Page 32 of 36 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2014/15

Don't often comment on posts to this site but just cannot let Snafu's comments pass without a reply,
    1. Who gives him/Her the right to say where the premier league trophy belongs:-Surely it ends up where it belongs every year ? With the most consistent team over the league program.
    2. A Mixture of Terrible Referees & Jealous Referees :- Not sure where thats coming from,Why would Referees be jealous of Abbeyfeale , Desmond Referees have been further in Munster & FAI competitions (Refereed the FAI Junior Cup FINAL in 2009) than any team from Desmond league in the last few years including this year when they reffed the Munster Youths Cup Final and will ref the Munster Junior final in Tralee next Sunday and nobody has ever said afterwards that they were involved in a betting coup unlike that alleged about Abbeyfeale after the Moyross game this year.
    3. Where is Abbeyfeale's trophy cabinet located :- Love to see their collection of trophies sometime, would they contain all of the Man of the match trophies awarded by the league P.R.O who by the way is not biased in any way shape or form towards Abbeyfeale, you just have to listen to his reports on the radio or read them in the Observer to know that.
    4.Floodlights :- More power from candles, they must be among the weakest lights ever turned on and only cover some of the beach (Sorry Pitch) Maybe they think nobody will play in the corners so no point in wasting Electricity by trying to light that bit.
    5.Coaching staff :- Best Coaches in Abbey are probably the tour buses full of American tourists heading through to Kerry.
    6. in fairness they will probably win the Desmond cup as well but for all their alleged greatness how may supporters will they bring to Clounreask to see that happen, my guess is probably very few but would be delighted to see them prove me wrong. Maybe SNAFU can use some of His/Her powers of persuasion (HOT AIR) to get them out for the Final. Oh and if they are going make sure to give them directions to Clounreask as I reckon not many of them have been there before.

Well done to Askeaton. Best team in the entire league with the best facilities and soundest lads.

Another great post by Soreloser. What do you mean by "nobody has ever said afterwards that they were involved in a betting coup unlike that alleged about Abbeyfeale after the Moyross game this year". I'm sure on not the only one that interested in hear what that's about.

Quote Originally Posted by twotouch View Post
    Rathkeale B 4 up at half time league wrapped up... Excellent season the double is done and the 1st B team to my knowledge to win Div 1... Still the Desmond cup final to go aswell
    Easy to have a good B team when 90% of the A team are outsiders..

yea i would like to know about the alleged bribery involving the Abbey and Moyross game, the size of Abbeyfeale you would think they should have a lot more leagues won and munster junior cups won, they have some pick from considering there is only 2 teams near them ie Glantine & Athea (correct me if i am wrong) compared to Askeaton, Ballysteen, Kilcornan, Pallaskenry, Killdimo, Rathkeale and Shannon side all close together. I dont think summer soccer is the way to go it is going to close down the smaller clubs who will have to join up with bigger clubs. i dont think taking on the GAA AND MAKING KIDS CHOOS

making kids choose what code to play is a good idea.

90% of Rathkeale B team are outsiders aswell as far as I'm aware. Don't really see what the big deal is anyways whether players are from Rathkeale or not

Ye were right about the playoff for who plays in the Premier next season. Glin vs Kildimo playoff this Sunday to decide who finishes second in Division 1 & automatically gets promoted to the Premier while the loser plays Carrig Celtic & the winner of that also gets promoted!
    Personally I think it's an absolute joke, as Carrig finished second last they should be automatically relegated. There was never any mention of this playoff all along & Glin & Kildimo were lead to believe that they'd both be going up, otherwise both teams could have pushed on harder to do a bit better towards the end of the season.
    I'm not suggesting that's it's just been done to help Carrig or to try to keep Glin Rovers down in Division 1 but there's definately some alterior motive to it as I've never heard of it used in the Desmond League before, has anybody else?
    I wonder if Pat King had anything to do with it, not saying he had but I do wonder.

Playoff? WTF? When was all this agreed?
    The story i've heard all along was, that, although Rathkeale B cannot be promoted as winners or runners up, the team or teams directly below them should be promoted in their place i.e. 2nd & 3rd in Division 1! Not once have i ever heard of this play off crap. Kildimo & Glin should be feeling very hard done by... as Crazy Lady said if teams had known this they may have pushed harder towards the end of the season!
    It sets up 2 interseting matches though, must try and make them!
    Alot of remarks about Abbey here too, although some people are posting stupid crap here about them (best team in last 5 years, great ground etc.) they are clearly team of the season; 2 cup finals, Prem champs & last 8 in Munster fair play to them best team throughout the season.

The league PRO has announced on the radio over the past number of weeks that Glin and Kildimo had been promoted so don't see how the league can turn around now and tell those clubs that they have not been promoted. Seems like someone is making up the rules as they go along.

The rules have to be decided beforehand Jumper!?

Talking to a few of the Kildimo lads a while back I thought they were under the impression that 2nd and 3rd get promoted if a B team win or 2nd
    Seems a bit rich to be introducing a playoff now - is this the first time though a B team has been in a position to be promoted into the same division as an A team?!

*** EDIT ***
    Had it confirmed there that they were told with 2 games to go both were promoted and would playoff for 2nd to see who got the medals - seemingly Carrig objected and now the loser plays off with Carrig

Disgraceful from the league!
    Last edited by Langerdan007; 13/05/2015 at 9:40 AM.

Not sure, but think NCW B could have been there or there abouts in Division 1 a couple of seasons ago... someone wiser than me would know the answer to that !

I've said it before and I'll say it again. The Desmond league is more corrupt than FIFA.

The Desmond league put it on their OWN, website, in their gospel (The Observer) and said it on the radio that both Kildimo and Glin were promoted. Kildimo sent half a team to play Rockhill and drew 2v2 because they thought they were already promoted and knew Rathkeale weren't going to slip up twice in their last 2 games. Are they going to be allowed to go back and play that game again?

The rules are quite clear, Two Up and Two Down. They say nothing about a playoff!!

Finally, fair play to Rathkeale B, they had a great season. But aren't a B team supposed to supplement an A team? Rathkeale A (Or West Limerick United as they should be called) had only 9 players recently and the B's have about 9 subs??? After the year they've had, shouldn't the B's be demanding to be the first team in Rathkeale next year?

Disgraceful and very unsporting behaviour from Carrig Celtic. I also have been informed that they lodged an objection & that's why this has come about. They have had 18 games to acquire Premier Division safety and havn't managed to attain it as they've finished 2nd last in the division so if they had any class about them they would have accepted their fate, taken their relegation with a bit of dignity & focused on bouncing back up again next season which I've no doubt they could have done. It leaves a real bad taste going to meeting and pulling one of these "quick one's" when nobody is ready or expecting it. If you can't win it on the field then where's the point in winning it at a meeting. Must say I'm also extremely disappointed at the Desmond League for rolling over to their objection. To change a rule after the season is over is an absolute disgrace. Carric Celtic FC should feel absolutely ashamed of themselves. I'm pretty sure we wouldn't have heard any of this crap from NCW or Killeaney or Athea if they'd been the one's to finish second last. I for 1 hope that both Glin Rovers & Kildimo both go up but I doubt that they will as I think Carrig will be too strong for whoever loses the first game as mentally it can be hard to recover from losing the first game. I think Kildimo could be the one's to miss out, hope not though.

46 Posts
    Carrig are getting slaughtered. They got relegated Sunday. Then all these rumours came out bout a playoff because rathkeale B won division 1 and two teams in second level on points. So carrig simply asked for clarification and confirmation had they been relegated. Only to be told no there's a playoff between whoever loses the second place. Carrig simply asked a question and now this farce and there being made out to be the guilty party

There's the facts lads they put no objection in whatsoever reading the posts on here people need to look at yer league its there decision not carrig celtic.
    Wrong decision IMO but not carrigs
    Last edited by thomas72; 13/05/2015 at 2:34 PM.

if kildimo and glin wer any gud they would have been first and second and not a B team winning division 1

That's true Skyhome but I know Glin havn't trained since Xmas at which time they basically had promotion guaranteed or so they were led to believe by Desmond League officials.
    If Carrig were any good then they wouldn't have finished in the bottom 2 & had to be running to the Desmond League "asking questions" of them. They finished in the bottom 2, therefore should be relegated, no ifs or buts about it.
    They are of no benefit to the Premier Division anyway, with their awful playing surface (worst playing surface in the division) & caveman-like 'Kick & Chase' tactics.

People are very quick to blame Carrig for the playoff situation when they don't even know what's gone on. I know for a fact that Carrig never objected and it was the leagues decision to have a playoff as that is what happens in other leagues. Kildimo should have played for pride at least and sent a full team out to play rockhill. The league is 18 games not 17. All of those people jumping to conclusions need to find out the facts first. I've played Carrig many times and always found them to be honest and sporting and to suggest pat king had anything to do with it is also a disgrace.

About time there was a bit of chat in this forum... gas, that it seems to be only to slate Abbeyfeale & Carrig with a hint of Rathkeale also... LOVE IT!
    This whole play-off thing has put a right dampener on the relegation/ promotion between divisions!
    Ultimately it is the Desmond League who have implemented this & to be fair if I was in Carrigs position i'd have queried it if it meant 'we' had a chance of staying up... why not?
    There's no doubting it will at least provide two entertaining games.

I'd have to agree, why should a third placed team be automatically promoted, I say fair play to league for letting it be sorted out on the field.

Page 32 of 36 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast