Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    cheers lads

especailly to max power...hahaha
    Agreed Lads what a performance. i would have loved to be there to see the expressions on those JACKEENS FACES

Class

I don't care who wins the league once it's not a Scummy JACKEEN B*****D

Longford for the cup again next season

Quote Originally Posted by Laker
    Have ye no beds to go too?????
    no, i'm workin on one F and watchin jonathan woss......
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

so many contradictions I dont know what went on???

The trouble started when a town fan came on the pitch?
    Or it started when shels fans came on the pitch????
    could the fighting at the end have been shels fans telling the others to leave it and not get involved!

It was a great game and we played them off the park?
    This wouldnt appear to be the case when people say it was the dirtiest game of all time???
    Unless you like those sort of games??

The ref was brutal and didnt give you a decision all night?
    This then turns to Baker having a clear handball for his goal? and Alan Moore getting sent off.. doesnt appear like you got NOTHING?

Its hard to know what went on really......
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

112 Posts
    Thats the best result of the season by a mile, well done the Town. Agree with Max, that was for the longtime supporters not the fairweathers. Heard about it on the phone last night and what can i say, Shels must be sore this morning. Hoping they fcuk up the league now!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Fair dues to ye lads fcukin great result and it keeps the title race going for just that little bit longer.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    because lots of tapes were sent to them and they never bothered showing them, made all sorts of excuses......now when we have a good game, don't let them have it.......b@stards
    Nah ... if it is worth showing then show it.

1,104 Posts

Higgins

Wouldn't say it was the dirtiest game of all time but there was a lot of needle in it..it might sound contradictory but there was also some great football in the game, we played very well and cut Shels open on numerous occasions..The ref was just incompetent, he didnt favour either side too much, Moore had to go for an elbow in front of the ref, he also sent off Vinny Perth who was a sub warming up for a fracas with a Shels player taking a throw.

As for the crowd trouble it started when Shels fans tried to get on the pitch after the game and were stopped by the stewards, a bunch then got into a shoving match with stewards, more Shels fans intervened to try and sort out their own supporters I think and thats when they were rowing amongst themselves..You had to be there really it's hard to explain but it was a game that had absolutely everything

Absolutely brilliant result! heard one man say it was the best game he seen in flancare in 20 years, seeing as flancare isnt around 20 year!!
    Seriously a classic game, it had everything, good football, lots of goals, sending off's, few lickle scraps!, good atmosphere and the right result at the end!
    Special mention to Eric Lavine, John Martin and Dean Fitz they were outstanding last night! and im first in the queue to give Dessie that kick he needs Xlex! He was muck last night!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    d im first in the queue to give Dessie that kick he needs Xlex! He was muck last night!
    i said it first as half time so tough
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

No excuses for last night lads. You were up for it more than us.
    Didn't think it was a particularly dirty game, but a lot of needle. One of Longfords backroom staff kicking a ball at Fenlon started Nutsy off - never even got a talking to!
    Glad to see someone else saw Dessie's handball for the second goal, thought I was the only one, seeing as none of our defenders even appealed.
    Thought our penalty was very harsh. Your third goal was a stormer - just ripped us apart. Don't know why nobody bothered running back to try and stop Levine's trickle - it must have taken a good 5 mins before it rolled in. Moore deserved to go, no problem there - not the first time he's let us down this season.
    As for the Shels dirty scumbags tag, I honestly thought Longford gave as good as they got. A totally incompetent ref meant players were given carte-blanche to do anything.
    In the end you could have had eight or nine, and it would have been no more than you deserved. Well done, glad we don't have to play you again this season!
    ps good home support too!
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Quote Originally Posted by The Sheliban
    No excuses for last night lads. You were up for it more than us.
    Didn't think it was a particularly dirty game, but a lot of needle. One of Longfords backroom staff kicking a ball at Fenlon started Nutsy off - never even got a talking to!
    Glad to see someone else saw Dessie's handball for the second goal, thought I was the only one, seeing as none of our defenders even appealed.
    Thought our penalty was very harsh. Your third goal was a stormer - just ripped us apart. Don't know why nobody bothered running back to try and stop Levine's trickle - it must have taken a good 5 mins before it rolled in. Moore deserved to go, no problem there - not the first time he's let us down this season.
    As for the Shels dirty scumbags tag, I honestly thought Longford gave as good as they got. A totally incompetent ref meant players were given carte-blanche to do anything.
    In the end you could have had eight or nine, and it would have been no more than you deserved. Well done, glad we don't have to play you again this season!
    ps good home support too!
    i saw the handball as i was in the corner taking pics, there was no physical way the ref could have seen it.

I missed Dessies handball, but Crawley had an absolutley blatant one missed too. Jumping for a header and he reached his arm over the shoulder of the Longford player and just fisted the thing clear in a way a goalkeeper would be proud of, couldn't believe that not only the ref missed it but there were no real appeals either.

think i saw that, but i wasn't sure if it was his hand seeing as no one shouted.

Dessie

Well it was a fantastic performance from the town, all the lads seemed really up for it, I was especially impressed by Deano and Martin, its the first time I really thought Martin played to his full potential for us and showed what he can do.

I have to admit though guys that I dont go with the criticism of Dessie, and I know im biased!! But granted his work ethic could be a lot better and so could his tracking back, but I still feel with the ball at his feet he is such a threat going forward. Lets face it we have struggled toget goals all season and he is the top scorer, so it must count for something. In my book give e a striker who doesnt track back or work that hard but still sticks the ball in the net over one who puts in the effort but who does not score.

I was delighted for eric, but lets face it if you had to keep one striker this season it would have to be Dessie as he is the only one who looks lik he can score at all

What a result and at home for good measure. Cork really slipped up at home to Derry as that result will probably cost them the title.
    I heard last night that one of the Longford stewards had to get stitches around his eye after the game. He was punched when trying to stop the Shels supporters getting on the pitch. Scumbags are obviously part of the baggage of all Dublin Clubs.

i woulsn't go that far, but that is ur way.....shock statements

he picks and choses when he plays a kick up the hole would do the world of good....he ain't a man utd player any more.

Talking Town 4 Scumbourne 1

A scintillating display from the red and black! We played some very imaginative and creative football and it might easily have been five or six. Thought it was our best performance of the season by a long shot. I have been giving our midfield some much deserved criticism of late but they were exceptional on Saturday night. We showed a real desire to win, something obviously drilled into the team by Alan and Aaron since the previous Monday night.
    But now that we have shown just how good we can play, will we maintain it for the remaining games few games this season? Will we show the same will to win tomorrow night against Dublin City? And will we continue to display this form on into next season? Because if we do, the future is very bright. If we can give the same level of performance week in week out next season we are very capable of mounting a serious title challenge.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Would have to agree with you Dillo. Unbelievable night in Flancare by all accounts. Couldnt make it unfortunately. Was at a gig in Balahadreen on the night. Was kicking myself that I missed it. Think we can win the rest of our games this season and mount a serious challenge next season.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    A scintillating display from the red and black! We played some very imaginative and creative football and it might easily have been five or six.
    exactly why we weren't challenging this year, or the last, or maybe not next year. We are not consistant and the sun will always shine a few times a season. Shelbourne, a few FAI cup games and of course the League Cup were LTFC's days.

Consistancy and average home support of min 2000 are targets again next year....

How much to sponsor one of those large billboards over Mae Flanagans?
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"