Thread: A 3-2 Defeat

Unhappy A way forward?

It's pointless simply criticising Pat Devlin - the only passion I saw on Thursday night at Oriel Park was from the manager.

If he said tomorrow, 'I've had enough', where would his successor come from? Where's the money going to come from for the new players? Football is business.

If there was financial backing available, it might be possible to speculate in the hope that a strong performance in the Premier Division would bring the crowds back and pay dividends on the investment, but I don't see any big sponsor or backer coming in at the moment - particularly as the Carlisle Grounds are only leased.

Short of having a Roman Abramovich, the club needs to work with what it has. Complaining about what's not there and what's not possible doesn't get anyone very far.

your an idiot, seagulls4. grow up, saturday is my only day off and i just wish there were true fans that i could talk to as opposed to morons like you who only wanna cause trouble. you couldnt just leave it at that when i admitted some truth in your arguments!!you had to try and take it further, to get a date out of me or something well im sorry but i just dont swing that way!
    if i had a nickle for every time i heard the word relegation i would have a lot of nickles-which are useless when you use euro's and just create small holes in your pockets..i pooped a kettle!

Well said REVIP, considering your a new signing you show a lot more maturity than some of the clowns on this site. these guys are mistaking the irish leagues to the english, where money is not an issue and managers come and go quicker than the DART! this is not Harchester United, its bray wanderers! get a life lads, we had our chance to prove our worth and again we didnt take it!! that is the teams fault, not devo's!!!
    if i had a nickle for every time i heard the word relegation i would have a lot of nickles-which are useless when you use euro's and just create small holes in your pockets..i pooped a kettle!

yeah man, i was lookin for a date. but clearly you're not my type. why not post a class pic and show us your kids? or is it all part of a michael jackson impression? jesus juice for religion class eh? weirdo. whats your school again? joker.

the team isn't THAT bad. we need some fresh blood to liven up competition for players. devo's lack of squad rotation and time spent with the club has made our tactics predictable and repetitive. he's done lots for the club, i'm happy to admit that. but the fact is he can't do any more. he's finished. no, we're not harchested united, very shrewd observation. they're a fictional team, made for a programme where keith duffy has a brain. see the difference? maybe spend less lonely sunday nights at sky one and more time with a life? or is that special time with the kids from the top of the class?

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by d_informer
    Well said REVIP, considering your a new signing you show a lot more maturity than some of the clowns on this site. these guys are mistaking the irish leagues to the english, where money is not an issue and managers come and go quicker than the DART! this is not Harchester United, its bray wanderers! get a life lads, we had our chance to prove our worth and again we didnt take it!! that is the teams fault, not devo's!!!
    The manager picks the team, the manager picks the tactics and too often this past couple of seasons, the manager has got it completely wrong. Because he's 'Director of football' at the club it seems he's not answerable- the blame always goes on the players. Why do they show so little heart? Maybe they've lost confidence in their manager too. Why is there no leader on the pitch driving them on? The Carlisle Grounds are empty every week because people are fed up with it. Why have none of the u-21s been brought through? Is it cos they actually play decent attacking football and wouldn't fit in with the hoof-the-ball tactics? The thought of another season in this **** poor division is just depressing...
    All you zombies tweet tweet tweet.

Quote Originally Posted by shankilwanderer
    I agree with what Rafa B has said about devo as our manager. Devo has been here to long, we have had our ups but we have had more downs, if he is there next year no dought we will be fighting to avoid the drop, probably fail and end up struggling for promotion the year after in the first division again unless something is done. What we need is someone with a new perspective on how to manage our team and get the most out of our lads in green.
    just an observation - few of you seem to consider the possibility that a new manager might lead to a downturn in the clubs fortunes. I would have thought that for a small club with very poor attendences, albeit with great potential, devlin has been extremely consistant over the years with very few resources. Just look at the likes of Kilkenny, sligo and dundalk to see how comparable teams who have aspired to great things in recent years have seen their fortunes slide despite management changes.
    I for one, as a cork fan living in sunny greystones, would love to see bray do well, so don't take my comments as an uninformed rant. And i'm not saying i'm right, just that all repercussions should be looked at. I think the players should take most of the blame for letting a two goal lead slip, and the people of bray probably don't deserve such a good club considering their lack of support over the years. Again, this is not a dig at you the fans, but your neighbours who don't support the club. Bray is certainly big enough to merit attendences well over 1,000 on a regular basis given your success.
    Best of luck in your last couple of games.

Quote Originally Posted by Seagull
    The manager picks the team, the manager picks the tactics and too often this past couple of seasons, the manager has got it completely wrong. Because he's 'Director of football' at the club it seems he's not answerable- the blame always goes on the players. Why do they show so little heart? Maybe they've lost confidence in their manager too. Why is there no leader on the pitch driving them on? The Carlisle Grounds are empty every week because people are fed up with it. Why have none of the u-21s been brought through? Is it cos they actually play decent attacking football and wouldn't fit in with the hoof-the-ball tactics? The thought of another season in this **** poor division is just depressing...
    In fairness he can't have got it completely wrong if you're pushing for promotion and were until recently competing for the league title. Get a grip lads. If you were Galway Utd i'd understand your expectations, but where do you think you'll get the money to suddenly become a solid premier division team? And what manager with proven credentials do you have in mind to replace Devo? To be honest, given the other teams below you, your poor attendences and limited resources I think you are punching above your weight and doing a good job of it, which is something to be proud of. The 1st division is a messy one to fight your way out of, and Devo has consistenty achieved that.

Quote Originally Posted by paddigol
    just an observation - few of you seem to consider the possibility that a new manager might lead to a downturn in the clubs fortunes. I would have thought that for a small club with very poor attendences, albeit with great potential, devlin has been extremely consistant over the years with very few resources. Just look at the likes of Kilkenny, sligo and dundalk to see how comparable teams who have aspired to great things in recent years have seen their fortunes slide despite management changes.
    I for one, as a cork fan living in sunny greystones, would love to see bray do well, so don't take my comments as an uninformed rant. And i'm not saying i'm right, just that all repercussions should be looked at. I think the players should take most of the blame for letting a two goal lead slip, and the people of bray probably don't deserve such a good club considering their lack of support over the years. Again, this is not a dig at you the fans, but your neighbours who don't support the club. Bray is certainly big enough to merit attendences well over 1,000 on a regular basis given your success.
    Best of luck in your last couple of games.
    Thats the best post on this site for a long bloody time !!!!!!!!!!!! Fair play.

And i would have to agree as well with everything you said. I just dont think that anyone out there could do the job Devo has done with, lets face it, NO MONEY what so ever ! 2 FAI cup wins, several 1st division titles and took us to the dizzy heights of 4th in the premier only a few years ago.

And yes i would also have to but the blame on the players for our recent poor preformances as well, most of them have agreed with that statement ! a mixture of nerves, poor form and tiredness has resulted in our end of season jitters, but i still firmly believe that we will beat Lims on fri and haprs will get a result in kildare on sat leaving us promoted.

A 3-2 Defeat

Devo is a legend. He has lived and breathed Wanderers for most of the past 2 decades. Whatever transpires he will be a hard act to follow.

And that coming from a support of a rival club.

A Big Devo Supporter

I know forums are a place for people to vent frustrations and anger at teams and individuals, but the stuff i am reading about Devo is simply over the top.Do you all forget the years of passion and dedication Pat Devlin has put into Bray Wanderers? Bray Wanderers would not be what it is today without him. How do i know? Because i was their in the beginning.
    In 1985 when Wanderers were admitted into the New League of Ireland Pat Devlin was the man who ran all over Dublin (and Wicklow) to put together a team of vertual nobodys. He moulded us into a team that won the championship in its first year. He did it on a very low budget. The players in his care were like his own children. For me personally he was like a father. He picked me up from work, he brought me to his house, he fed me. If i had not left for Australia i would have played under Pat for the rest of my life. I have such strong feelings for the man and Bray that honestly the only thing i miss about Ireland is playing under Pat at Bray Wanderers. I can honestly say that their is not a day goes by that i don't think about the old days.
    Sure Bray have had their ups and downs since. Sure Pat has been their forever. But where would you have been without him? I have been away now for a long time but i still keep tabs on the fortunes of Bray. Whatever peoples opinions of Pat he certainly doesn't deserve to be criticised in this way. People have short memories.

Cheers from Australia
    Last edited by coops; 12/11/2004 at 2:12 AM.

AAAhhh its the legend himself if im not mistaken.Sorry if i get it wrong. Is it Kieran cooper?????? Everything you said was correct. He made Bray what it is today and hopefully with a win against limerick tonight we will be back where we belong, the premier division!!!! Good to hear from you and thanks for the opinion!!!Devo the legend. Your right
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by coops
    I know forums are a place for people to vent frustrations and anger at teams and individuals, but the stuff i am reading about Devo is simply over the top.Do you all forget the years of passion and dedication Pat Devlin has put into Bray Wanderers? Bray Wanderers would not be what it is today without him. How do i know? Because i was their in the beginning.
    In 1985 when Wanderers were admitted into the New League of Ireland Pat Devlin was the man who ran all over Dublin (and Wicklow) to put together a team of vertual nobodys. He moulded us into a team that won the championship in its first year. He did it on a very low budget. The players in his care were like his own children. For me personally he was like a father. He picked me up from work, he brought me to his house, he fed me. If i had not left for Australia i would have played under Pat for the rest of my life. I have such strong feelings for the man and Bray that honestly the only thing i miss about Ireland is playing under Pat at Bray Wanderers. I can honestly say that their is not a day goes by that i don't think about the old days.
    Sure Bray have had their ups and downs since. Sure Pat has been their forever. But where would you have been without him? I have been away now for a long time but i still keep tabs on the fortunes of Bray. Whatever peoples opinions of Pat he certainly doesn't deserve to be criticised in this way. People have short memories.

Cheers from Australia
    Roo: Clap Clap Clap Clap Clap, great speach that would make ! fair play