• Other (Please state)

26 25.49%
Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 LastLast

Thread: Most talented nightclub?

Well I went to Bondi the other night and I have to say...I don't see what all the fuss is. Dancefloor is way too small, not near enough women and plenty of arsehols from D4.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    With just days to go to the biggest tournament in the history of Team Vito, anticipation is reaching fever pitch. For the players and supporters, it represents five years of hard work. The big question many pundits are asking is whether this tournament has come too late for what is now an aging team. The team’s manager and former captain, Don Vito is adamant that this will not be the case. Vito, who has been compared to the legendary Leeds manager Don Revie (probably because of his name), was quoted in this week’s edition of the Wexford People as saying: “I think in previous years we suffered due to a high number of games earlier in the season. Our players were often left feeling jaded when the big games came along. This season has been different. We’ve had less games, our players are fresher and they’re all chomping at the bit…at the end of the day.” Nonetheless, the fact remains that Team Vito has a number of veterans in its ranks. The youngest player, The Green Hen turned 22 a fortnight ago, which means he’s no spring chicken. Despite a lot of criticism from the media, Don Vito has resisted the temptation to sign younger players.

The World Cup squad was finalised some weeks ago. In addition to the usual suspects, the relatively unknown “Johann” was handed a dream call-up to the squad. When questioned on this surprise inclusion, Don Vito spoke enthusiastically about the new recruit: “This is a player that I’m excited about. He came to our attention in recent months. Dolby126 was very impressed with his performances and came to me to say that Johann was available on a free transfer. We put in a bid immediately and he jumped at the chance to sign for us.” The unassuming Laois man has been compared by some to the Swiss midfielder Johann Vogel. Like Vogel, he sits deep in midfield and distributes the play in an efficient if less than spectacular manner. When questioned on recent suggestions that he has never seen Johann play, Vito replied: “That is true but I think the fact that Johann will be such an unknown quantity, even to ourselves, will actually work in our favour.”

Arising out of Vito’s absence due to professional reasons, I TheJamaicanP.M. will take over as caretaker manager for the World Cup. There’s no doubt I have huge boots to fill but I’ll be following Don’s instructions to the letter. However, it was the selection of the squad’s captain which proved to be the most difficult decision for Don. Taking into account the experience of the players in the squad, he chose to hand the captaincy to JoeSemi. The undoubtedly talented but sometimes fickle JoeSemi, will be taking part in his third World Cup, as well as offering a wealth of European experience. The usual captain and golden boot winner in recent seasons, Dillo has been given the responsibility of being vice-captain. When questioned on his new role Dillo stated, “I think I can have a huge influence on the squad as vice-captain. If I’m as successful as Robbie Fowler was as vice-captain to Jamie, I’ll be happy…If I’m as successful as Robbie Keane was to Ledley, I’ll be even happier.”

The onus will certainly be on Dillo to produce the goods after what has been a poor season by his standards. Dillo has complained about injuries and bad health in recent weeks, but in a similar way to the Rangers and T&T defender Marvin Andrews, Dillo has the requisite mental strength to play through the pain barrier. With more appearances than any other member of the Team Vito squad, it is imperative that he stamps his authority on the competition. A number of his team-mates have already pointed to his excellent linguistic skills and there is no doubt that Dillo will be put forward as a representative for this team in Germany.

Dillo’s strike partner is likely to be the prolific Dolby126. After a year that was blighted by injury, the charismatic Dolby has returned to action in style. Despite recent transgressions and his propensity for acts of indiscipline, the team have placed huge responsibility on Dolby’s shoulders by asking him to lead the line. Similar to the Ivory Coast’s Didier Drogba, Dolby takes a direct, no-nonsense approach and this should prove dividends. Writing in his column last week, Dolby stated: “I’m going in search of the holy grail.”

It is intended that Dillo and Dolby will be provided with ammunition from the wings by The Green Hen and JoeSemi. The Green Hen, who was recently compared to Benfica’s Simao Sabrosa for his dynamic wing play, was philosophical about his aspirations for the World Cup: “Some people think we’re going there on a wing and a prayer. However, I think once we take flight on Sunday, we’ll be fine. As for the action itself, I refuse to be a mere hurler on the ditch. I believe in jumping the ditch and after last Saturday night, I know Dolby and JoeSemi feel the same way.” After a week of rest and recuperation in Saipan (or was it Spain?), there is no doubt that JoeSemi is raring to go. The player who is affectionately known as “Jo” has been likened by many to Frankie Hejduk of the United States. A bit like Hejduk, Jo found the going tough on the European scene but prospered when he moved Stateside. When asked about his potential role in this World Cup, Jo simply replied: “Looking forward to it I am.”

It’s clear that things are progressing nicely for Team Vito. The last warm-up game might have ended in a scoreless draw last weekend, but there is no doubt that players were holding themselves in reserve for the big one. Nonetheless, it proved a worthwhile exercise with the players being very well looked after by their hosts. It is evident that this is an exciting time for myself and the other members of Team Vito. I have no doubt that everyone on foot.ie will wish us well as we go in search of glory.
    Best of luck in Germany lads, remember World Cups only come around every four years so make the most of it. I know I'm not.
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito
    Best of luck in Germany lads, remember World Cups only come around every four years so make the most of it. I know I'm not.

Thanks for your kind words Don. We'll bring back the cup to you in Glenmalure.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

I'd also like to thank Don for his words of encouragement and the role he played in my appointment as skipper. Its an honour and privilege to lead these men in Germany and I for one will do my upmost to make sure we represent Don and the wider Vito community as well as we can on our travels.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

So where is the best Dublin nightclub to go to these days?
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

depends what your looking for really!

krystle seems to have replaced lillies and renards as the destination of choice for the celebs.

coppers is still number 1 for the culchies, guards, nurses, teachers etc but for some reason attracts a lot of so called "d4" heads

d2 on harcourt street is a good spot as well

dandelion on stephens green is good for talent as well

club 21 on d'olier st is full of students on a monday night and can be very good

id avoid temple bar though, too expensive, over hyped and far far too crowded

Quote Originally Posted by hula4 View Post
    coppers is still number 1 for the culchies, guards, nurses, teachers etc but for some reason attracts a lot of so called "d4" heads
    They all think they'll score.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

sorry i should have been a bit clearer, i meant d4 type women

112 Posts
    Having recently been in Dublin over the hols, Q Bar has a shocking amount of talent. Been years since I went to Club 92, but some mighty fine ladies there.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

sorry i should have been a bit clearer, i meant d4 type women
    ya was just reading friends facebook there the other day and hte lsat person ever i expected to go in there was there with her friends, proper D4, even more so than the mounty types.....

do people still go to qbar?! queer bar.

its funny talent, dublin, girls all in one setence

200 Posts
    Is Tramco still on the go in Rathmines ?

ya beleive so along with roddys!!!

tramco and roddys are 2 very good spots as well also.

i wouldnt go into q bar if the drink was free in there, awful rough crowd that go in there.

dawson street can be ok at times as well, sam sara, ron blacks and cafe en seine but you would want to have a fair few quid on you!

112 Posts
    The night i was in Q Bar, the talent was actually pretty decent! Maybe that was a once off.... Id rather go there than the likes of Krystle. The talent down Roddy Boland's is always good as well.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

89 Posts
    .coppers is still number 1 for the culchies, guards, nurses, teachers etc but for some reason attracts a lot of so called "d4" heads
    Free entry with a staff card from certain "professional service" firms, with high D4 style workforce.....
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Free entry with a staff card from certain "professional service" firms, with high D4 style workforce.....
    what "professional service" firms do you mean?

hula you spend most of your time out on the ****,the sooner you get back to limerick and playing ball with the boro the better,all that fun can't be good for you

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    hula you spend most of your time out on the ****,the sooner you get back to limerick and playing ball with the boro the better,all that fun can't be good for you
    its not doin me any harm at the minute!!

A return

Alright calm down, the Don is back after a long term injury lay off and he's older, wiser, better looking and more talented than ever before.

Times have indeed changed since the inception of this thread, we are enduring a period of utter domination by one club as Coppers has become the Rosenborg of the Dublin social scene. This level of domination has not been experienced before in Dublin and although I am a massive fan of the Harcourt St. venue it is sad to see the life being sucked out of all other venues in the city centre. I have only frequented two nightclubs/late bars in the past 6 months - Coppers and Howl at the Moon and I've spent each night in Howl regretting that I didn't go to Coppers, this is not healthy. Dublin needs more choice.
    "In life, it aint about how hard you can hit, it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep on moving forward"

Rocky Balboa

Quote Originally Posted by Don Vito View Post
    Alright calm down, the Don is back after a long term injury lay off and he's older, wiser, better looking and more talented than ever before.

Times have indeed changed since the inception of this thread, we are enduring a period of utter domination by one club as Coppers has become the Rosenborg of the Dublin social scene. This level of domination has not been experienced before in Dublin and although I am a massive fan of the Harcourt St. venue it is sad to see the life being sucked out of all other venues in the city centre. I have only frequented two nightclubs/late bars in the past 6 months - Coppers and Howl at the Moon and I've spent each night in Howl regretting that I didn't go to Coppers, this is not healthy. Dublin needs more choice.

think a lot of it has to do with the fact that it serves a bit later than anywhere else

Page 13 of 15 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 LastLast