Oman 3rd September 2014 & Georgia 7th September 2014

51 Posts
    Ward at fault for the goal ... O'Shea was covering one side and then Ward back off and gave him room to shoot ..... i would not start him again .... move Wilson to the left back and bring in Keogh or Delaney

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Ward at fault for the goal ... O'Shea was covering one side and then Ward back off and gave him room to shoot ..... i would not start him again .... move Wilson to the left back and bring in Keogh or Delaney
    I would dispute who was at fault for that goal anyone.

There is little dispute about Wilson's massive blunder earlier which nearly lead to an easy goal.

You can excuse the Ward/OShea goal because it required an extra ordinary shot, there is little to mitigate Wilsons error.

I thought Ward did a decent job, brought the ball forward will and we looked less chaotic when he was bringing the ball forward.l

2,284 Posts
    I don't think it took a deflection, but it is very difficult to say for sure as it moved pretty wildly through the air.

OK, geometry's not my strong-point and I'm not sure I have sufficient knowledge of the requisite terminology, but... I've paused the video (admittedly, poor quality footage) and have caught it as the ball is about to pass over the head of Gelashvili. The ball is blurry, but the motion blur is actually helpful here. It is crucial to working out the ball's trajectory. Two distinct white blobs can be seen in close proximity to one another; they indicate two separate positions in the air through which the ball passed as it flew towards the goal. I've appropriately connected them up and continued the connecting red line back to Okriashvili's foot, the point of origin. Three connecting "co-ordinates" or points of reference ensure greater accuracy than just two. The ball didn't start to dip until it had passed in front of the black Adidas sponsorship board in the background and it would appear from the rough path the ball was taking at this exact moment indicated by the red line that it would not even have skimmed off Gelashvili's back or head.

To be honest, I think I could have been more generous and drawn the line at a greater angle from the ground out of Okriashvili's foot; that would mean the ball would have passed over Gelashvili's head at a slightly greater height than illustrated by the line I've actually drawn.

By the way, who did that Pythagoras fella play for?

675 Posts
    Interesting angle there Danny. Still think there might have been a slight nick on it, and it would only have to be a mere skim for it to cause chaos to a shot struck that well.

There's was a mystery about a US president getting shot in the 60s that you could look into next if you've got a spare five minutes.
    Last edited by SwanVsDalton; 08/09/2014 at 10:40 PM.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I don't think it took a deflection, but it is very difficult to say for sure as it moved pretty wildly through the air.

OK, geometry's not my strong-point and I'm not sure I have sufficient knowledge of the requisite terminology, but... I've paused the video (admittedly, poor quality footage) and have caught it as the ball is about to pass over the head of Gelashvili. The ball is blurry, but the motion blur is actually helpful here. It is crucial to working out the ball's trajectory. Two distinct white blobs can be seen in close proximity to one another; they indicate two separate positions in the air through which the ball passed as it flew towards the goal. I've appropriately connected them up and continued the connecting red line back to Okriashvili's foot, the point of origin. Three connecting "co-ordinates" or points of reference ensure greater accuracy than just two. The ball didn't start to dip until it had passed in front of the black Adidas sponsorship board in the background and it would appear from the rough path the ball was taking at this exact moment indicated by the red line that it would not even have skimmed off Gelashvili's back or head.

To be honest, I think I could have been more generous and drawn the line at a greater angle from the ground out of Okriashvili's foot; that would mean the ball would have passed over Gelashvili's head at a slightly greater height than illustrated by the line I've actually drawn.

By the way, who did that Pythagoras fella play for?

I have figured out how to use slow motion on the VLC player, I also downloaded
    a HD version of the game. If it did hit him anywhere it hit him on the top of the
    head but it is hard to say, he certainly didn't claim it as his.
    I have a frame of the ball just before his head and just after.

2,284 Posts
    Can you get it on/over his head?

621 Posts

Last edited by tricky_colour; 08/09/2014 at 11:54 PM.

2,284 Posts
    You're getting there. Just a little closer now...

646 Posts
    Never has such in depth analysis gone into a golazo. Applaud it and move on. Do any of you enjoy watching good football?
    Wilson's fault anyway. Too close to his man on a long ball. Can think of 4 times in the match he did that. Wouldn't see it in the AUL.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Can you get it on/over his head?

Don't thinks so, the images I posted are two consecutive frames I think,
    however I might be able to get more images from different views.
    I got the HD version form here
    http://forum.rojadirecta.es/forumdis...ull-matches%29

Wait, you're discussing mathematics now? This is a football forum, just draw an optically wobbly (possibly, but not certainly, deflected) line under the matter and get yourselves a drink. Then you can discuss whether the line you've drawn is actually not 100% straight, or if it's just the beer talking.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison

1,025 Posts
    Back, and to the left. Back, and to the left.

446 Posts
    That goal was Ward's fault, as usual...

Which other goals were Ward's fault? Kazakhstan was his fault for giving away the free kick (then the entire defence screwed up) but overall his deficiencies have more been letting players in behind him and, usually, cleaning up in a haphazard fashion. He's more of a player who makes you nervous than a player who actually costs you goals.

