Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Baraclough gone

433 Posts
    I'm very surprised to hear this news tbh.Have too speculate whether he went by his own resignation or was pushed?(my money being on by his own hand)His record is as good as you can get in LOI.Can't see why Sligs have done this at this moment in time?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

151 Posts
    Roddy Collins and Seanie Connor is our dream ticket.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Roddy Collins and Seanie Connor is our dream ticket.
    Could you not find a role for Croly in there? Maybe as attacking coach, he's good on that.

22 Posts
    Until The Last Rebel!

136 Posts
    Utterly crazy decision by Sligo.

Nothing in that to say they've even spoken to him. If there's a shortlist then that means there are others that the article doesn't even mention. All speculation that.

Fenlon
    Glenn Roeder
    Roddy
    Cooke
    Roy Hodgson
    ????

399 Posts
    Fenlon is in a great position at the minute, he can just sit there and wait (within limits) for the job he fancies. He already turned down Linfield, but I can't see him moving to Sligo mid season and in their current form, with only EL to get anyway excited about. Now I could be wrong, and he might fancy the challenge, but I'd say he would be more interested in a job like this to start fresh pre season and with his own players.

Whoever takes it could be in for a long 4 months of the domestic front, could be a tough one to sell. This makes the timing of the change in management team even more strange.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    Fenlon
    Glenn Roeder
    Roddy
    Cooke
    Roy Hodgson
    ????
    Tony Cousins

1,553 Posts
    I hear there's a two for one deal available on Roddy Collins.

151 Posts
    Looks like John Coleman will be taking over. Cookie played for him at Accy ans was coach when they took the team into the league. Was since with Rochdale and Southport but wait for it - sacked by Southport as his antics on the line with officials was unbecoming for a family club. Let the craic begin.....................

46 Posts
    Is it just me who think Baraclough is not a good manager, any half decent manager would have won the trophies Sligo have won & Possibly more trophies, as all the hard work was done by Cooke & Sligo had the best squad when they won the league

101 Posts
    He was a dead man walking, he inherited a good squad, inevitably you loose players, but his signings to replace them were poor, we are 17 points off the top with only half the season gone, dumped from the cup and 9 points off 4th place, the Setanta though we won it is a Mickey mouse trophy, and to cap it all we are playing a tedious brand of football. I expected he would see out the season as a lame duck as we have nothing left to play for domestically but either he or the club were not happy with that scenario, my feeling is that he was pushed because earlier in the season it appeared that the worse we played, and the worse the results the happier he said he was, furthermore Stevens coaching regime seemed to get more players injured than competitive football.

1,553 Posts
    There's many a manager that has inherited a good squad and done feck all with it- Baraclough's trophies deserve respect regardless of the club's situation he inherited.

The only people surprised by Baraclough's sacking is non-Rovers fans. Rovers weren't playing well for a good part of last season and all of this season. Winning the cup saved Baraclough's job last season, and even in that we only played well for the final 20mins. His football was very negative, which is acceptable if you're getting results but we weren't anymore. The season being over by early June is not acceptable for the budget we have and his signings weren't good enough. I feel sorry it had to end like this as he was our most successful manager ever but his time was up. Hopefully Coleman can get rid of the deadwood and bring in some good players to get us going again for next season, but possibly even clinch a European spot this season.

A sligo supporter here in work is saying that Keith Curle is to be interviewed for the position? Don't know how true it is?

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    A sligo supporter here in work is saying that Keith Curle is to be interviewed for the position? Don't know how true it is?
    I am apalled by the suggesttion that the words 'a Sligo supporter' and 'work' should appear in the same sentence. Tell that man that supporting The BitoRed is a full time job. Also tell him that he is as likely to be interviewed for the job as Keith Curle. John Coleman it is.

23. Thanks From:

In the end I think it all went a bit flat for Baraclough and Stevens. He couldn't seem to get the players playing for him anymore and the players he did bring in were ultimately worse than those he let go.

He may have been restricted though by a reduced budget and the positive spin he put on the likes of Odhiambo came back to haunt him. To be fair to him he never once used the reduced budget as an excuse or spat the dummy about it. He himself might regret not doing just that and leaving on a high after the cup win last year.

From what I've seen of the man he is a gentleman and as always when things go pear shaped, he was let down by the players to a large degree. Injuries were a big issue this year too but from around the middle of last season it had become obvious that the style aspect wasn't something he would bring to the team. As Sligoman says if you are winning this is not a problem but often it appeared that the object was not to lose and that started to unravel.

I will always be grateful to him for bringing a league title to the club, which had been starved of success for too long. It's a big call to sack him and if the idea is to bring in some dead duck manager until the end of the season we could see things gets lot worse.

231 Posts
    Ultimateyl he either tolerated or was too weak to take on the boozing culture in the Sligo squuad. Any new manager will need to remind many of the senior players that they are paid as full time professionals.If the new manager doesnt clear out half a doxzen of them ,Sligo woll be struglling in the bottom half of the league next season with crowds of 1500.

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Ultimateyl he either tolerated or was too weak to take on the boozing culture in the Sligo squuad. Any new manager will need to remind many of the senior players that they are paid as full time professionals.If the new manager doesnt clear out half a doxzen of them ,Sligo woll be struglling in the bottom half of the league next season with crowds of 1500.
    Where the F does this notion come from?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast