Page 119 of 139 FirstFirst ... 1969109117118119120121129 ... LastLast
Results 2,361 to 2,380 of 2766

Thread: Cork AUL Premier & Premier A 2014/15

Quote Originally Posted by get in the hole View Post
    But would that be feasible considering how many teams are in the aul? I just think it should be strictly lads who want to be involved and show an interest so having 5 from each club wouldn't neccassarily work. A club may have 5 good enough but only 1 who really wants to play and then he changes his mind because his buddies are saying how stupid it is. There are guys out there who would be proud to represent the aul and who are good enough. Having them get their club to put them forward would be a good start in my eyes.
    As for your comment about senior football. There are plenty of guys who prefer aul to senior who could easily play that level. Just the same as there are a frightening amount of so called "senior" players around who would struggle in prem A. I know some amount of guys who are just delighted to walk around telling people they play senior as it automatically puts them on a pedestal in their own eyes. Give them a ball then and they don't know what to do with it.
    Totally feasible, each club (A teams only) asks all their lads has anyone interest, if people show their hands, you throw them down...it's not like there'd be 300 players out at trials, the mngt team would get each clubs "nominees" some clubs may decide to leave it off entirely, they can then pick the 30 or so they want to bring in for a look. Wouldn't be hard at all to do, and each club wouldn't need to choose five at all, if nobody shows hands, nobody shows. At least then the powers that be in charge of the team will know "well, Player A from this team didn't put himself forward, why should I waste my time watching him". In my defense, i did say may work haha

22 Posts
    Any results from tonight

Quote Originally Posted by oldlegs View Post
    Dexter Id say go back to your lab !!!! I have no interest in any form of management in the next few years !!! Plenty of good men out their for the job .
    only one man to fix that job overthehill.mellors would have no agenda only football.
    Last edited by 1fortheTeam; 13/05/2015 at 3:26 PM.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1fortheTeam View Post
    only one man to fix that job ..blackstone gaffer overthehill.mellors would have no agenda only football.
    We made no comment on the Blarney Street managers job, and would expect the same courtesy.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    We made no comment on the Blarney Street managers job, and would expect the same courtesy.
    relax bud opinion is opinion .i just edited your club name ther for you ,,my opinion of you gaffer is mine .
    Last edited by 1fortheTeam; 13/05/2015 at 3:31 PM.

Ivan you should take it as a compliment that Derek is being linked with the job, it shows he must be doing something right with Blackstone Rovers, I also understand your point of view as well ye obviously dont want to lose him to the aul job or any other job at that. Any truth Mickey Walsh went for the blarney street job??????? Congratulations on your reappointment paulie best of luck for the forthcoming season. Best wishes to carrigtwohill in the aoh cup final their lucky to have one of the most genuine, honest men in football in charge of them mickey deasy.

22 Posts
    Best man was appointed for blarney at job hands down best man manger around..you know your doing something right when players are approaching you to sign for your team lol

27 Posts
    You spot on there Kick off! The street will be back in the mix next season big time!

27 Posts
    Just to put this rumour to bed, I have had nor will have any communication regarding the aul job. Have work in progress in my present position and will be giving 100% to that for the coming season!
    Last edited by overthehill; 13/05/2015 at 8:06 PM.

Fair play Derek for staying loyal to Blackstone,huge strides made on and off the pitch this season.long may the progression contuine,Ivan will sleep well tonight.

Derek who you think would be in with a shout for the aul job should it become vacant??any young promising managers in the league???

Quote Originally Posted by sorryburnsy View Post
    Derek who you think would be in with a shout for the aul job should it become vacant??any young promising managers in the league???
    it is vacant as we speak

27 Posts
    There are some fine managers in our league but therein lies the problem, all are giving 100% to their clubs and would rather strive to achieve improvement and success over a long season than spend weeks watching games and trying to put a balanced team together after a couple of challenge games for the aul. For me, the candidate must be free from club commitments, be given a 2 or 3 yr term regardless of results in the first year, and any players chosen for the squad MUST give full respect to the HONOUR of representing their league or them or their clubs be punished. In my day players were proud to be called up for AUL Trials, now it seems a burden for some. Different times. I would hope that Mickey Walsh stays on but if he goes back to club management you cant do both jobs!