621 Posts
    Odd things was bother Ward and O'Shea backed off the guy, O'Shea first, which might excuse Ward somewhat,
    but he continue backing off until he lined up to shoot. I think even watching it live I was thinking, don't back
    off there, because I smelt danger. I think maybe they were thinking about not leaving huge gaps in front of goal
    and getting more central and not expecting a shot from there. However they were very wrong, sloppy defending.
    I am generally OK with Stephen Ward though, he has a decent all round game, other options there are more
    one dimensional. He started out as striker I think and hence is not so defensively minded, not a natural in that
    position.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Odd things was bother Ward and O'Shea backed off the guy, O'Shea first, which might excuse Ward somewhat,
    but he continue backing off until he lined up to shoot. I think even watching it live I was thinking, don't back
    off there, because I smelt danger. I think maybe they were thinking about not leaving huge gaps in front of goal
    and getting more central and not expecting a shot from there. However they were very wrong, sloppy defending.
    I am generally OK with Stephen Ward though, he has a decent all round game, other options there are more
    one dimensional. He started out as striker I think and hence is not so defensively minded, not a natural in that
    position.
    Is this an attempt at a poem?
    You've got no fans.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MeathDrog View Post
    Is this an attempt at a poem?
    It is a poem, granted I have not found a publisher yet.

Still haggling over fees.

2,081 Posts
    Fair play Tricky & DI... if Forde showed that kind of decication he would have saved it, deflection or no deflection

2,796 Posts
    O'Shea says it was deflected.

I'm not that critical of Ward in this situation. In hindsight every goal is someone's fault. Every goal is preventable in theory.

Overall I was very disappointed with our performance, we held possession but lacked any incision or decisiveness or want. We were very lucky to get out of there with a win. The players were so laboured in their approach, whenever we broke it was held up and played back most of the time. We should be using the pace of the players we possess to fix this, you don't have to go all out attack but there is a counter-balance.

Seamie Coleman is nowhere near the player for us that he is for Everton. Thats not to say he wont be but he doesnt offer the same attacking threat and he is a little more shakey in the defensive duties, his crosses were hit and miss, some very good some poor. I think O'Shea looked the most competent back for us the last day without doing an awful lot.

People are saying Wilson was poor, he did make a couple of mistakes but he made 4 defensive headers in the first half that got us the ball back as he placed them, he also took the ball well on the ground a few times and kept us trying to play football out from the back - but a Defender who can play the ball is all well and good but if he can't defend then he really isn't worth much. It seems we have some defenders who can play a bit of ball but can't do their main job well. I still think Wilson is decent though. He doesnt give me the same jitters as say Ward or Forde.

Stutts and I agreed upon Wards best position during the oman game, its halfway between the 18 yard box and the halfway line, right out on the touchline. He looked ok the last day because they were so poor going forward, and he offered something for us in attack as he shirked his defensive duties. He should have got closer for the goal, I think he is ok for these games but against Germany(or even poland and scotland) he is going to get found out again as usual. His positional sense is so poor, he gets pulled in and time and again ball after ball is hit over his head - any winger worth their salt in speed would have beaten him time and again sunday.

Forde is really awful, he doenst inspire any confidence and I got the feeling, as others did with me watching that the Defense don't fully trust him. I know O'shea says it was deflected but even if it was I dont think it made a huge difference in where it was going only in the dip, forde was just out as though expecting a cross or a ball across the 18 yard box, he was completely caught unaware and doesnt have the ability or speed to correct himself. A better keeper would have certainly got to it, maybe not saved it but Forde was way out of position - again this isnt clear on the tele as you cant see the position he picked up. He was all over the shop.

I think the whole shakeyness could point to the keeper also. We never looked as shakey with Shay in the backline giving orders and organising his defenders. Its an interesting theory that the confidence stems from 1 right the way through. For 2 years we have looked very poor vulnerable and nervy at the back.

I think O'Neill gave them too much respect and was a bit weak/over cautious. I was very disappointed with the approach especially in the last 20 when we were not creating anything, nothing. He brought off keane and didnt bring on hoolahan, we really need some incisive, through ball passing. We were playing the ball around the houses over and back, yet he thought to leave hoolahan the one man who can play that game, and keane the best person to make the runs and receive the passes, or just short interchanges with HOolahan. These lads were very poor, and O'Neill gave their midfield specifically too much respect. We could have been 2 or so up by the 70th with the right approach.

Midfield was ok, Mcgeady obviously had a great game his crosses were 25% better than normal as well. I don't think anyone stood out really, quinn did decent lots of running. McCarthy never got into it. Whelan was Whelan giving a masterclass in passing the ball backwards. I dont remember when i was last so bored watching them.

We lacked this Sunday http://balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/york.gif
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 09/09/2014 at 10:19 AM.

25. Thanks From:

Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast