Thread: Harps

220 Posts

Harps

Harps this weekend. Not overly confident on getting the three points required to keep pressure on Shels as our record isn't great up there. Won't be able to make it cos of work commitments. Be a long two weeks if we drop points before the summer break.

2,446 Posts
    We met ye during a very poor dip in form earlier in the season in CCS. Players are a lot more confident and playing a bit better football now, and a couple of wins under the belt in recent weeks have helped matters greatly as well as a couple of good draws along the way.

Safe money on a low scoring draw if you ask me. Reckon 1-1.

say it will be a tight game too, lads should be in good form after the el clasico, going to go a 1-0 town win but realistically see it as a 0-0 draw
    I think Smithers picked me because of my motivational skills.
    Everyone says they have to work a lot harder when I'm around.

1,101 Posts
    What's the mood like in the dressing room Mister X?

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    What's the mood like in the dressing room Mister X?
    everyone seems to be up for it, talk of two new players to come in during the break

Who's the longest in the shower?
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

860 Posts
    These are always dire games so expecting a drab 0-0 draw but something in the back of my mind tells me Davy o Sullivan will grab his 2 goals to level the record and win us the game. C'mon de town!

49 Posts
    Brilliant, great result, hats off to Glen O' Connor, can't believe I'm writing that, but credit where it's due

1,101 Posts
    Good win tonight we always struggle up there. Yet another clean sheet too. Shels slipping up was a nice bonus. Big game v Galway next time out, but we shouldn't be afraid of anyone with our team.

I see Conor O'Brien's registration has gone through now too by the way, he was on the bench tonight. Hopefully he can give us another option in the midfield. I remember an early pre-season interview with Willie Tyrrell where he reckoned O'Brien was the most impressive of the new players in training.
    Last edited by Longfordian; 13/06/2014 at 10:04 PM.

2,446 Posts
    Desperate game between two absolutely awful teams. Tyrrell can count himself very lucky not to have been sent off, and Tony Cousins knew it by taking him off very quickly after his last talking to by the ref.

Harps didn't create a single chance. Longford had a couple of half chances. Free kick was poorly given away, but while the ball was cooly slotted into the top corner, another keeper would have simply walked across and caught it such was the speed it was hit at. At 6'8, Conor Winn should be absolutely booted around a football pitch until he learns to dive for a ball. Shocking excuse for a goalkeeper.

Town largely bossed centre midfield, partly due to Pat McCann having a stinker for Harps. Davy O'Sullivan barely had a sniff at goal apart from a couple of half chances, including one snap shot on the turn from just inside the box in the first half. Nkololo had a bit of joy with his pace but had no end product.

On that performance, expect another long season for Harps and Longford.

1,101 Posts
    Given that Nkololo didn't play according to extratime I'm not sure we should be relying on your report nigel! Is it you or extratime that's falling into the old "they all look the same" trap?!

2,446 Posts
    Oh dear. Egg on the face moment. It was Don Cowan. I missed the team announcements at the start of the game and someone told me it was Nkololo. Given the fact I couldn't name half the Longford team by looking at them, I guess I could be forgiven

1,101 Posts
    My friend is the racist lads not me, honest

220 Posts
    So two differing reports from two Harps fans! I don't know who to believe! Considering we have a bad record up there, playing awful and getting 3 points.....I'll take that.

1,101 Posts
    Any time I've been up there we've been shocking and I'm struggling to recall us ever winning by more than a goal. Same with Waterford, we never seem to play well there either so to come away with six points in those two games is good going. Decent unbeaten run coming together and a lot of clean sheets. Credit where it's due Paul Hunt has hardly let in a goal since he got in. Not saying it's all down to him and I'm sure he wouldn't either but as a unit the defence is very tight at present. Nice to see Jamie Mulhall keeping his place too. Cracking player.

[QUOTE=Longfordian;1759835]Credit where it's due Paul Hunt has hardly let in a goal since he got in. /QUOTE]

considering he hasent had to pull off any great saves..
    our back four really are saving us! hope TC brings in a striker as we need to start capitalizing on the chances we are creating, take away sully and nobody else has scored two or more goals for us in the league, you can go with the argument that shaw/hynes ect are creating the chances but we now have played 13 league games and between the pair of them shaw has scored just one, this simply is not good enough imo! just to put that into perspective ,glen o conner now has the same amount of goals as shaw and has scored more than hynes!

2,446 Posts
    Hunt didn't have a shot to save all night. He picked up a couple of balls in the air well though, but couldn't judge him at all on last nights performance.

There's about 15 differing reports from last nights game from Harps fans. I've heard people saying we should have got something out of it, which is mental considering how bad we were.

Couple of Longford players said after the game were saying they were all set for a point, and were happy to be getting a point because Harps are a tough and rugged side to play and tough to break down.

Neither side look capable of promotion in my view. Galway and Shelbourne are miles better, for sheer tactical preparation going into games. Town side is full of journeymen there for the wage packet, while inept tactics continue to play havoc with a side that should, in theory, be walking away with the league.
    Harps lack a midfield, something the board know, and something the manager knows, but are unable to fix without the money, which at this point in time, is not in any sort of supply.

It's very disappointing really as that game had all the hallmarks of being a good one.

Its always good to come back from north of the wall with everyone intact after beating the wildlings.

220 Posts
    Just going from last year whenever ye were beaten by Athlone, they were useless in your eyes even though they beat ye 4 times (I think) and won promotion. Now we've beaten ye twice this season (rare as that is in recent seasons) and we're useless!! Fair enough we haven't been playing fantastic stuff and more times than not our manager seems to be out of his dept, but to claim it's going to be a long season for us when we're two points off top with a game in hand is ludicrous!!!

1,101 Posts
    Here's the goal from last night. Cracking strike not sure there was a lot the keeper could do to be honest.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?sto...35987519826131