Is it true that greenwood gave a walkover at the weekend.
AUL RESULTS FROM THE WEEKEND:
FAI Junior Cup 3rd Round: Park Utd A 2 Ringmahon Rangers 1; Blackstone Rovers 2 Innishvilla A 1; Glen Celtic A 1 Blarney St Ath 0; Coachford A 2 Cloughduv 0; Tower FC 5 Passage 0; Leeview Ath 5 College Corinthians 1; Douglas Hall (MSL) 3 Grattan Utd A 2;
Avondale Utd 2 Watergrasshill Utd 2 (Avondale won 9-8 on pens aet); Macroom A 4 Glen Celtic B 3; Springfield 0 Kilreen Celtic 2; Cobh Wanderers 3 Carrigtwohill Utd A 2; Dunbar Celtic 0 Cork Eagles 1; Cathedral Celtic 0 Castleview 2.
AOH Cup 2nd Round: Donoughmore Ath 1 Glenthorn Celtic A 8; CFC Banteer 3 Crescent Ath 5; St John Boscos A 1 Macroom B 2; Corkbeg 0 Pearse Celtic A 4; Innishvilla B 5 Parkview Celtic 1; Hillington 5 Strand Utd B 4; Dillon Cross Ath 0 Glenthorn Celtic B 3; UCC B 2 Greenwood B 4; Glanworth Utd 1 Newmarket Town 2; Park Utd B 3 Afton Villa 1; St John Boscos B 5 Shandon Celtic 2; Ballincollig 0 Killumney Utd A 2.
AUL 1A: Waterloo 3 UCC A 3.
Is it true that greenwood gave a walkover at the weekend.
Real shame that the likes of killumney and greenwood are struggling it's not good for aul football having big teams struggling big up to Blackstone rovers club that were struggling for a while but now looking impressive
Thanks. Football is cyclical. We had 10 years upwards before four iffy ones. The key, in my opinion, is to ride out the bad ones with as little damage as possible and believe in the long term. On this season, we have ridden our luck a bit, but have a strong squad. Way too early to get carried away. I have seen teams have starts like ours and die a death - our target is 16 points which will keep us up- haha! Kilumney and Greenwood will come again. Both clubs have more than one team, especially Greenwood.
It is a shame to see Premier clubs like Greenwood and Kilumney to falling so hard and it does nothing to enhance the reputation of the AUL. Again it comes back to the old argument.. too many clubs in and around the same location. Guys jumping ship and showing no loyalty when the club hit hard times. Blackstone at the moment deserve huge credit for 1. Keeping the club going after a rough year or two and 2. Building a squad that is competing again. To have good club guys in there like Horse, Mellerick and co. is the key to rebuilding.
Nothing worse than seeing a team get promoted and either fold before they start or last about 3/4 games, has a huge affect on the division.
Can't see both teams folding if I'm not wrong but don't both teams second team have to fold and compete in highest division with their first team....still think that greenwood are in so much trouble over getting rid of John Paul manager last year he had got in 5-6 players himself and when they got rid of him they all left...rumours that killumney manager last season going to ballincollig seniors..look at start of the year blarney st where starting up a b team and come start of season they were lucky to have 11 players thankfully now their getting good numbers training and to games..
Great post owl. 100% correct
Looks like donal o riordan back in management already fair play
Clubs finding it hard alright even here in Innish hard to get numbers for first team . And this isn't a dig at anyone etc but a lot of lads will play with b team as it's easier in terms of training competing for first team spots etc . And also work comes first gone are the days when you can tell your employer you have game you need finish early etc . So lot of guys playing well below their level and it's just a lifestyle choice .
Who are aul team playing tonight
Some great posts there. To compete at the top of Junior football in Cork, guys need to give more than they receive. They need to sacrifice. It's difficult to do that without some sort of emotional attachment to the club which is why non-schoolboy clubs are at a disadvantage. A lot of clubs rise through the leagues and hit a brick wall. We lost a lot of players to teams in divisions below us who were winning. The pub on Saturday night doesn't measure what division you are in - it's simply win or lose.
We also copped onto the fact that off field signings are as important as on-field ones. We spent the summer chasing board guys as much as players.
The new teams this year were from areas without AUL clubs or b/c teams I think. It's the way it should be. If a bunch of 20 lads wanna form a team for a decade or so, then AUL should try and tie them up with existing sides.
Greenwood A with another new manager tonight ...,,
from greenwood fc.com "Junior A Managers
Greenwood football club are pleased to announce our new Junior A management team of Kieran Mc Coy and Damien Budden. Best of luck for the rest of the season.