Page 131 of 139 FirstFirst ... 3181121129130131132133 ... LastLast
Results 2,601 to 2,620 of 2766

Thread: Cork AUL Premier & Premier A 2014/15

Lads most leagues if not all go down this road , flick of a coin for home advantage , look at the tipp league , st michaels won the toss but clonmel celtic still beat them 1-0 to win the league !! At the end of the day , who ever wants it more will win it and fair play to grattan , that's what they did !!

Quote Originally Posted by rooster View Post
    Lads most leagues if not all go down this road , flick of a coin for home advantage , look at the tipp league , st michaels won the toss but clonmel celtic still beat them 1-0 to win the league !! At the end of the day , who ever wants it more will win it and fair play to grattan , that's what they did !!
    exactly well said rooster ....
    Forget the pitch issue its not like it's gonna be replayed anyway so we may aswell drop it .. Grattan won the league because they were the best side of what was on offer in prem this year ... Could of been a different story if park hadn't a back log of fixtures but it's all over now ... Next season I think Pearse will be there or there abouts ... Possibly with a killumney revival of the wave of 1fors Magic wand 4 street .... I don't think you can rule out park either they will always have something to say towards the business end of the season ....
    Last edited by Barthez; 08/06/2015 at 2:45 AM.

61 Posts
    Michaels and Clonmel pitches are maintained all year round.No one is saying that Gratttan did not deserve it but the pitch did a dis service to both teams. Two teams that are well capable. Stick to the issue in hand. No one mentioned a replay. Local football must be the winner here.

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Michaels and Clonmel pitches are maintained all year round.No one is saying that Gratttan did not deserve it but the pitch did a dis service to both teams. Two teams that are well capable. Stick to the issue in hand. No one mentioned a replay. Local football must be the winner here.
    Michaels & clonmel have the finances for paid groundsmen ... Aul teams don't have that ... Not many teams in the aul have there own private facility ... Fair view,bstone, village,blarney st , killumney Etc ... These teams rent there pitch for the season ...
    I dont know it obviously was a bad decision by aul to give either side the opportunity of home advantage ... A game of this importance is for turners cross ... But as I said earlier it's over and done with grattan are premier champions ... No matter what pitch they could of played on ... In my own opinion I don't take it would of made a difference they would of beaten glenthorn on there patch aswell there simply just a better more organised side ... Poor premier this year ... Standard has dropped in recent years
    Let's all hope for the good of cork football that we have a better premier next season ...

71 Posts
    We (Blackstone) do not rent our pitch from season to season. We have a longer term arrangement in place. Groundsmen are available via Tus schemes for most areas. As I will say Wednesday night, quality of pitches is just one of a string of measures we need as a league. Promotion should be dependent on meeting certain off the field criteria too - varying per division.

Some things are easier to measure - some are less so.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    We (Blackstone) do not rent our pitch from season to season. We have a longer term arrangement in place. Groundsmen are available via Tus schemes for most areas. As I will say Wednesday night, quality of pitches is just one of a string of measures we need as a league. Promotion should be dependent on meeting certain off the field criteria too - varying per division.

Some things are easier to measure - some are less so.
    Rent , long term lease you know what I mean .... Im not pin pointing clubs im just using a few as an example that there's very few WIth private facility & funds for groundsmen ... Pitches in aul football are not great ... End of so if an important game doesn't go to the cross in the near future. Then debate will be talked about again ...
    Not
    enough being done by aul ....

71 Posts
    I get your point. Only one team in Serie A own their own ground though!!This is the big thing I hope people get tomorrow night - it's not up to a committee to make the league better - it's upto to us ourselves. No use giving out about what the committee does wrong and not offer alternatives!

People on here seem to think it's serie A ! .... In the past did the AUL not have play offs in neutral venues ? Could they not of even played it in "black stones" Fairfield ?. Just clarify its black stones field guys . Well done to blackstone this season for saving themselves for a change ! Just messin bev.

71 Posts
    Four teams share Fairfield 1 & 2. We have loaned the pitch to many teams but I'd say we were safe enough not waiting for a play off call! As far as I know if one team doesn't want to toss a coin it goes neutral.

I don't understand as to why they would both risk the opportunity to made play away by the mere toss of a coin ....
    wouldnt it of made sense by the AUL to say look it's a play off to win the biggest
    trophy in the AUL lets take it to turners cross ... 3€ at the gate to benefit the AUL & the best surface in cork everybody's happy ? . Stupid decision by them in my opinion .... Even if the cross wasn't available the mardyke would of been just as good and it would of been something different. In the end it gets played on possibly besides the glens place the worst pitch in the AUL .... The decision made no sense and maybe it's right that the AUL Are
    criticised. I've no doubts they will make another few little blunders next season.
    All this talk is taking the lime light off grattan being premier champions let's give them some bit of credit lads.

enough about it now lads the league was won a week ago , noting going to change that especially not folk on here !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Barthez View Post
    I don't understand as to why they would both risk the opportunity to made play away by the mere toss of a coin ....
    wouldnt it of made sense by the AUL to say look it's a play off to win the biggest
    trophy in the AUL lets take it to turners cross ... 3€ at the gate to benefit the AUL & the best surface in cork everybody's happy ? . Stupid decision by them in my opinion .... Even if the cross wasn't available the mardyke would of been just as good and it would of been something different. In the end it gets played on possibly besides the glens place the worst pitch in the AUL .... The decision made no sense and maybe it's right that the AUL Are
    criticised. I've no doubts they will make another few little blunders next season.
    All this talk is taking the lime light off grattan being premier champions let's give them some bit of credit lads.
    hear bud there is a lot worse fields out there that the glen and grattens pitchs . leagues and over lads forget and move on nothing is going to change

71 Posts
    Sorry Barthez - missed your club/name - what was it again? This forum will be so quiet next season. Everyone in the AUL should get their chance to offer improvements over the summer and play your part in improving the AUL. So, if you dont take the opportunity, then dont be a keyboard warrior!! I was asked a question last night - how many of the critics of the two pitches involved have ever been involved in pitch acquisition and/or improvement?
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

22 Posts
    Sorry Barthez - missed your club/name - what was it again? This forum will be so quiet next season. Everyone in the AUL should get their chance to offer improvements over the summer and play your part in improving the AUL. So, if you dont take the opportunity, then dont be a keyboard warrior!! I was asked a question last night - how many of the critics of the two pitches involved have ever been involved in pitch acquisition and/or improvement?
    lads I heard today that a club is gone back pre season already crazy how early wait till the forms come out

Good point bev

61 Posts
    Who are part of the Coup against the AUL commitee tomorrow night. From what I hear they are beaten already.

I'm with Pearse bev ....

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Barthez View Post
    I'm with Pearse bev ....
    Ye arent fond of my reffing skills - haha!!

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    Who are part of the Coup against the AUL commitee tomorrow night. From what I hear they are beaten already.
    Heard nothing about a coup? Enlighten me.

Ye arent fond of my reffing skills - haha!!
    I dont think anyone is fond of anything got to do with reffin where cork football is concerned !! Haha ....
    Ye managed to get yer selves a bit of stability after tough few seasons fair play bud.
    Coup ? This is all new to me ???