Are you serious? No fixtures because of a minor hurling game? thats a joke

I agree fanatic, games are going ahead on the saturday in north tipp league and their in the senior final! A good league needs momentum and this break is unnecessay imo. Any club with issues should have been told to play on saturday, like what happens in schoolboy league

It's really sad about NCW two years ago nearly did the double and now to be in this position. I can't even see them turning up away to Ballingarry the weekend after conceding 16 goals in just 90 mms of football ( Killeaney match called up after 70 mins and Rathkeale after 20 mins ) it's cruel on what I hear is a young team and not helping anyone. I THINK they will have to start again at te bottom of the divisions if they pull out.
    It's fairly terrible alright, at the start of any season you would always have the NCW A team to the fore to win any silverware... & their B team were always challenging too. Shame to see it happening & the pulling of there Youths is a disaster altogether. you at least need to give the young lads a chance to play, why should they suffer!?
    League seems to be wide open alright Broadford, Rathkeale, Abbeyfeale, Rovers & Shannonside all have a great chance this season.
    On the point of having the games off, I agree, shouldn't be a break in fairness, sure in 3 weeks time there will be another break for the FAI competition & you'll probably have the Miunster Junior down on top of that then.
    The GAA Boards wouldn't be so accommodating towards the soccer and that's a fact!

Draw for:

Riedy Cup 1st Round
    Abbeyfeale Utd B V Carrig Celtic B
    Shannonside FC B V Rathkeale B
    Askeaton B V Pallaskenry
    Shountrade V Broadford Utd B
    Feenagh B V Feenagh
    Granagh Utd V Kilcornan
    Ballingarry B V Adare Utd
    Rockhill Rovers V St. Itas
    Breska Rovers V Knockaderry
    Ferry Rangers V Glin Rovers B

Byes for Athea Utd B, Bally Rovers, Creeves Celtic, Glantine, Kildimo Utd, Newcastle West Rovers B

What people think about that?

One of our lads speculated alright last weekend there would be no games as he thought the last time Limerick were in the minor final the same thing happened, I was skeptical at the time.

I agree the GAA boards wouldn't be as accommodating, in fact I think they go out of their way to clash, but I actually think its a good decision. League has started early, we've had a couple Friday games and the likelihood is that the majority of teams would be effected, the league's are well ahead of schedule to my mind so why not let people attend the match without having to let teams/players down.

Playing on the Saturday wouldn't be the same, most ref's do 2 games on Sunday you'd only get half those games played on a Saturday due to number of refs alone, why complicate things?

A blanket call off because of an under 18 hurling match? The GAA having a right laugh at us yet again. Pathetic.

I agree with good shout

Should the desmond league play junior games on saturday . Broadford are home to Castleisland on sunday at 5pm if I am correct. Georgia v Rep of Ireland is on tv around the same time..if it was a earlier kick off they may get a crowd at it.

No, they should play the games on Sunday as is the tradition. The reason they gave for the blanket call off is because of the GAA so thats the reason. The R o I wont have the slightest impact on the attendance at the Broadford United game now if it was Munster playing rugby it would be different as both teams might struggle to field let alone muster a crowd.

Just on the NCW saga, if I were involved in a club that gave the "upset" NCW players a new home I would be very wary, if the committee of their "new and better" club make a percived mis-calculation what do you think they will do?

Quote Originally Posted by Langerdan007 View Post
    Jaysus lads nobody is served by NCW being this bad - no team in any division should be getting bate 10
    Was that even blown early like last week?
    A total shame,with such a tradition and all,time for some of the top boys at the top table to be asked serious questions.
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

Quote Originally Posted by Good Shout View Post
    No, they should play the games on Sunday as is the tradition. The reason they gave for the blanket call off is because of the GAA so thats the reason. The R o I wont have the slightest impact on the attendance at the Broadford United game now if it was Munster playing rugby it would be different as both teams might struggle to field let alone muster a crowd.

Just on the NCW saga, if I were involved in a club that gave the "upset" NCW players a new home I would be very wary, if the committee of their "new and better" club make a percived mis-calculation what do you think they will do?

What do you mean by "percived mis-calculation"??

Percived miscalcuation!

You are hardly blaming the players?

I dont know the ins and outs but it doesnt seem good.

When a club stops listening to players or caring about the players things like this happen. Without the players the club is nothing. If NCW come out of this I hope a lesson was learnt by whoever needed to learn it.

I think there was a meeting tonight to decide the future of NCW afc,hopefully they will keep going as they have been since 1948.

I think its good that we can call of matches for the minor hurling on Sunday just goes to show we are bigger and better than the Gaa and we are not like them biggots and that we are sports people

Anybody know the fixtures for next week

Sunday 14th September
    Munster Football Association League Champions Trophy, 1st Round, (extra time & penalties)

Broadford Utd V Castleisland FC, 2pm

FAI Junior Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
    Glin Rovers V Askeaton 1130
    Old Mill V Abbeyfeale Utd 1130
    Ballingarry V Shannonside FC 1130

Riedy Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
    Abbeyfeale Utd B V Carrig Celtic B 230
    Shannonside FC B V Rathkeale B 230 in Shanagolden
    Askeaton B V Pallaskenry 230
    Shountrade V Broadford Utd B 1130
    Feenagh B V Feenagh 1130
    Granagh Utd V Kilcornan 1130
    Ballingarry B V Adare Utd 230
    Breska Rovers V Knockaderry 1130

Richard Hogan Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
    Kildimo Utd B V Creeves Celtic 230
    Newcastle West Rovers B V St. Itas B 230
    Weekly Observer Premier Division
    Carrig Celtic V Athea Utd 1130
    Killeaney V Rathkeale 1130

Weekly Observer Division 1
    St. Itas V Kildimo Utd in Ashford 1130

Weekly Observer Division 2
    Bally Rovers V Ferry Rangers 230

Weekly Observer Division 3
    Ballysteen V Glantine B 1130
    Last edited by fanaticfan; 07/09/2014 at 9:41 PM.

Shoot your talking rubbish .. The GAA in abbeyfeale always work with soccer to make sure both sides work out ... That's why we'll be desmond cup champions and county senior football champions at the the one time !

were ye not missing some of your GAA players when ye drew with Broadford last Sunday. Fr Casey's and Castleisland Desmonds were playing at the same time down the road. Desmonds won as well. So much for detente in Abbeyfeale methinks....

I didn't know about this so posting in case others don't.

https://www.facebook.com/limerickdes...um?ref=profile

Page 10 of 36 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast