Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Croly leaves

He's absolutely deluded, genuinely away with the birds. Hopefully Shams can replace him with a similar lunatic.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    We can't provide the players with houses. Which explains why we can't compete with Chelsea and Barcelona. Not so much Dundalk.
    All the bananas you can eat. It's our selling point.

334 Posts
    Was comical when Power read back Cawley's comments last week to Croly. Worth tuning in for that bit alone.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Croly tonight reminded me why I really love this league so much

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    We can't provide the players with houses. Which explains why we can't compete with Chelsea and Barcelona. Not so much Dundalk.
    Does/Has any club in LOI done this?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Not as far as I know, but I'd be fairly confident in saying no. Rovers I know do provide players with shared accommodation in Firhouse but I doubt they own the houses. I think Sligo have a similar arrangement where they put players up in rented accommodation, as I suspect do Limerick. Dundalk players live in Dublin but they might be put up in Dundalk if they move there, presumably Cork are the same with players living in Cork. UCD might too in student accommodation.

Limerick don't provide accommodation for our UK lads but we did buy them all helicopters. Our Irish based players all live in Adare Manor afaik.

3,269 Posts
    Didn't Pat's have some digs a few years back?

663 Posts
    Does the taxman watch Soccer Republic?

Damn you TC, our grubby secrets are out - Richie will have to leave back the Lamorghini now

445 Posts
    Didn't Pat's have some digs a few years back?
    Yes, I'm not sure if we own it or just paid the rent on it.

Like Charlie said, Rovers have one up in firhouse, Twigg, Mannus and Dennehy lived in it when they played for Rovers
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Horgan, Hoban, Mountany and Shields all live in the same house in Dundalk but I dont think the club own it

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Sligo because of where they are in the league have had to make major cuts to their playing staff in anticipation of no European football next season.
    Letting go of the four we did was nothing to do with not attaining European football for 2015/saving money. It was because Gaynor, Ndo, Greene and Djilali didn't fit in with JC's plans. We signed Eamon Zayed for jaysus sake!

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    I heard Sligo owned a few houses from on of their players father

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Letting go of the four we did was nothing to do with not attaining European football for 2015/saving money. It was because Gaynor, Ndo, Greene and Djilali didn't fit in with JC's plans. We signed Eamon Zayed for jaysus sake!
    All 4 of them would have been on decent wages, and I have no doubt Zayed's wage wouldnt even come close to matching these 4. Its not a criticism Sligo are making cuts, its simple economics

390 Posts
    Yeah but we brought in Davoren and Kavanagh as well. 4 out and 3 in. Plus the fact that Joey is officially on loan I would imagine means we are still paying some of his wages (although Shams might be paying some of Zayeds also)
    Last edited by Nah Nah Nah Nah; 05/08/2014 at 9:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    We signed Eamon Zayed for jaysus sake!
    Zayed's on loan, so he's unlikely to be breaking the bank. I think it's a reasonable assumption that the ins and outs at the Showgrounds are largely about saving a few bob.

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Zayed's on loan, so he's unlikely to be breaking the bank. I think it's a reasonable assumption that the ins and outs at the Showgrounds are largely about saving a few bob.
    Would Rovers have bothered letting Zayed go unless ye took his wage completely off them?

Obviously this is only hear say but heard Zayed was offered €1,200 by Sligo and we had offered around €700.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Would Rovers have bothered letting Zayed go unless ye took his wage completely off them?

Obviously this is only hear say but heard Zayed was offered €1,200 by Sligo and we had offered around €700.
    Jesus, Athlone must have offered him the stadium?!

I would think we are paying the (very) large majority of Zayed's wage.

663 Posts
    Zayed was very fortunate to be able to move to a club with a larger budget (and loads of houses, cars and planes) then the paupers of Tallaght

19. Thanks From:

3,269 Posts
    Fenlon confirmed so.

This'll be interesting. I never really rated Fenlon from his time at Shels. Yes, he won stuff, but I always got the feeling that with the money he had, his teams should have been better.

We shall see sure.

151 Posts
    Incredible that no one on Soccer Republic challenged Croly's crock of s hit claim that Shams have only the fourth highest budget in the league.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast