Page 33 of 36 FirstFirst ... 233132333435 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2014/15

Mad4it states " I know for a fact that Carrig never objected and it was the leagues decision to have a playoff as that is what happens in other leagues."

This is a complete lie cos I know for a fact that they did look for the playoff route. I know you're probably just trying to save face for your club but there's no point coming on here and telling lies about it! Glin & Kildimo should be in the Premier, they were told that they'd been promoted so I don't see how the league can go back & change it's mind when the season is over!

If they deserve to be in premier, let em prove that on the field and not by finishing in 3rd place

Crazy lady you're obviously a glin or kildimo supporter or just someone with a deep hatred for carrig celtic. I have not told any lies when I said carrig didn't object. I am not a member or player with carrig but I am friendly with a lot of their players and I know they didn't object just asked the question as there was some confusion over it. I agree that they deserve to be relegated but I also think that finishing in 3rd place does not deserve to be promoted so a playoff is the fairest result. It is wrong to come on here and berate a club as much as you have. Im sure all the other premier league teams would prefer the changing facilities and showers that carrig supply even though they play "cavemen like tactics" rather than changing on the side of the road and going home covered in s**t like what happens elsewhere.

A long time reader of the forum but had to register when things started to heat up on here. From what I heard Carrig asked a question about what the Desmond league have in place for situations where a B team finish in the promotion positions. Its up to the Desmond league to decide on it. What the Desmond league probably done was look at the rest of the leagues in Munster and realised that all other leagues goto a playoff. Bashing Carrig because of it seems a bit over the top
    Hypotetically, if Rathkeale B, Abbeyfeale B, Broadford B and NCW Rovers B finished in the top 4 positions in Division 1, would that mean 5th and 6th would get promoted?? Dont think anyone would be complaining then about a playoff

Quote Originally Posted by Crazy Lady View Post
    That's true Skyhome but I know Glin havn't trained since Xmas at which time they basically had promotion guaranteed or so they were led to believe by Desmond League officials.
    If Carrig were any good then they wouldn't have finished in the bottom 2 & had to be running to the Desmond League "asking questions" of them. They finished in the bottom 2, therefore should be relegated, no ifs or buts about it.
    They are of no benefit to the Premier Division anyway, with their awful playing surface (worst playing surface in the division) & caveman-like 'Kick & Chase' tactics.
    ha ha Crazy lady - you have a serious grudge against Carrig for some reason. Would you honestly rather Kildimo's first class facilities of heated car seats to change in and a shower of a bottle of Ballygowan thrown over you. Plus a loveley tree to protect you from the rain.. No offence to the Kildimo players or management meant here but I know where I would rather go on a cold wet Sunday morning..
    Also, can't understand what you mean by they wont be a loss to the Desmond league. Look at their goals scored and against column. We played them 5 times over the past 2 years and the matches have been 4-3, 6-2, 3-3, 3-3 and 4-3 again.. Would you rather watch a 0-0 draw??? Plus I saw them in the league cup final against abbeyfeale last year and that match was probably one of the better finals I have been to. 2-1 with loads of goalmouth action on both sides and they played alot better than cavemen kick and chase like football that you think you see

Whatever about Carrig objecting etc the league should have it clearly stated at the start of the season what would happen if a b team won division 1. That would avoid any confusion. Have rules and stick to them.

I don't understand why Kildimo are even involved. If it's decided that there should be a playoff, it should be between Carrig and Glin. If Kildimo lose both games then they will have finished second and the team in third will have got promoted. How does that make sense? The team who came second always got promoted!!

But lets be honest, most of the 'big' teams would prefer to see Glin and Carrig in the premier than Kildimo. And I think that's what it's really coming down too. The rules are being changed to try to make that happen. It's lucky NCW pulled out of the relegation zone, because I have no doubt that if they finished second last, Kildimo and Glin would have been told only one team was getting promoted this year.

And mad4it its easy to say 'Kildimo should have played for pride at least and sent a full team out to play rockhill.' But after Glin scored a 90th minute equalizer against Kildimo it was clear that neither team was going to catch Rathkeale. I know because I scored the og that drew that game against Glin. So when lads have been taking time off work, travelling back from college, etc. all season, you can't blame them for not doing it for a match against Rockhill that, as they thought at the time, ment nothing. Kildimo still sent 14 players to Rockhill and fulfilled every fixture, unlike a lot of other teams. It's because of teams not full-filling fixtures and 3v0 scorelines being award, and sending 8 and 9 players to games and getting slaughtered that goal difference doesn't count. Where is there pride? Where is Carrig's pride? Trying to stay in the league on a technicality. Every other league in the world goes by goal difference but of course the Desmond league would have to be different.

And come out of the fog with Carrig didn't object..........the Desmond league decided to voluntarily bring this mess upon themselves did they? They're bad but they're not that bad.

I think they should bring in the goal difference back. You could finish top of the table level on points with second place and +30 goals better but lose a playoff decider. In my opinion that's stupid. Carrig finished second last so therefore should be relegated because they were the second worst team in the premier division.

Rathkeale B, fair play, were always going to top the div, so the lge should have been aware of this possible scenario, The rule is there, same as the Clare and the City lge, I think the Desmond lge possibly aren't up to speed with their own rules & relegations. Crazy lady, name fits alright, to suggest Pat King had a pull on this, that's pathetic & When was the last time you played against Carrig Celtic or in Carrigkerry ???? Doesn't say much for the Prem Division if a team that play with 'Caveman' like tatics won the lge cup last year. From what Ive seen this season, Carrig deserve to go down, I've herd that Carrig are losing a few players in the coming weeks that are going abroad so I dunno if a playoff will even help their cause. Personally, This playoff rule was first brought to my attention a few weeks ago when Killaney were facing relegation, from what I herd it was highlighted to their club by a well known die hard desmond lge man from Killaney, as a possible escape clause if needed, and from talking to the Carrig lads, they caught wind of it and simply asked for clarification. Desmond lge is just farcical @ times.

Jaysus this has blown up

It doesn't really matter how the playoff came about really, for me "questioning" whats going to happen is an objection by a different name, you were 2nd bottom in your division, you're relegated but what I would consider a more important issue is how the Desmond League can announce thru all its mediums that 2 teams have been promoted and then back track once the season has finished!

Thats the worst part of the whole debacle to my mind
    Last edited by Langerdan007; 15/05/2015 at 12:40 PM. Reason: Incorrect info stated

Glin and Kildimo did finish on the same points?

Quote Originally Posted by PatRooney View Post
    Glin and Kildimo did finish on the same points?
    Sorry I was looking at the "Detailed" table and looked at the wrong column as points! So they did

[QUOTE=UnitedweStand;1818863] Would you honestly rather Kildimo's first class facilities of heated car seats to change in and a shower of a bottle of Ballygowan thrown over you. Plus a loveley tree to protect you from the rain.. No offence to the Kildimo players or management meant here but I know where I would rather go on a cold wet Sunday morning..

Just to be clear........Kildimo United do not supply the Ballygowan.........Ye need to bring that yourselves :-) Don't want people showing up in Kildimo next season expecting to be spoiled!!!

The issue isn't about facilities or whatever. It is about the playoff / relegation saga. It was always the case if rathkeale b won the division 1 then 2nd and 3rd get promoted but all of a sudden its not now??? The league haven't a clue what they are doing. Carrig finished 2nd last so should go down. Even tho they have decent dressing rooms and stand and kildimo don't. Hopefully it will be sorted asap

Is GLIN-v-KILDIMO fixed for the weekend?

Is it being played????

Well said fanaticfan, it has nothing to do with facilities. People seem to be missing the point here. Glin & Kildimo were both informed that they were promoted, it was even in The Weekly Observer & on Live 95FM that both Kildimo & Glin had been promoted. Therefore one couldn't blame either team for not pushing 100% in the closing stages of the league when they'd already been informed that they were both going up.
    Then when the league was concluded this all happened & all of a sudden these play-offs were conjured up out of thin air, it's a disgrace! Maybe the Desmond League are looking for 2 pay days in Clonreask.
    And to correct ye I most certainly am not anti-Carrig but this has really ****ed me off as they had 9 months to keep themselves up, wern't good enough & then wern't willing to just accept their fate. Just because it's a rule in another rule doesn't make it a rule our league. And phrase it whatever way ye like, objecting to or questioning it is all the same! Have really lost a lot of respect for them as a club since this incident & also have even less respect for Desmond League now than I previously had, which wasn't much!
    What would happen if the losers of Sunday's playoff refuse to play Carrig?

Yeah it's on Sunday in Clonreask at 11.30 and it's going ahead alright

League have dealt with this badly i agree but just for the record ncw rovers played broadford b in a div 2/3 playoff about 15 years ago, i think it was because villa rovers pulled out exact same situation with rovers finishing 2nd from bottom and broadford 3rd in div below. So mabey the rule was there all along

If that is the case Last Man Back it reflects even worse on the league! I'm sure the League PRO didn't go on a solo run with his announcing of the promotions to all and sundry! The left hand has zero idea about what the right hand is doing if he did!!

Well inn airless crazy lady , you are the one who brought up the facilities and now everyone is missing the point because they are talking about it.just say abbey b Rathkeale b now rovers b and broad ford b finished top 4 in division 1, would you want 5th and 6th getting promoted to the premier? To me the best teams should be in the premier league to make it as competitive as possible. Playoff decides this.

Page 33 of 36 FirstFirst ... 233132333435 ... LastLast