I doubt that
Most of them wouldn't make the Shannon town b team let alone a A team in Shannon IMO
I agree most of them wouldn't! The 2 regans? Derek Maxwell? Steo Dolan? New lad called Andy they signed from limerick can play ball aswel! All of them would make shannon town b team I think anyway. Shannon Olympic A v shannon town B on Thursday, Shannon Olympic B v Town B on Sunday
Am I correct in saying Ray is the only Shannon Olympic player who has played with them for more than 2years? Watch Shannon Olympic fold like a deck of cards in a couple of years. Bar Ray none of those players will stick around when things go south and they eventually will. Where are all the regular Olympic players gone like the real Olympic club men who's were at the club for a good length of time. Shower of mercenaries same players all the time.
"Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke
Seems to be all ex-hibs players there now...
Yeah you're right. Is Cheeky still there? Gary Higgins will do well, him and cheeky should get enough goals between 'em to be safe for the season. Jamie Egan and Brian Mc are handy, Weak enough everywhere else around the pitch. Mid table .
When things go south and they definitely will? Well that's your opinion anyway. I beg to differ, personally I'd hope to stay up next season and progress from there. No Shannon team can survive in the limerick league no matter what 11 players you throw together, winning 1a in limerick and getting battered in the premier is not progress! The sooner shannon people realise that the better, the players coming through may eventually do well and it would be great for Shannon football! It'd be great to do well in premier of clare and that's the focus for now!
Melon
before you start having a go at Shannon teams not being able to survive in the limerick premier first of all it is a higher standard and the mighty Olympics past record in the clare premier has not been do great either, don't get carried away with the coming season yet ye have a good squad of players and should be capable of staying up my biggest concern is how management can keep all the players happy and if things start to go wrong you have a few lads in the squad who will look to jump ship at the first opportunity.
" football is a simple game "
Your post doesn't even make sense? What argument are you trying to make? Obviously limerick premier is a higher standard, you don't have to be a genius to know that! Everyone in and around shannon know themselves that right now the best squad of players in shannon would struggle in limerick premier! "don't get carried away with the coming season yet" read my post I stated we hope to stay up explain to me how I'm getting "carried away" with that? It would be great to stay up and hopefully push on next season. If players aren't happy than why have them at the club? There is a perfectly good squad of players around that you don't need to "try keep happy" and I'm sure we'll find that out in the near future.
I'd say the point is this....if you bring lads into a club who have a history of club jumping when it gets tough, and play them ahead of long time club men. What tends to happen then is after a couple of losses these lads leave and the long term club men have also packed it in or moved on or are happy playing b team now because the manager preferred someone else.
Then the club goes on to struggle.
Devoted club men are rare and it is within everyone's right to move clubs but a bit of caution should be shown when leaving out people who have been at the club years.
Hopefully it doesn't happen with Olympic and I do think ye will do well in the premier.
My Goal Is To Deny Yours...
Everyone has made good points, but sometimes it's not as simple as it seems. Surely it all depends on the cluibs ambition ? Players should get a clear picture from the manager at the start of the season about his plans and how he hopes to do it - aimlessly signing loads of players with a hope that it all works out (win matches, good training attendance and to keep everyone happy) is a bit naive.
If a club wants to kick on a and progress, then it has to be done right. That may mean bringing new players to the club, and it may mean more competition for places, but if everyone knows the plan and the manager is open with the players, then that's a good start.
I don't agree that club men by default should have a special status because of their length of service. If they are good enough, then by all means yes, but if not, then they should be honest enough themselves to understand that. If they are devoted club men, then they should be happy for the club to be making progress on the field. They should stick with the cause, even if they are not guaranteed their place. Otheriwse, they are only devoted club men when they are playing.
Players nowadays get molly coddled way too much. I don't think players are honest with themselves at all, I don't think they take responsibility, they will look to everyone else and everything else to make excuses if they are not playing. They look for an easy way out (change club) when the going gets tough, instead of putting their heads down and fighting for their place.
Nothing is impossible
Any word on the Wesley Webb? Surely something has been planned by now