19. Thanks From:

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by overthehill View Post
    There are some fine managers in our league but therein lies the problem, all are giving 100% to their clubs and would rather strive to achieve improvement and success over a long season than spend weeks watching games and trying to put a balanced team together after a couple of challenge games for the aul. For me, the candidate must be free from club commitments, be given a 2 or 3 yr term regardless of results in the first year, and any players chosen for the squad MUST give full respect to the HONOUR of representing their league or them or their clubs be punished. In my day players were proud to be called up for AUL Trials, now it seems a burden for some. Different times. I would hope that Mickey Walsh stays on but if he goes back to club management you cant do both jobs!
    I think it'd be very wrong to punish a club in a situation like that. Or even the player who may work shift work or have a young family and already train twice with his club and have a match also. I agree and times have changed and for the worse I'm afraid. Be hard to find a good manager that hasn't a club id imagine but I agree with your point. Is it def that Mickey Walsh is gone and heading back to Coachford??

Quote Originally Posted by Just my opinion View Post
    I think it'd be very wrong to punish a club in a situation like that. Or even the player who may work shift work or have a young family and already train twice with his club and have a match also. I agree and times have changed and for the worse I'm afraid. Be hard to find a good manager that hasn't a club id imagine but I agree with your point. Is it def that Mickey Walsh is gone and heading back to Coachford??
    He's gone from his aul manager role

Quote Originally Posted by killer"B" View Post
    He's gone from his aul manager role
    Heard awhile back that he was going back down to coachford next year but also heard he was falling in with rockmount. Personally I think there's absolutely no truth in either story

Quote Originally Posted by get in the hole View Post
    Heard awhile back that he was going back down to coachford next year but also heard he was falling in with rockmount. Personally I think there's absolutely no truth in either story
    i fancy carrig in aoh cup v park. 1 nil ,respects to park fine outfit finals are hard to call dont matter if its a good game or not .

AUL RESULTS
    Tuesday 12th May:
    Premier League: Blarney St Ath 6 Glen Celtic 1; Coachford 1 Kilreen Celtic 5.
    AUL 2: Leeview Ath 2 Rathcoole Rovers 1; Blackpool Celtic v CFC Banteer (off).
    AUL 2A: Park Utd 2 Glenthorn Celtic 0.

Thursday 14th May:
    AUL 2A: Knocknaheeny Celtic 4 Glen Celtic 2.

AUL 3B: Bweeng Celtic 2 Strand Utd 3; Waterloo 3 Coachford 1.

CORK AUL FIXTURES
    Friday 15th May Ko. 7.30pm
    AOH Cup Final
    Carrigtwohill Utd A v Park Utd A, Turners Cross, D.Deady, G.Stepens, D.O’Mahony, Paul O’Sullivan
    Saturday 16th May, Ko 2.00pm
    City Challenge Cup Semi Final
    Glen Celtic B v Crescent Ath, Glen Pk, John.Thompson
    Premier League
    Glentorn Celtic v Pearse Celtic, Glenthorn Pk, G.Stephens
    Greenwood v Kilreen Celtic, Leaghanamore, D.O’Mahony
    AUL 3A
    Temple Utd v St John Boscos, Temple Pk, B.O’Regan
    AUL 3B
    Innishvilla v Los Zarcos, Knocknacurra, Innishannon, Tony Thompson
    Tower FC v Coachford, Killowen, R.Crean
    Sunday 17th May Ko 10.45 am
    City Challenge Cup Semi Final
    Fairview v Lakewood Ath, Fairfield, D.Cronin
    Premier A League
    Innishvilla v Springfield, Knocknacurra , Innishannon, E.Harte
    AUL 2
    Ballinhassig v Newmarket Town, Gortnaglough, Liam Murphy
    Monday 18th May Ko 7.00pm
    Premier League
    Park Utd A v Grattan Utd, Brigown, G.Stephens

Best of luck to Carrig tonight in the AOH. Really hope they do it. Huge night for the club.