[From the IT]

[size=4]Cork keep the chase alive[/size]
    Cork City 3 Drogheda United 2

08/11/2004: Cork City have kept alive hopes of usurping the eircom Premier League title from Shelbourne with a rollercoaster 3-2 win over Drogheda United at Turner’s Cross this evening. Two dismissals and five goals thrilled the Cork crowd as the game ebbed and flowed in and out their favour until Liam Kearney’s strike gave Cork a lifeline to hang on to.

Cork began the hard way and found themselves a man down and goal down after just three minutes.

Alan Bennett took the early bath after he took down Declan O’Brien 22 yards from goal and Andy Myler dispatched the resulting free kick.

The title chasers managed to get back on track seven minutes later however - thanks to Dan Murray’s back post header from a George O’Callaghan free - but were trailing again after 21 minutes when O’Brien ran onto a long ball and chipped Mick Devine in the Cork net to restore the lead.

Having handed the advantage back, O’Brien was then given his marching orders for an off the ball incident involving the impressive O’Callaghan.

The reinvigorated Leesiders were level again when Greg O’Halloran’s 34th minute pass found John O’Flynn, who sneaked it past Tony O’Dowd in the Drogheda goal, to send the teams in level at the break.

Cork took the lead for the first time four minutes into the second half thanks to Liam Kearney’s fourth goal of the season, again set up by the tireless O’Callaghan, whose cross evaded O’Flynn and the Drogheda defence before being calmly slotted home by the 21 year-old.

Drogheda frantically went in search of the equaliser and almost found it minutes from the end when Barry Molloy’s shot struck the crossbar, but their endeavours were eventually halted after four minutes of injury time.

Cork now lie three points behind Shelbourne with the same amount of games played and only two remaining.

Fantastic game, we should have won by more.
    That pr*ck O'Brien is a cheat, and if Spillage goes on about him anymore....

I thought Greg was motm, brilliant performance from him at centre half. I'm a bit worried about Doyler though, he looks shattered....

Quote Originally Posted by patsh

I thought Greg was motm, brilliant performance from him at centre half. I'm a bit worried about Doyler though, he looks shattered....
    georgie or flynny for me

flynny up front on his own for most of the game looked jaded late on but still chased everything

thought dolan would take him off earlier but who am i to argue with the great ones decisions

George was man of the match. His work effort was unreal and was typified by his tackle for 3rd goal. It was the best game i have seen him play. His touch always gave him room.

Their effort off the bar would not have counted as it was a free out. The last one where yer man flicked it on from the corner could have gone anywhere so we were lucky there but we deserved that bit of luck!

Benno deserved the red card as did drogheda dude. Great game overall though. Well done City!

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    .....or flynny for me
    Surely not, lads the rose tinted glasses are stunting your viewing capacity, O'Flynn was ok, I still think he's but a shadow of his former self, he ran many lost causes, Gamble man of the match. Colin O'Brien will not get back into that team [apart from Geogrie's suspension].
    j'accuse!

What a performance. I feel sorry for Benno, but having seen the incident on the telly, it was a fairly straight forward decision.

Dan Murray marshalled his defence very well. Greg did great. Onwe of his best ever City performances.

George was head and shoulders above everyone for MOTM. Even though he didnt score it, the 3rd goal was all about him. He had no right to win that ball. He proved that its not a lost cause until its out of play.

They were all heroes last night. Lets just hope ccfc can end Drogs interest in Europe on Friday, tie up second, and frighten the life out of Shels and steal their title on the last day of the season .
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

how big was the crowd?

144 Posts
    Superb gutsy display, thought we were goosed after 5 minutes but the lads battled immensely and deserved the victory.
    While I'm still not a fan of George, he was brilliant last night, he ran and ran and his never say die attitude got us the third goal.
    O'Flynn ran his socks off, closed down players, their 2 centre halves were terrified of him.

What about that lines-lady on the DF side?
    And there was me thinking Foley was rubbish on Friday night, O'Brien looked offside for me for their 2nd goal and a mate in the DF confirmed as such, couldn't really tell from the TV last night. Fair Play to George for letting her know how bad she was, think they may have explained the offside rule using a few jaffa cakes at half time. Where do they get them from?

I think O'Brien will be a bigger loss to them on Friday than Benno will be for us, All i'd be worried about is that the lads looked tired before last night and then having to play 88mins with 10 men didn't help.
    2 games to go, Come on City.

Quote Originally Posted by kingcolers
    how big was the crowd?
    5500 - 6000, St. Annes was 65% full, the usual spots were packed. Imagine the crowd for the Bohs match if its still possible, lift the League trophy at the X!
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Fair Play to George for letting her know how bad she was, think they may have explained the offside rule using a few jaffa cakes at half time. Where do they get them from?
    2 Things;

1) He was looking for her number

&

2) She changed her hair style at half time
    j'accuse!

Well the attendance v Derry was claimed to be 5000, Drogs match had more in attendance.
    j'accuse!

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    good go, some people have wild imaginations. Lucky if there were 4000 at the game last night....where do some people come up with City's attendance figures.
    this was easily up there with the derry game

Quote Originally Posted by what biy!
    maybe she needs some balls. i wouldnt say no after a few drinks
    balls an all

Quote Originally Posted by what biy!
    i wouldnt say no after a few drinks

I've seen her close up.
    You'd need a fair few drinks to find her attractive!

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by morleyisgod
    cork city wer ok , but what was bennet up to, and dolan is still a fcukin useless fcukin manager.
    morleyisgod, if you keep behaving like this on Foot.ie, I'm going to keep deleting you. Drop the garbage NOW.

Great game last night. Sat back a bit too much in the second half and probably should have replaced Flynn sooner but all-in-all a very good 3 points.

Surely Georgie's effort to keep the ball in play in the lead up to the winning goal must be one of the best assists of all time.
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    What about that lines-lady on the DF side?
    OI cant believe that we had her again! She was on duty at Derry, Shels and now again! Thats 3 out of 4! I wouldnt mind but she's not very good, I dunno how she got to be on for the Cup final, I think that there's a bit of PR going on with having her.

Great result though but Bennett is a huge loss. Greg in the centre and Danny at LB or will golden boy K Murray get a call up?
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    good god, some people have wild imaginations. Lucky if there were 4000 at the game last night....where do some people come up with City's attendance figures.
    The Echo has it down as 5000.
    I'd say it was 4500-5000 and 5500+ at the Derry game.
    Champions!

There was more at last nights game than Derry I reckon?
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    There was more at last nights game than Derry I reckon?
    The St. Annes end and the Shed were definately more full at the Derry game.
    I'd say there was at least about 500-750 more at the Derry game to be honest.

If we win on Friday the Bohs game will definately be a sell out.
    Champions!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast