Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Rooney Resigns

522 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc
    He's only been in the job 18 months. What improvements have been made that might be down to him? If you can offer more than conjecture then I can be persuaded that he has been a factor in the modest - not massive - growth that the eircom League has seen in the last 18 months. But without hard facts, or even soft facts, it's hard to make this assertion.
    As you're no doubt aware I'm no expert, although drummerboy's post seems a pretty good roundup. The only yardstick I have to measure success or failure is Foot.ie, which has grown dramatically in the past year or so, both in terms of the number of users and posts, and, more significantly, the quality of discussion. I feel strongly that Rooney's leadership of the FAI has been a major factor in this growth, and I reckon my interest in the ongoing success of Foot.ie gives me a pretty good inducement not to support him just for the sake of supporting him. This is the man that agreed to an interview with Foot.ie and later brushed it aside, remember, so I have no particular affection for him.

(If you're reading Fran, we'd still be happy to interview you, under the same terms. Just let me know and I'll open the floor to our members. You won't get many opportunities to skip the media filters and tell your side of the story direct to the public like this.)

[size=1]* I can't believe I said that, but yes, it's true. The noise has risen, but in a lower proportion to the signal. Which is nice.[/size]
    Last edited by dahamsta; 03/11/2004 at 6:54 PM.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    As someone who is deeply involved with my local club, I am sick to the pit of my stomach with this news. At a time when football is more popular now than ever before, clubs thriving in the heart of GAAland, the parent body (FAI) is controlled by a bunch of self-centred individuals who are so concerned about their position that they will destroy anybody who tries to change the status quo. All this at the expense of the ordinary schoolboy, junior, intermediate and most El clubs. This is not a democratic organisation. While Rooney was obviously a bit rough at the edges, he did try to change things, run things more professionally. Not looking forward to see who Delaney will select as his puppet.

Delaney will elect himself. Did anyone read John O'Briens article in the Sunday Times last Sunday.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias
    people are slating delaney here..Have I missed something..IMO Delaney is one of the good guys its the muppets like Corcoran etc that need the chop..at least delaney wants to implement genesis...sorry to see rooney go thouigh

This is the man who jumps from one camp to the other. With friends like him, who needs enemies.

---and here it is.
    Taken from the Sunday Times.
    October 31, 2004

Meet the most powerful figure in Irish football
    JOHN O'BRIEN
    After a high-profile period, FAI treasurer John Delaney has retreated into the shadows, but he is as influential as ever

Even by their own exalted standards, it has been a strange week in the life of the Football Association of Ireland. When Fran Rooney stood to address the gathering at the AUL’s centenary celebrations last Saturday, it was the chief executive’s first opportunity to gauge public feeling since the storm about his leadership had erupted. They gave him a standing ovation. When FAI president Milo Corcoran, one of Rooney’s accusers, followed, the audience stayed firmly in their seats.
    And so the week has gone, taking a turn nobody could have foreseen seven days ago when the rap sheet against Rooney seemed to be stretching longer than a Roy Keane stare. Supporters’ websites filled up with hotchpotch plans to stage protests in favour of Rooney. The great and the good called Liveline, that fine barometer of national feeling, to voice their outrage at the treatment of him. Hound hasn’t quite become hare but the angle has shifted and people have been shifting uneasily with it.

What is most intriguing is not those who have joined the campaign to oust Rooney — minions and humble footmen at best — but those whose names have been conspicuous by their absence. The farcical sub-committee established by the national council on Friday merely added another list of puppets to the central casting. Offstage, where the main plot unfolds, the masters can spin away to their heart’s content.

And in the forums and bar-stool discussions of Irish football, one name looms large when the FAI enters the arena: John Delaney, FAI treasurer and son of Joe. Nothing has intrigued more about the present brouhaha than the lack of any public statement from the man who, during the bitter Eircom Park feud, was known for leaving meetings at divisive moments to take calls from radio stations. Over these past few weeks Delaney’s silence has been positively deafening.

Delaney has been a controversial figure since he joined the board of management in 1999, the son of a controversial father. Just 31 when he succeeded the late Dr Tony O’Neill, Delaney showed a particular aptitude to steer a path through the murky world of FAI politics, though his rise has been seen by many as too swift, too relentless. His first years alone encompassed the demise of two chief executives and the shelving of two projects to build a stadium. Since then he has witnessed more bloodletting than a Spanish corrida.

What rankles many is this: for 15 of the last 20 years a Delaney has controlled the purse strings of the FAI and in an organisation where finance has always been a testy subject, that constitutes an endless source of acrimony. Moreover, whenever blood has been routinely spilled in that time the one common denominator has always been the name of Delaney. Only once — in the infamous Merriongate scandal of 1996 — has the family taken a bullet.

In his own rise to power, Delaney has never hidden the fact that his zeal is driven to a large extent by the perceived injustice he feels was done to his father. Joe resigned because a shortfall in excess of IR£100,000 was uncovered from ticket revenue from the 1994 World Cup. Delaney paid back the deficit from his own pocket, but it didn’t save his position.

“I’ve no problem in saying my dad was harshly treated,” Delaney wrote in this newspaper in 2000. “Perhaps I’m biased, but even though he sinned, the FAI didn’t lose a single penny, while others, who committed far more serious crimes, escaped with more lenient penalties.”

It is an attitude — not the sinning, but the level of it — that has brought Delaney far but also into a number of scrapes. Along with John Byrne, a former director of Galway United, it was Delaney who took the fight to Bernard O’Byrne during the Eircom Park saga and when Brendan Menton, the beneficiary of that struggle, failed to cut the ice as general secretary it was Delaney, as the main mover behind the establishment of Genesis, who saw him off as well.

Back then Delaney’s stock — as well as his ego — was soaring. While Menton dithered over the row that saw Roy Keane leave Saipan, Delaney took matters in hand thousands of miles away in Dublin. In daily press conferences from Merrion Square and in liaisons with Keane’s agent, Michael Kennedy, it seemed Delaney was in charge, which in effect he was, and he savoured the media profile it bestowed upon him.

Not that he was invincible, though. That was merely the impression Delaney gave. In 2002, when Des Casey was retiring as FAI honorary secretary, the campaign to appoint his successor was keenly fought. Delaney threw his weight behind Cobh chairman Michael Cody while his rival, Kevin Fahy, had the backing of Louis Kilcoyne, an old adversary of Delaney’s father. Cody was regarded as the odds-on favourite but Delaney was out-foxed and Fahy claimed the prize.

It was subsequently avenged, however. If you want to gain a handle on the ducking and diving that constitutes football administration, the Fahy situation is a neat entry point. After the Genesis findings were made public and the association plunged into flux, Fahy was one of those who publicly supported Rooney and the process of change.

At that time Fahy’s position was broadly in tune with Delaney’s and at odds with Corcoran, who clashed with Delaney in November 2002. “John likes things to be done yesterday,” Corcoran said in reference to Delaney’s ideas on the pace of reform, “but in the real world I don’t think you can do that”.

But nothing in the FAI changes more quickly or as often than the positions of its senior officials. Wind forward 18 months and it is Corcoran, allied now with Delaney, forcing Fahy out for, incredibly, inadequate minute-taking at board meetings. In the

by-election that followed, Cody finally took his place at the top table. And now, significantly, he is part of the three-man sub-committee that will investigate the allegations against Rooney. Revenge on a silver platter.Still, the old cocky Delaney doesn’t show any sign of resurfacing. The shows of bravado have been missing since the World Cup when details emerged that Mick McCarthy had been given a £100,000 bonus to ensure he signed a new contract. A war subsequently broke out in which it was alleged that Delaney had offered McCarthy the bonus in an attempt to discredit general secretary Brendan Menton, something he strongly denied.
    Taken to task by both Menton and McCarthy’s agent, Liam Gaskin, Delaney had to survive several fractious board and council meetings before he finally rode clear of the mess. The doleful figure that returned from London the night Brian Kerr was given the sanction (Delaney was out-voted 2-1 in that by Corcoran and Fahy) was so far removed from the grinning figure of 2002 that it was easy to think Delaney had lost his nerve for the fight.

Instead, he merely regrouped and reconstituted himself. Delaney doesn’t do public pronouncements anymore, but what he has said in the past can now be dragged up to pose serious questions of him. On Genesis his words of 2002 are of particular interest. “This is a huge opportunity to change Irish football forever,” Delaney said. “If these recommendations are not implemented in full in one year I will be out of this place. End of story.”

Well, Alistair Gray, who wrote the report, was damning in his assessment of the FAI’s progress last week so why, Delaney’s antagonists are entitled to ask, hasn’t the treasurer’s letter of resignation fallen on Rooney’s desk? Delaney plays the game a different way, though. Mostly, he plays it well. He was Rooney’s greatest advocate when the initial cleaning-up operation needed to be done post-Genesis, but he fell out with the chief executive on the issue of Buckley, appointed by his father back in 1996, getting the post of finance director.

Why Delaney’s faction are so insistent that Buckley should be appointed to the job is a question being asked by Rooney’s supporters. If Buckley is so well qualified for the job, then why do they seem reluctant to let him take his chance in an open contest with other applicants? Rooney maintains that it is for this reason, and not alleged shortcomings in his management style, that he has been targeted so savagely for the guillotine. He is partially justified in thinking so.

Back in 2002 Delaney scoffed at suggestions that he had ambitions to be chief executive. He probably enjoys as much influence now as he would in the top job, yet not everyone would be convinced by his denials. If he does covet Rooney’s job then, sooner or later, Delaney will have to push himself forward in the present dispute and it is then that things might hasten to a speedy, potentially bloody, conclusion.

For Delaney, it will be either the conclusion of a 10-year crusade or the time he finally falls on the blade his enemies have been sharpening for years.

--------------------

Quote Originally Posted by onceahoop
    Delaney will elect himself.
    M. Noreiga; 'Nicaraguans are Free!'
    P. Doc Duvallier; ' There are no death squads'
    J. Stalin; 'All are equal in my Russia'
    G. W Bush; ' While govenor of Texas, I didnt spend all my time just executing slightly backward African Americans. I done colored in pictures in my Barney book too!'
    J.Delaney; 'I'm in Charge'

Criminals all.

Quote Originally Posted by Steviewonder
    M. Noreiga; 'Nicaraguans are Free!'
    P. Doc Duvallier; ' There are no death squads'
    J. Stalin; 'All are equal in my Russia'
    G. W Bush; ' While govenor of Texas, I didnt spend all my time just executing slightly backward African Americans. I done colored in pictures in my Barney book too!'
    J.Delaney; 'I'm in Charge'

Criminals all.
    Give me GWB any day over the double-talking French & Germans. Afganistan, Iraq, next stop France...
    Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Nationalism is an infantile disease, the measles of mankind

60 Posts
    Interesting to see that the FAI had a meeting with John O’Donoghue yesterday. O’Donoghue more or less told them to implement Genesis or suffer the consequences. He hinted that they wanted to appoint the new CEO from within the FAI but were told it would not be acceptable to the Government. It will be interesting to see if Delaney wants the job so much the he will be prepared to forego government funding and land the FAI in even bigger financial difficulties.
    Always look on the bright side of life

no doubt that delaney will possibly take the job..he was originally a supporter of rooney and stood with him previously when the first phase of gen
    and and the reforms for the executive were being put to the fai... Delaney holds the key but it is Corcoran who instigates all the internal rowing and back stabbing....delaney fell out with rooney but he is no buddy of corcorans...

i think the only answer is that they all get the fu*k out of the fai as long as the present incumbents are there we will be looking at these problem on an annual basis......but out of the current batch that is in there delaney is by far the best of them

it seems to be catching as well aren't the english fa looking for their third Chief in five years....
    Bring back the plank

I not sure if the government will allow the FAI blazers to get away with this one. I read in the Irish Times today that he appointed one of his senior civil servants and has requested regular meettings to see how the progress is going.

He is holding back on FAI funding until the 4 directors have been apointed, and said that it has to be advertised externally. There are plenty of people better qualified than those clowns in the FAI so maybe there is a bit of bright light.

IMO O Donaghue is getting more hands on now and the FAI may well not get away with this one !!

Delaney set for hot seat as O'Donoghue issues warning

From Today's Indo

Delaney set for hot seat as O'Donoghue issues warning

HONORARY Treasurer John Delaney is likely to emerge as the new supremo of the Football Association of Ireland in the wake of Chief Executive Fran Rooney's resignation.

Although Honorary Secretary Michael Cody has taken over the responsibility for the day to day running of the association, Delaney is being strongly tipped to become the next chief executive, possibly on an interim basis, as the FAI bids to mend its relationship with the Government by finally implementing the Genesis Report.

The association is also likely to make a formal approach to its former Planning and Development Manager John Byrne, who resigned earlier this year, in a bid to attract him back into the fold.

Byrne was instrumental in developing a close relationship between the Government and the association and it is felt that his return would help towards restoring cordial relations between the two bodies.

The extent of the breakdown in the association's relationship with the Government was shown yesterday afternoon when Delaney, Cody and President Milo Corcoran were summonsed to the Department of Sport and told in no uncertain terms by Minister John O'Donoghue that the FAI had to quickly get their house in order.

"I expect all of the hatchets to be buried and to stay buried so that we can move on in partnership in the interests of Irish soccer," the Minister told the Irish Independent last night.

"We cannot do so unless there is goodwill on all sides and unless there is a professional arrangement between the professionals running the organisation and the board of the FAI itself."

The Minister told the FAI delegation that he wants to see somebody quickly assume the role of chief executive and immediately instigate an open and transparent process to fill the four key director posts recommended in the Genesis Report.

Although he has steadfastly refused in the past to be considered for the position, Delaney is likely to come under pressure in the coming days to at least take the post on a temporary basis.

There is a growing feeling within FAI circles that having bid adieu to their third chief executive in four years the association will struggle to recruit a high calibre person to the €250,000 per annum post until it shows that it has transformed itself into a professional organisation.

So they are looking increasingly likely to turn to Delaney to at least allow them to move away from recent events that culminated in the departure of Rooney.

It is believed his appointment will find favour in Government circles as well as among the staff in Merrion Square.

The association has been left in no doubt by Minister O'Donoghue that he and his Government colleagues are taking an extremely dim view of the FAI's failure to implement Genesis in full, two years after it was unveiled.

"The FAI at this point needs to have a very strong, united management structure to ensure that the responsibilities which they have taken on can be managed and delivered successfully.

"In that context, the implement of Genesis is absolutely crucial and there can be no more foot dragging on it," said the Minister.

During his meeting with the FAI officers yesterday the Minister revealed that he has appointed a top civil servant to the liaison committee, which was set up to monitor the implementation of the Genesis Report.

Con Haugh is the assistant secretary in the Department of Sport and is also chairman of the Campus Sports Ireland and his appointment shows that the Minister means business.

Neither did the Minister beat around the bush when he explained the gravity of the position the FAI now find themselves in.

"The disharmony within the FAI is having an effect on our own efforts to secure funding for the FAI and it is also having an adverse effect on public morale and the confidence of the public is fast ebbing out.

"We have spent about €610 million on sport in Ireland since 1997 of which the FAI has received its fair share, so we are entitled to expect at this point that the disarray within the FAI itself would end."

The FAI is currently involved with the Government in relation to a number of projects including Genesis, Lansdowne Road, Abbotstown, UEFA licensing, the Capital Sports Programme and the Technical Plan.

"We are committed to the developments and we are interested in working in partnership with them to ensure that all the developments take place.

"For their part they will have to illustrate the same degree of professionalism and performance that their international team has done on a regular basis over the past number of months.

"I pointed out to them that this is the third CEO to go in four years and that this in turn has a considerable impact on the finances of the organisation, funding which should really be invested in development of the game itself.
    "Often we end up trying to fill the vacuum, which results from their resources being dissipated into something else.

"While I acknowledged the voluntary nature of their work and their commitment in that regard, I told them that things could never be the same again," stressed the Minister.

The FAI formally announced yesterday morning that Rooney had tendered his resignation with effect from Friday after a deal was done over the weekend by legal representatives from both sides.

The deal was approved on Monday night when the eight remaining directors of the association met with their legal advisers in Dublin.

President Milo Corcoran thanked Rooney for his contribution during his 18 months in charge of the organisation and wished him well in the future.
    Rooney, who officially leaves his post tomorrow, thanked his supporters and expressed his continuing commitment to Irish football.

"I will always be committed to football in Ireland," he said.

"I thank all those who worked with me in the past 18 months. I am also grateful to the people who expressed their support for me."

The board is now expected to meet early next week to commence the process to find Rooney's replacement.

Gerry McDermott

Lord help us, the lunatics have taken over the asylum

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Lord help us, the lunatics have taken over the asylum
    Aye. The finest football association on Merrion Square is outdoing itself this time.... The Apres Match lads must be spunking themselves with the thought of a whole years worth of gags out of this debacle .... (Jaysus, even the Bull Island crew couldnt fail to get a laugh out of this debacle.... )
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

75 Posts

Thumbs down To all those people

who slagged me off about being Paranoid about "The Man from Del Monte" how do they feel now.John O'Briens article was spot and Delaney also said his main involvement in the FAI was to avenge the wrongs done to his Father in an article in the Indo just after he had shafted Brendan Menton.Dont look at Fianna Fail to sort out this mess as they owe Delaney and his hechmen bigtime for Shafting Eircom Park.

Soccer in Ireland is ****ed unless we sort out Johnny D and his merryband now and notice how some journalists have changed tack now they are being fed all the Juicy stories.

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    •*Well what about the quality of the friendlies he organised.
    • Tickets for El fans for international matches.
    • Efforts made to improve athmosphere at International matches
    • Better travel arrangements, training facilities and hotel accommodation for Int team.
    • Decision to hold Women Final on same day as Senior Cup Final.
    • Recognition of Intermediate players on Amateur International Team, who this week go to Bosnia for UEFA championship qualifiying rounds.
    • He has the support of the AUL and LSL, the two biggest leagues in the country for the work he has put into helping these organisations.
    I sure there are many more items he has achieved in such a short time.
    Give me €600k pa and 16 months to organise the above!

I haven't got a clue who's right and who's wrong,however when I see John O'Brien expertly having a go at one side,I tend to lean towards the other!

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    Give me €600k pa and 16 months to organise the above!
    Rooney's wage was closer to €250k pa.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Rooney's wage was closer to €250k pa.
    Fair enough,he had to leave ,couldn't survive on that money!

Time to dig up the past

After reading this thread tonight, a lot of what Onceahoop & Robinski said at time is ringing so true at present. Considering that it is nearly 2 years ago they must have their ears to the ground..Any new insights going forward.

Quote Originally Posted by tall chapy View Post
    After reading this thread tonight, a lot of what Onceahoop & Robinski said at time is ringing so true at present. Considering that it is nearly 2 years ago they must have their ears to the ground..Any new insights going forward.
    Watch this space tall chappy...

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123