Page 18 of 24 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast

Thread: Football in Shannon 2014/15

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Football unites its like this....you came on here and asked questions about the Wesley Webb. If you really had wanted those questions answered you could have approached any of the committee members at the matches and asked... Instead you came on here and asked when all it was going to do was cause animosity.
    Fair enough if you wanted to get a reaction and stir it up cause that's exactly what you did... But this is the problem with forums... It's the digital equivalent of standing on a box in the middle of the street shouting your opinion... Someone will react.
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by Lev Yashin View Post
    Football unites its like this....you came on here and asked questions about the Wesley Webb. If you really had wanted those questions answered you could have approached any of the committee members at the matches and asked... Instead you came on here and asked when all it was going to do was cause animosity.
    Fair enough if you wanted to get a reaction and stir it up cause that's exactly what you did... But this is the problem with forums... It's the digital equivalent of standing on a box in the middle of the street shouting your opinion... Someone will react.
    Would you ever calm down.

The questions he asked are harmless and he had a point about the young lad being stopped playing for another club the year before and you cannot answer it even though Gerry had said in a previous post he would find out the rule and better again he didn't take any offense to the question being asked.

Maybe he doesn't know any of your committee members?
    Gerry Kelly was very quick to come onto this forum and set (what he seen as) the record straight on other topics. The questions he asked were very clear and open.
    You need to find another outlet for your aggression because its not doing you any good on here.

Its very funny how certain members of "Shannon's Premier club" always seem to brush questions under the carpet.
    Ask me no questions I'll tell you no lies comes to mind.
    Have you something to hide is that why nobody answered his question?

As for Don't panic I figured you would know better than to get involved in such squabbles...... I wouldn't nail my colors to the mast if I were you. it could all end in tears yet.......
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

My colours are nailed to know mast,had my fill of local soccer a long time ago. However i do feel that st don't get the respect they deserve. If you look at the current hibs set up imo both newton and park where just as strong or stronger than they are now. While st seem to be getting stronger

I must admit its great to read these pages. Lots of unanswered questions, lots of allegations, lots of hurt pride, lack of respect....all from those who hide behind a log on.......could make a movie out of this

as said Gerry Kelly, has said he will answer the question and I suspect he will. For me I don't care who wins this tournament but I do think some of the carry on is shocking. I do think that it has suffered as a tournament that when it was an end of season tournament , at least then there was a formal team in place. Now it seems like any man and his dog could get a game (probably with Hibs ....just joking ) and people talk about respect. People comment on other clubs demise like they have moral high ground, while if it was not for the other clubs demise, those same clubs who were once the best teams in Shannon, competing in Munster and the FAI's, their club would be the little club down the road, or feeder club to those past great teams. Were these now formidable clubs (ST and SO) envious of the glories and trophies they saw down the road and their haul of WW cups?

I can now see how the dream of one club in Shannon will never happen, too many people investing time and effort in the wrong places, too many bitter people 'hating' other clubs......but I suppose we will have to submit for just one 'Football in Shannon' forum to unite everybody ....

Lads i have an answer for ye on the Tino issue. I kinda knew the answer myself on Friday but i needed to be sure, so here it is. Last year at the time of the WW Tino was still a registered player with LOI club so was not allowed to play. This season he was not registered with any LOI club so was therefore allowed to play. Please don't come back with ST make up the rules to suit themselves crap. I personally take offensive to that. Now can ye kindly move on from this issue & talk about how good or bad the final was? Also Young Tino has signed for ST.

Quote Originally Posted by don't panic View Post
    My colours are nailed to know mast,had my fill of local soccer a long time ago. However i do feel that st don't get the respect they deserve. If you look at the current hibs set up imo both newton and park where just as strong or stronger than they are now. While st seem to be getting stronger
    don't panic you seen to constantly go back the current hibs set-up ?? what is your issue with Hibs ? please also explain how shannon town seem to be getting stronger ?

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by gerardkelly View Post
    Lads i have an answer for ye on the Tino issue. I kinda knew the answer myself on Friday but i needed to be sure, so here it is. Last year at the time of the WW Tino was still a registered player with LOI club so was not allowed to play. This season he was not registered with any LOI club so was therefore allowed to play. Please don't come back with ST make up the rules to suit themselves crap. I personally take offensive to that. Now can ye kindly move on from this issue & talk about how good or bad the final was? Also Young Tino has signed for ST.
    fair enough point Gerry ... question should have been answered last week though also on Tino signing he is going back to college in Galway so wont be able to train with club Midweek .. will make it kind of difficult to pick him for games at weekend and drop lads who were training ?

I was never in favour of the amalgamation and think it was all done to fast. If newtown had held out I believe that they would be a stronger club than hibs. As for my reasons as to why i think st are getting stronger club, you only have to look at the number of teams each club has or do you have different criteria

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by gaiscíoch View Post
    Would you ever calm down.

The questions he asked are harmless and he had a point about the young lad being stopped playing for another club the year before and you cannot answer it even though Gerry had said in a previous post he would find out the rule and better again he didn't take any offense to the question being asked.

Maybe he doesn't know any of your committee members?
    Gerry Kelly was very quick to come onto this forum and set (what he seen as) the record straight on other topics. The questions he asked were very clear and open.
    You need to find another outlet for your aggression because its not doing you any good on here.

Its very funny how certain members of "Shannon's Premier club" always seem to brush questions under the carpet.
    Ask me no questions I'll tell you no lies comes to mind.
    Have you something to hide is that why nobody answered his question?

As for Don't panic I figured you would know better than to get involved in such squabbles...... I wouldn't nail my colors to the mast if I were you. it could all end in tears yet.......
    No need for me to calm down! And I'm definitely not aggressive! I just love my club and will defend it.... Maybe blindly!
    But it has just seemed there was allot of hostility towards Shannon Town last week....
    Anyway the issue had been put to bed now
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

I was never in favour of the amalgamation and think it was all done to fast. If newtown had held out I believe that they would be a stronger club than hibs. As for my reasons as to why i think st are getting stronger club, you only have to look at the number of teams each club has or do you have different criteria
    Dont panic like you i was also not in favour of amalgamation .. but by all accounts at that stage Newtown had 2 choices fold as a club or amalgamate??

dont forget shannon town were formed in 1969 ?? they have had a great schoolboy set-up and fair play to shannon town for maintaining this over the years ..probally a hell of alot of lads in shannon or their fathers played with town at some stage.

hibs formed in 2009 under Difficult circumstances and are trying to build along the same lines as town it will take a bt of time Hopefully>> i could argue the point for a team only going six years to have
    5 pitches and two sets of changing rooms would this not be classed as the stronger club ? at the end of the day who really cares who is the bigger club as both clubs are doing a great job with underage players and personally i would be delighted to see a town / hibs derby game in the limerick premier league in the future .
    the biggest problem i see for both clubs is that neither club have a youth team at the moment .
    Last edited by old git; 18/08/2014 at 4:33 PM.

Just seen on the st facebook page that they do have a youths team. Which only underlines my point that they are the stronger club. Also, maybe the fact that there now is at long last there is a youth team in the town, things are not as bad as us doom & gloom pundits make out. Lol

fair play to them and about time one of the Shannon teams have got a youth team up and running again

Heard town drew 1-1, any score from the Olympic game tomorrow

We phycic now? Haha olympic lost 1-0

Lol, stupid predictive text

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post
    We phycic now? Haha olympic lost 1-0
    and you have the cheek to slag him with spelling like that above

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    and you have the cheek to slag him with spelling like that above
    That's what you get when you don't finish school but i still know the difference between today and tomorrow haha

i must have went to the same school as i was not sure how to spell it also ?

Balla B 6-1 Hibs

terrible start to the season for ye so far ... had you full squad available last night

Page 18 of 24 FirstFirst ... 81617181920 ... LastLast