Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cork V Derry

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    as Derry will come and play for the 0-0 I'd say so if we can catch them out and get one or two we'll win the game because I can't see them scoring.
    I dunno, the Derry guys have been saying that Kenny is blooding in a few young fellas, and have been playing quite nicely of late. I doubt they will be playing for a draw.

If anything I reckon this could be a huge banana skin, but am confident of a 3-1 victory with Gamble finally getting off the mark.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    I dunno, the Derry guys have been saying that Kenny is blooding in a few young fellas, and have been playing quite nicely of late. I doubt they will be playing for a draw.
    Maybe you're right. I suppose considering they can't get relegated but can't qualify for Europe either they might come and have a go because they'll have nothing to lose.
    However, I still reckon they'd be delighted to leave the Cross with a point tonight.
    Champions!

However, I still reckon they'd be delighted to leave the Cross with a point tonight.
    they might, i certainly wont be happy with a point.
    were goin to win the leauge,........................................... .
    First Division Champions

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    If anything I reckon this could be a huge banana skin
    Hate to say this, but I have a bad feeling about this one.
    Its going to be hard for the team to lift themselves again, especially after last week.

Don't be such a spoil sport Sean!

Who take any notice of silly laws like that?!!

Guerzy certainly doesn't! And as for What Biy,

no need to worry about what biy. hes off the drink for november along with jack and daniel

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    no need to worry about what biy. hes off the drink for november along with jack and daniel
    I still wouldn't trust him, he's a dodgy character. Himself and Guerzy are a bad influence on each other.
    On the other hand myself and theCorner are both fine upstanding members of the community!
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Hate to say this, but I have a bad feeling about this one.
    Its going to be hard for the team to lift themselves again, especially after last week.
    ffs 4 games to go and can still win the leauge what more motivation does the team need.
    First Division Champions

It'll be an open game. Derry will have a real go I think especially with them being safe. They can play freely and go for it....Hopefully the crowd will be up for it...I have no doubt the players will be...

1-1, city were lucky to draw after such a poor performance, it was a definate penalty though. Derry played some nice football at times, very good goal.

Lopes showed some nice skill on the ball, one to watch.

lads in fairness, i thought half the team looked shattered,its been a long hard season and i think its taken its toll on some players but i think its time to refresh things on monday night,

monday should see maybe s oflynn given a start,maybe fenn, i dunno but its time to refresh IMO
    Cork City F.C. the envy of the EL

Quote Originally Posted by yan
    lads in fairness, i thought half the team looked shattered,its been a long hard season and i think its taken its toll on some players but i think its time to refresh things on monday night,

monday should see maybe s oflynn given a start,maybe fenn, i dunno but its time to refresh IMO
    I thought John O'Flynn and George were just crap tonight. I hope Steve O'Flynn gets his game on Monday. I don't understand why Dolan doesn't change the team around from time to time. Monday night is just a must win game. If we don't the Uefa Cup spot is in trouble.

Thought the lads looked very tired tonight,never seen gamble play so many sloppy passes.Its kinda ironic though that they played so badly,tonight was the first game in ages that they had a week to prepare for!Think the changes worked well tonight,lopes looks like a very handy player,nice skill.
    "They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson

Quote Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
    I thought John O'Flynn and George were just crap tonight. I hope Steve O'Flynn gets his game on Monday. I don't understand why Dolan doesn't change the team around from time to time. Monday night is just a must win game. If we don't the Uefa Cup spot is in trouble.
    yes..the uefa cup spot is in trouble...............so get up there next friday or were u on the bandwagon

and dont bother slating flynny and georgie..............
    do u want them to win games on their own

I thought we were terrible last night. Nobody except Gamble played well. O'Halloran and Horgan both were very very disappointing.

Derry impressed me though. Kenny seems to be doing a very good job with them.

Pity the football was so bad last night as there was a very big crowd.

Approaching 7000 last night ? Another class interview between Pat and Con on the radio last night.

126 Posts
    thecorner wrote: "yes..the uefa cup spot is in trouble...............so get up there next friday or were u on the bandwagon

and dont bother slating flynny and georgie..............
    do u want them to win games on their own"

Personally I'll be there cheering the team on anyway!

And what the fu*k are you on about with Georgie and Flynny??? George was a disgrace, terrible. Flynny was below par.

Lopes looked good... skillful and dangerous. I'd like to see him getting in ahead of GO'C on Monday.

To say George was a disgrace is harsh, but he certainly had a poor game.

Apart from Dan Murray, I thought the starting XI was quite poor. No one really seemed to have any rhythm, never really got into the game.

Lopes did very well when he came on, and it was good to see Dolan make an early substitution. Fenn was excellent when he came on. Hope to see him more often.

Fair play to Conor O Grady, played very well, and showed some class after his excellent goal. He actually seemed to apologise after scoring it. Mr Ollie Cahill could learn a lesson or two. Also fair play to those in the Shed who gave a small rendition of "O Grady Oh Oh" as he was going off.

Not much else to say really other than it was a dissapointing performance, but at least CCFC didnt lose.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

woods impressed me last night, he put insome good ball into the box with both feet, unlucky not to score when his shot was cleared off the line. murray had his best game in yonks, played well and his positioning last night was quite impressive. give him a contract i say. other than that, we weren't great, but as daveh said, we looked knackered. Monday will tell a lot
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ruairi
    woods impressed me last night, he put insome good ball into the box with both feet, unlucky not to score when his shot was cleared off the line. murray had his best game in yonks, played well and his positioning last night was quite impressive. give him a contract i say. other than that, we weren't great, but as daveh said, we looked knackered. Monday will tell a lot
    Ah now - i dont think woods was our worst player last night but i'm fairly sure that neither him or Kearney put a decent cross into the box all night in fairness. I cant remember i single decent cross in the whole of the second half from CCFC. Woods in fairness got into some excellent positions but his delivery was poor for the most part.

I think people are being hard on the team saying that so and so was terrible etc. the main problem for City in games like this is a lack of urgency in the opening period of games - i mean in the last 15/20 minutes they were frenzied trying to retrieve ball, taking quick throw in's etc. thats the attitude you should have from the start when you are playing at home. We dont take the game to the opposition enough at times - i mean take last Fridays game as an example - City really took the initative from the word go and played well as a result. You cant turn form on or off you need to establish your rhytem and tempo as early as possible and take the game to the opposition as soon as you can. i think city too often wait for the crowd at Turners Cross to establish an atmosphere when in reality all good atmospheres are created on the pitch.The last Shelbourne game at home is a great example of City waiting for something to happen instead of making it happen. last night we made an ordinary enough Derry team look very good by letting them play a bit.
    I dunno its just an alternative opinion rather than saying this guy was rubish and i was disappointed with another guy.
    Last edited by Real ale Madrid; 06/11/2004 at 12:59 PM.

Played sh1T for 75 minutes and managed to get a draw out of it which we just about deserved imo,barely deserved.

Nice big crowd and it was a pity the game wasn't a better spectacle,but Games with Derry are never gonna be 3-2 or 4-4.

Special mention to Conor O for being such as a class act,looked like his team mate was comforting him after he scored into the shed,head down,shoulders slumped,I thought the ref hadn't given the goal for a second.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

Quote Originally Posted by anti dub
    And what the fu*k are you on about with Georgie and Flynny??? George was a disgrace, terrible. Flynny was below par.

what the fcuk am i on about... im on about the fcuking likes of you...always waiting with your fcuking knives out waiting for georgie to slip up... what the fcuk do you want... 10/10 performances every week

if he was doing that, he'd probably hace about 30 caps and playing for real madrid

get a fcuking life

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast