Ha, yous Longford boys are good craic!

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Not before kicking the kittens of course.....they have to live up to their reputation as out and out hackers! If this is what the Harps fans have been looking at all year I worry that they too will hack their way into the ground tomorrow. I think I might stay at home just to be safe!
    Why break the habit of a lifetime, Longford seem to enjoy low attendances, you may as well stay at home lest those big bad northerners get a hold of you.

1,552 Posts
    Ollie Horgan ahead of the game: "Longford will be a savage battle for us."

YEOOOOO.

http://donegalnews.com/2014/08/ollie...-in-the-towel/

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Why break the habit of a lifetime, Longford seem to enjoy low attendances, you may as well stay at home lest those big bad northerners get a hold of you.
    Don't worry, we'll be ready for your firm. Again.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Ollie Horgan ahead of the game: "Longford will be a savage battle for us."

YEOOOOO.

http://donegalnews.com/2014/08/ollie...-in-the-towel/
    “If we were to finish ahead of Wexford it would be an unbelievable achievement,” Horgan said.

An unbelievable achievement to finish ahead of Wexford? Seriously?

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    “If we were to finish ahead of Wexford it would be an unbelievable achievement,” Horgan said.

An unbelievable achievement to finish ahead of Wexford? Seriously?
    Well, they're 3rd now, as long as they beat Galway ofc ^^
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 08/08/2014 at 8:46 PM.

2,446 Posts
    I'd certainly take a third placed finish and call it unbelievable.

622 Posts
    At nothing tomorrow, so decided to head to this match tonight, tis a bit of a trek from Limerick so make it worth my while lads :P

Might go over to Section O and take some pics. I'll fight you outside after the game Nidge

2,446 Posts

1,552 Posts
    0-0 draw and 11 serious injuries to the Longford team written all over it.

The last of those to take place in the 60th minutes but Harps to focus on beating up the remaining players rather than scoring.
    Called it. Apart from the injuries.

861 Posts
    Called it. Apart from the injuries.
    Although McCaron tried his best to change that

2,446 Posts

How did we all miss that @9/2!!

220 Posts
    Although we were the better side a draw was a fair result. Neither side looked like scoring.

had you offered me us being 4 points clear going into the last 7 games at the start of the season i would have taken it. next two games are going to decide it
    I think Smithers picked me because of my motivational skills.
    Everyone says they have to work a lot harder when I'm around.

49 Posts
    Great position to be in 4 points clear 7 games left, it not the next 2 games that worries me everyone will be up for those 2 games it's the so called easy matches that could catch us out,
    I think it will go to the wire, we will drop more points, Cousin will panic and go for so called experience over form or ability, I can see us needing a result in Ballybofey I really hope we don't need a result up there, it doesnt matter if we draw with Shelbourne and Galway provided we win the other games but the last few performances wouldn't fill me with confidence,
    I thought last night we played brilliant football for about 8 minutes of the 1st half and 6 minutes of the 2nd half it was one of those games where we were never going to score, Cousin should have had subs on earlier, Rice and Salmon are getting run ragged in midfield, this selection of 442 isn't doing it for me, I believe we need either of our best passers O' Connor or Gorman back in a 3 man midfield, this stops the opposition playing and will allow us have a playmaker again
    no doubt I will be disagreed with but that's my tuppence worth

220 Posts
    No I agree with you on the midfield or part of it. I thought myself that Rice and Salmon were all over the shop at times in the midfield and we're spread apart too much. Far too often for my liking centre mid was wide open for Harps players to run through. If we were playing a better side they would surely of had one or two scored from the openness of the midfield. Hynes and Shannon should definitely of been brought on with 25 mins left instead of 10 as our tactics up to then weren't working and was clear to see. Only when Hynes and Shannon came on we created quite a few half chances....but that's all they were. On to next week and hopefully keep the push on. Not overly disappointed with a point last week but will need the 3 next week I feel.

861 Posts
    Haven't left CCS feeling that disappointed in a long time. I thought it was a good performance from the lads (more so 2nd half again) and the ball simply wouldn't go in the net. Sully missed 2 great chances first half and one good one in the 2nd but I'd totally agree with the lads that the changes came far too late and we looked flat up until Shannon and Hynes came on. I've always agreed too with the fact that a 3 man midfield would suit us more but with Rhys having to play centre half last night that wasn't really an option becuase while Shannon made a good impact there's no way TC could have dropped O'Connor who was brilliant again last night so it's really a case of if it's not broke don't fix it and you can't blame TC for that.

I said all week long this was the game I was worried about and not next week as I feel we will comfortably beat galway 3 or 4-0. The are bang out of form. On a side note, after last nights results I think we should forget about the rovers game in the cup and field a fringe team for that one and just concentrate on the league from here on in. We still have the LSC final to play and it's at a better time for us as we will have the so called easier teams to play against so I'd sacrifice a beating from rovers for league and potential LSC success.

Think due to disappointments in recent years you are being a little hard on yourselves! There is a bit more savvy about Longford this time around and nine wins in a row before tonight would indicate that. Would you not agree Harps were well organised and defended brilliantly last night?
    I expect you to have the league in the bag by the time you come up to ballybofey where you will all be made very welcome in your hundreds to celebrate!

2,446 Posts
    I think a few are being harsh on Harps indeed. Don't forget, Harps could well have nicked that game. Sean McCarron scuffed a good chance one on one with Hunt and Mickey Funston had a toe poke cleared off the line in the second half. Harps defended brilliantly and are as organised as I've seen in years. With a creative midfielder and a winger or two, we could have made a big push this season.