Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Matches 13 June

398 Posts
    So Fahey is now TELLING the manager when HE wants to play.

This is just unbelievable. I had my reservations that he was disrupting the Pats MF system a little when he joined, this is just priceless if its true.

On the match itself, I didnt realise just how close Massey was from scoring in the 2nd minute, still think a draw was probably a fair result.

Also the pitch was a nice shade of green too I thought.

City Rebel, dont you be worrying about it for now, but do remember where your last league game of the season is on.
    Last edited by oriel; 17/06/2014 at 2:43 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Might as well dust off the Queen CD now lads, the wheels are coming off at Richer.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post

This is just unbelievable. I had my reservations that he was disrupting the Pats MF system a little when he joined, this is just priceless if its true.

On the match itself, I didnt realise just how close Massey was from scoring in the 2nd minute, still think a draw was probably a fair result.

City Rebel, dont you be worrying about it for now, but do remember where your last league game of the season is.
    Where we play the last league game of the season is of no concern to us, we have to deal with each fixture as it comes.

445 Posts

City Rebel, dont you be worrying about it for now, but do remember where your last league game of the season is on.
    Other way around, Fahey wanted to play Bucko's final say to leave him out.
    Here on a technicality.

On the match itself, I didnt realise just how close Massey was from scoring in the 2nd minute,
    TV didn't show it but the lino was flagging for offside at the time

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    ssssshhh you. let them run riot with this one and believe it is total anarchy in Inchicore

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    This just shows Dundalk are a good team (apart from chiris shields obviously)
    Has won our player of the month for two out of the three months and has won around six or seven man of the match awards. Has been outstanding for us this season and I wouldn't be surprised if he is the first player we lose to the UK.

38 Posts
    Lads, Fahey doesn't fancy it anymore. I've been telling yiz that since he signed. Get that man a medic, because he's shot.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    John Caulfield said he wouldn't play Colin Healy at Oriel Park either due to injury concerns.
    Apart from Brian Lenihan and Rob Lehane NONE of the Cork team played in Oriel on the last visit

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    It's just terrible the way poor Liam Buckley got confused about that in his post-match interviews
    A dogged 90 minutes saw both sides struggle to break each other down and, speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that Keith Fahey turned down the chance to play because of the pitch - said the artificial surface was a big factor in the game ending scoreless.
    Clearly Fahey was in the saddle for this one!

1,550 Posts
    Would imagine it went something like this:
    Buckley: You appear to be nearing fitness- would you be comfortable playing at Oriel?
    Fahy: Raring to go boss, but not 100% yet and I'd be nervous about a relapse on that particular pitch.
    Buckley: Not worth the risk then, we'll leave it.

A manager trusting a senior player. It could be argued it's a healthy thing, not some mad anarchist tendency that will surely see Richmond Park burned to the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Buckley: You appear to be nearing fitness- would you be comfortable playing at Oriel?
    Fahy: Raring to go boss, but not 100% yet and I'd be nervous about a relapse on that particular pitch.

A manager trusting a senior player. It could be argued it's a healthy thing, not some mad anarchist tendency that will surely see Richmond Park burned to the ground.
    Get out of here with your logic and common sense.

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post

Here is how the interview with Buckley went:

Speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that Keith Fahey turned down the chance to play because of the pitch - said the artificial surface was a big factor in the game ending scoreless.
    Here is what he could have said

Speaking afterwards, Buckley - who revealed that he left Keith Fahey out as he was not yet fully fit - said the artificial surface was a big factor in the game ending scoreless
    There is a hundred ways he could have said it that indicated it was Buckley who was the decision maker

415 Posts
    There's no actual direct quote of him saying that Fahey turned down the chance to play though is there? They have plenty of other quotes from him.

That Foran / McMillan incident was quite funny I thought. Pepe and Muller must have been watching it before their game yesterday.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    That Foran / McMillan incident was quite funny I thought. Pepe and Muller must have been watching it before their game yesterday.
    Foran feigned injury to his face twice in a matter of seconds. McMillan was foolish to raise his hand.

Kenny said he remonstrated with him because he knew Foran. He didn't know him well enough.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    Ye should be told to feck off and join the Mickey Mouse 5-a-side astro league until ye get a real football pitch.
    Maybe we'll ask the MDL to supply us with one, and a few stands to go with it! We quite like the Mickey mouse 11-a-side league we play in now

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Kenny Browne said it was a disgrace too and he was pretty much foot perfect throughout the game.
    As per my signature I would much prefer if we played on grass, but we have an artificial surface that has been approved to play two rounds in the Europa League, so that's pretty much the highest approval you can get in these parts.

I'm not a huge fan of it but it has improved this season, and it's certainly not anywhere as bad as some people on here make out.
    These comments by Browne are just another example of lazy excuses, the same by the Cork lads saying Colin Healy won't play there, and then the Fahey thing, a player telling his manager when he wants to play.

You can be quite sure if it was a league decider these guys would make themselves available.

As for Kenny Browne, eh you are playing LOI kid, not at the World Cup.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

222 Posts
    This is hilarious. I never realised Dundalk were playing against a series of second string teams in recent years.

I hope we keep this pitch as long as possible. Whatever about actual benefits on the pitch, there is clearly a psychological barrier built up to it through the incessant negative coverage from managers and pundits and this is an advantage I'll gladly hold on to!

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Might as well dust off the Queen CD now lads, the wheels are coming off at Richer.
    How does a Queen CD wind up gathering dust? That's the real conundrum here.

23. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast