Page 96 of 103 FirstFirst ... 46869495969798 ... LastLast
Results 1,901 to 1,920 of 2047

Thread: 2014 World Cup

1,025 Posts
    It looked to me like two teams that didn't fancy their chances of coming back from a goal down, and played accordingly.

2,284 Posts
    And so it becomes abundantly clear why Van Gaal threw Krul on against Costa Rica.

2,796 Posts
    Yeah, I'm all for a Dutch WC win given what they have given world football and given how it'd be a right kick in the teeth for mega money big country leagues, but still I am glad Argentina went through.

You can see why Cillesen has never saved a penalty.

I love the Argentina coach's quote from ages back: I'd be happy to win a game half nil.

At least he's honest.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    And so it becomes abundantly clear why Van Gaal threw Krul on against Costa Rica.
    But it's not clear why they did't put him on here or why Vlaar took the first.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,796 Posts
    At least we won't have to listen to a decade of drooling over LVG's tactical genius. Dublin 2001 anyone?

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Van Gaal decided to make a tactical sub right at the start of the first, which meant he probably would not have the leeway to put Krul in with another 75 minutes to play. He trusted in his first choice keeper and his kickers. Didn't work out. These things happen.

RTE Player crashed in the middle of the shoot-out. Would not restart. Absolutely raging.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Delighted for the Dutch, set up to defend first rather than attack, wasted chance, tut tut van Gaal

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Holland had used up their three substitutions after they replaced Van Persie with Huntelaar.

Dunno why Vlaar was sent up, mind!

358 Posts
    LVG's arrogance?

586 Posts
    Jesus lads, relax. Maybe Vlaar just volunteered when no one else would?

2,284 Posts
    I don't know.

Though this is more the one I was thinking of.

Maybe I've taken ye up wrong. Or even, with the passage of time, misrepresented ye in the post above. If so, apologies. I think the posts were in reply to my own giving out about the lack of catching, so I assumed ye were taking up a contrary position to my own.

But I still think catching has to be the first choice whenever possible, and there's been too many keepers in this tournament happy to parry when they could have caught. Iran for one have paid a heavy price for that. That's not anglophilia or GAA influence - it's just good goalkeeping.
    Hehe, I don't think I was quite suggesting punching was preferable to catching. I was just wondering why there's such a seeming abhorrence to punching in the Anglosphere. I'd agree with you in that a catch is to be favoured, but a good punch can also have its place. Casillas has been a frequent puncher throughout his career and he's consistently been one of the best keepers of our age. (Just don't mention that one he punched to Sanchez this World Cup! )

586 Posts
    3rd/4th Place Play Off is usually a decent enough game- I still think the 2010 version was the best game of that tournament - but I have a feeling Saturday's game will be fairly depressing. Maybe its better when it includes a team that no one thought would get that far (Croatia in 98, S. Korea in 02, Germany in 06, etc).

1,825 Posts
    Holland had used up their three substitutions after they replaced Van Persie with Huntelaar.

Dunno why Vlaar was sent up, mind!
    I know the logistics of why but let's look back instead of making that sub, maybe leave RVP on...

Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    LVG's arrogance?
    Nah.

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Jesus lads, relax. Maybe Vlaar just volunteered when no one else would?
    I dunno. seems odd. I know that it's happened in the past (A certain occasion in Genoa comes to mind) but for a team that successfully dispatched another under the same circumstances in the last round; for no one else to choose to go first seems unlikely to me to be honest.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    This Krul thing is a red herring. I have a Geordie friend who says he is a terrible penalty stopper and lightening very rarely strikes twice anyway. Van Gaal knew that. The trouble is the Dutch missed two penalties. They have a penalty shoot out record almost as bad as England's. As I said in the second Costa Rican penalty shoot out, to ask players to do it in two consecutive games to the same standard is asking an awful lot. The funny thing, the one Dutchman who I was sure would miss, scored: Kuyt.

So on we go to Europe v South America as it should be and hopefully the Argentinians can continue to defend as well and for the magician to score the wonder goal the tournament awaits from him.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

1,928 Posts
    I enjoyed that semi final from start to finish. That was one intense game and it was refreshing to see players bawl their eyes out in response to getting through to the final, not to mention their fans, stuff the european reserve. I thought it had some import that at the end of normal time the Argentine team got together in a circle and had a real emotional pow wow with their coach in the middle, whereas the Dutch hung around in small groups, or on their own.

Tough on the Dutch no doubt, that will hurt deep and for a long time, there was little between the teams until the shoot out, though I just thought Argentina were that bit more together and they had Messi.

Germany have a 50/50 chance to win their first world cup.

586 Posts
    RVP wasn't at his best, clearly. No way he would have been effective if left on. Sometimes you just run out of subs.

Vlaar had a great game, maybe he just felt confident and volunteered.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I enjoyed that semi final from start to finish. That was one intense game and it was refreshing to see players bawl their eyes out in response to getting through to the final, not to mention their fans, stuff the European reserve. I thought it had some import that at the end of normal time the Argentine team got together in a circle and had a real emotional pow wow with their coach in the middle, whereas the Dutch hung around in small groups, or on their own.
    It's easy to have a pow-wow when ya get to a final. Not so easy to do so when your tournament comes crashing down after being so close to final and after losing 4 years before.

I'm sure if anyone came up to me in that circumstance of losing I would have clocked him. I will still never know how Dickie D never broke Henry in two!

Tough on the Dutch no doubt, that will hurt deep and for a long time, there was little between the teams until the shoot out, though I just thought Argentina were that bit more together and they had Messi.
    It was a 50/50 game. If Robben wasn't such a selfish ass the Dutch would be in the final. Messi was poor in the second half of normal time.

Germany have a 50/50 chance to win their first world cup.
    Ooooooooooooh. Controversial.

In truth the DFB are the ones who have won the previous 3 world cups and as they still exist they could win a 4th on Sunday.

The DFV were subsumed into the DFB in 1990 as the Nordostdeutscher Fußball-Verband.

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    RVP wasn't at his best, clearly. No way he would have been effective if left on. Sometimes you just run out of subs.

Vlaar had a great game, maybe he just felt confident and volunteered.
    You could be right. Just seemed odd on the face of it is all.

1,025 Posts
    It's easy to have a pow-wow when ya get to a final. Not so easy to do so when your tournament comes crashing down after being so close to final and after losing 4 years before.
    I think Geysir is talking about the groups both teams formed between normal time and extra time.

I thought we saw the other side of the Krul substitution tonight - all the stuff said about Krul and the explanation could have backfired, with the Argentinians feeling more confident against a keeper who would have known he wasn't the first choice.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    I thought we saw the other side of the Krul substitution tonight - all the stuff said about Krul and the explanation could have backfired, with the Argentinians feeling more confident against a keeper who would have known he wasn't the first choice.
    Definitely. I sensed that myself.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Definitely. I sensed that myself.
    Yeah. There was a bang of that off it alright.

Page 96 of 103 FirstFirst ... 46869495969798 ... LastLast