Page 7 of 36 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2014/15

My apologies got the names wrong, Skyhome do you know if they have signed those players that were mentioned earlier on the forum?

Danny Neville & mark Sullivan was on holidays Sunday I hear. Paudie Walsh is home in a weeks time from America. Last years goalkeeper John chawlk was out injured. The two Nash brothers I don't know about them I think they are signing but that cud be just rumors. By all accounts talkin to some of the lads they do have a really strong squad if they can get it rite this year they'll be in wit a big shout

Thanks, there always in with a shout but if those signings come through they will be very strong, Danny Neville surely won't play that man games considering his involvement with Limerick. Shannonside only beat NCW 2:1 which is surprising because they supposedly signed Tony Quaid, Daniel Power and Anthony O Donnell and they were playing a very young NCW team

That's a fact sportsfanatic... Rathkeale always there abouts every year! With regards to Shannonside, those 3 fellas have signed alright but don't think any of them played against their former team. 3 huge additions... also Daniel Power got married recently so he is surely enjoying wedded bliss at the moment!!
    I heard there was a bit of an argument between Ballingarry players after there game with Rathkeale too...!!
    The Desmond League is BACK!!!

When those three come back to play for Shannonside they will be a strong team. Didn't hear about any arguments about Ballingarry players but did hear they were missing 5 starters due to holidays and injury, had a few B's playing. Your right Desmond League is back and this weekends games are big games even though it's so early, looking forward to seeing NCW Rovers against Broadford

Daniel Power played last Sunday, young Andy Brouder pulled off a string of fine saves in the Newcastle goal.

What happened to Ballingarry having to play B players doesn't suprise me, it was bound to happen sometimes. Like past 5-6 years Ballingarry would have been only team around for miles where players could play underage as other Junior clubs around them wouldnt have had underage teams back then. so basically you had a nice few from outside of Ballingarry play with them all through the underage and being very successful and then as soon as they hit 18 they are moving back to their homeclubs leaving Ballingarry short a few. So basically that leaves them down numbers and possibly maybe a bit of lack of good players as maybe they didn't get as much game time as they could have if there hadnt been any people from outside clubs playing up through the underage level

How did NCW play against Shannonside? Was anyone at the game? Perhaps rumours of their demise are greatly exaggerated!!
    Fair play to Andy Brouder, great young fella as well as a great goalkeeper! Hope he has a good year this year.

Sandman11, how can you have the current league champions to lose to NCW Rovers who only came up from Division 1 last season?? Personally I reckon it will be a close match but Broadford will come out on top.
    Abbey & Rathkeale will draw, Athea & Newcastle West will draw, Ballingarry will beat Killeaney & Shannonside will beat Carrig!

ya I don't see Broadford losing either, like they too have also strengthened and have the experience for years of playing against the big teams in the big matches

Fair enough, but just because you sign a few good players it won't automatically translate to winning trophies immediately. Alot of those players, I imagine have never played with each other before, Broadfords players are together for at least 4/5 years now at this stage & they also have proven to be consistant each season...! NCW Rovers will have a say in the league but for this season I think it will be a bit soon to ask for them to be challenging.

Anything can happen in football. I personally think ncw rovers can beat broadford this weekend. Beat some good premier division side last year and will do the same this year. And the players they brought in this summer are gonna make them even better

Quote Originally Posted by sportsfanatic View Post
    My apologies got the names wrong, Skyhome do you know if they have signed those players that were mentioned earlier on the forum?
    Just heard there the two Nash brothers have signed wit rathkeale!!!! Two gud signings there

There was no fighting after the Rathkeale game from Ballingarry players lads, sorry to disappoint.
    As for the fitness comments, season has probably started a few weeks too early for us to be honest, GAA takes it's toll, we were short a nice few and had to line out with 4 lads who were injured, coupled with a few B's as well. However, Rathkeale were short some notable players too, so that's no excuse. 11 on 11.
    It was a physical game and we nearly pulled a draw out of the bag late on which would have been very harsh on Rathkeale who played some great stuff. Think they'll go a long way this year. Good to see them lining out with a strong 7/8 from Rathkeale too.
    We enjoy our soccer up here, same group of lads for years with one of the smallest picks in the division. Sure what else would you be doing on a Sunday morning.
    Anyway, best of luck to all for the season. We'll hopefully see ye in Barretts after our home games for a pint!

Well said Green and Gold, I go to a lot of Desmond League games and a lot of Ballongarry games and iv never seen any Ballingarry players fighting EVER, I was at the Rathkeale game and both teams looked a bit unfit and ye were unlucky to not get a point against who in my personal opinion are favourites for the title. Ballingarry have fantastic people up their involved in the club running it for years, and the facilities are top class. It's obviously just rumours and false info up here but sometimes speculation makes this forum great

Those were the days, the bowl of soup and a few pints after the game. I often remember going home with the gear bag on my back around 11 o clock on a Sunday evening. What are yer best memories lads nearys in ardagh was always a good spot after playing villa

Go out the cork road (towards Drum) take a right at McCoy's bar (previously known as Big Al's) into Woodfield estate, just before 60km signs.
    Go straight down to the bottom, and straight through the roundabout and you're there!!!

Hopefully we'llget a good turn out to see the first league game on our new pitch!!! Been waiting a long long long time for this field.

https://mapsengine.google.com/map/vi...8.k_geiJPXWHtA
    Last edited by walkover; 22/08/2014 at 11:45 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by last man back View Post
    Those were the days, the bowl of soup and a few pints after the game. I often remember going home with the gear bag on my back around 11 o clock on a Sunday evening. What are yer best memories lads nearys in ardagh was always a good spot after playing villa
    I'm not that old but its a good few years since teams kinda stopped going to the local after the game - when I started out I always thought twas a great tradition but seemed to just die off a bit which is disappointing, Athea B's still go to Brown Joes, Knocka usually go to Hanleys we obviously go to the Coach still but my best memory is going to a 2.30 KO in Killlaney, Chelsea-v-United 4 o clock KO, Darren Fletcher looping header winner, closing time leaving the Knockdown Arms, madness!!!

Rovers 4 broadford 0
    Abbey 3 rathkeale 1

Page 7 of 36 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast