Lopes did well, but Georges poor game last night was probably a blip, and should start again Monday.Originally Posted by razor
Theres no need to be so defensive, George had a poor game and was rightly subbed on the hour, Lopes played well when he came on and probably deserves to keep his place for Monday night.Originally Posted by thecorner
Lopes did well, but Georges poor game last night was probably a blip, and should start again Monday.Originally Posted by razor
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
Originally Posted by razor
not on the defencive, yes george did have a poor game but to say he was a disgrace(anti dub) is just plain stupid
if people have a bad game now, they are a disgrace is it
I think George is a good player, BUT not as good as ye say he his. He's had alot of bad games this season. He should pass it more and stop showing off until the game is over as a contest. City really need to bring in new players to the team. Dolan picks the same 11 far too often.
Which is obviously a silly thing to be doing when you haven't lost for 9 gamesOriginally Posted by Rebal Boy
Admittedly, he can be reluctant to change things at times, but consistency is the best thing for a team.
Lopes did ok but any other time I've seen him he's been shocking.Originally Posted by razor
No matter how well he did there's no way he should start ahead of Georgie. Georgie is undroppable!
Champions!
Quite. The guy's a living legend. The only reason we all get so worked up/defensive over him is because we love the guy so much. He loves the club, and the only reason anyone notices his bad games is beacuse he has set such a high standard to play by normally.Originally Posted by Colm
I try not to get emotionally attached to any particular player, I mean they all move on at some stage and where does that leave ya.Originally Posted by jofyisgod
While I think George is an extremely talented player I believe we have never really seen what he is fully capable of.
I mean he has never really set the League on fire to the extent that there has been interest from across the water, like Flynny did, but I suppose theres time enough for that yet.
No player is undroppable, I think thats already been proven by Dolan with respect to Georgie.
Originally Posted by razor
what about nantes![]()
I suppose if it were every week, he would then be undroppable.Originally Posted by thecorner
I really cant understand why people single him out. Fair play for putting up with the abuse. (you just know that if it were most players, they'd be looking to high tail it outta there, and you couldn't blame them either when most of it is undeserved) ..... i cant believe we are having another thread about Georgie
just for the record ....
Rebal boy started the Georgie abuse
Followed on by anti dub
This is not name and shame ... just wanna see is there a trend.
Er, what game were you watching? Woods, in my humble opinion, was awful. He didn't put one decent cross in all night. I've been racking my brain to think of the best player and I honestly can't think of one that stands out. Can anyone help me out?Originally Posted by Ruairi
No, we weren't great, we were dire.
Before you all have a go, this is just my opinion, ok? Good!![]()
What are you trying to say Face?? That I'm somehow copying the thoughts of someone who can't even spell Rebel???
BTW, I would NOT regard myself as a 'blame george' bandwagon jumper, Ididn't think anyone had a great game and many of them were actually quite bad! In the heat of the moment (I was pretty ****ed after seeing us only get 1 point and ruin our title aspirations) I made a throwaway remark about George. Is he the easy target? MAYBE! I wholeheartedly apologize for singling a player out, but no one can say he played well that's for sure.
btw Here is my team rating:
Mick - 7/10
Hoggie - 7/10
Benno - 7/10
Captain Supremo - 8/10
Greg - 6/10
Liam - 6.5/10
Joe - 7/10
Georgie - 6/10
Woodsie - 8/10
Doyler - 6.5/10
Flynny - 7/10
Originally Posted by anti dub
No I'm being serious, he played better than I've seen him in yonks, usually he'd be the last guy I'd give that sort of rating to.
i wouldnt exactly go round calling him captain supremo![]()
Well that's what I'll always call him even when he's not playing very well, it's more a nick than anything else.
After the run of 7 wins, the draw against $hels was a huge downer for the team. That game was the big one, and coming away from Tolka without a win, especially having deserved 3 points, was a psycological blow to the players. Most if not all of the team would feel that the title chance was gone, and I reckon most of the team would have found it very hard to get the same sense of intensity into their game for Friday night. They looked tired, off the pace and faced with a massed defence, a flat performance was inevitable.Originally Posted by patsh
The result in Flancare last night, and the fact that they, hopefully, got a poor performance out of their system, should mean a fresher, more up for it attitude tomorrow night.
We need the 3 points becuase both Drogs & Bohs can still catch us. Beating Drogs tomorrow night puts them out of the running for 2nd, but they will still be fighting for 3rd on Friday night.
Pat Dolan has a big job to do today and tomorrow. Pick the right team, make a change if he feels its needed and get the players heads switched on and focused.
WE have a major job tomorrow night. The atmosphere was down on Friday, and we need high intensity and loud support from the start tomorrow.
Totally agreed .... All our games are big ones now .... 2nd and 3rd are still there for three teams, if we get 6 points from all three then that would be a great result, but that is a huge task, considering both the teams involved.Originally Posted by patsh
Originally Posted by patsh
The Atmosphere was shocking on Friday night with only the same old heads trying again. Some people will only join in when we're winning 2-0 or more....its fucin terrible....We need to get the atmosphere going right from the start tonite.. the Players need our support and if we can gee them up any bit then we have to try....
and agree completely with what Gary said about Conor O'Grady, the man showed class. As did the shed when he went off......
First of all, thanks to all the lads for the hospitality shown as usual in the Horseshoe before the game. Had another great weekend down there, made it home to Derry at 8.30pm last night.
Im not going to go into detail about the game as the first half in particular was desperate to watch. Both sides were poor in my opinion although the ref constantly blew the fecking whistle at every available moment. I actually missed the O'Grady goal as I was in conversation with 2 Cork lads about the possibility of you lot playing Linfield in the Horseshoe and didnt realise it was almost 10 minutes into the 2nd half !!!
I was standing right at the end of the Stand near the penalty decision and thought our keeper had minimal contact if any with the Cork player. In saying that a draw was a pretty fair result from what i seen. I do think we edged the game in passing but I was also fecked off with the performance of a number of our players on the night. If any of you are wondering about the time spent around Hutton as he went down, he had to get a number of stitches after the game.
Thought your shed made a good effort at making noise, pity about the rest of the stands although we have the same problem, 3/4 of our supporters dont open their mouths either.
Good luck with the remainder of the season !
Housty
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach