Only 35 mins in but Belgium might be over rated. Is that one word or two?
Yep, I think he sent the keeper one way, but It could be that he caught it a bit fat and too centrally in an attempt to push it further to his right. Virtually any penalty that goes in looks good I suppose. Commentators almost always say a penalty is good if scored and will always say a saved penalty was a poor penalty, even if it was a super stop.
Only 35 mins in but Belgium might be over rated. Is that one word or two?
Never a free kick here. Hope they don't score.
Edit - justice done. Toby kicked the Algerian (by accident), not the other way around!
Roberto Martinez will tell us how difficult it is for the Belgies to break down the Algerian Defense after commercials.
Don't panic lads, Fellaini's coming on.
Algeria playing very well I think. They're contributing a lot more to the game than the US did last night against a similarly superior team who are dominating the ball.
Belgium have looked limited and predictable. It's somewhat frustrating given their wealth of talent. The lack of mobile full-backs certainly hasn't helped them. Who would they usually play with in those positions?
Whether or not he would have gotten the ball has no bearing on whether or not it was a foul. Vertonghen held and tripped his opponent inside the box. Irrespective of where the ball was (so long as it was in play), that constituted a foul and, thus, a penalty was correctly awarded.
If the ref had judged that the ball might have been within reach of the Algerian player when he was fouled, he might well have punished Vertonghen with a red card for having denied Algeria an obvious goal-scoring opportunity. Clearly, he didn't, so Vertonghen received a yellow card.
Is it possible I can spin that one like I was being serious?
Yeah, go for it.
Only just crept under the bar; I wonder if he'd have scored that without the afro?
Who was it on Match of the Day a few years back who theorised that Fellaini would score more headers if he didn't have all that hair to cushion the impact?
Algeria pay the price for trying to win the game, ouch.
Has anyone else noticed what looks like a bullet crack or something in the ITV studio window behind Andros Townsend to the right?![]()
Put it this way. All of us here watch an awful lot of football. An insane amount. Some of us (SkStu) are not able to watch games live and watch the recordings later on.
Now imagine, our entire life was like that of Lawrenson or Whelan, and we got to watch soccer for a living, you can be certain we would be on the ball with everything even more so than now.
On no level is it acceptable to be unprofessional in that regard. Unbelievable that the analysts of soccer get away with so much.
It really grinds my gears.
It should be noted, that I actually thought that Andros Townsend was surprisingly good earlier. The Strachan, Vieira, Townsend axis wasn't bad. If only ITV had decent presenters.
I would give Giles the benefit as he's still the best analyst of a game live.
It's funny, I was thinking there was a serious tendency to group the African teams. Though there is a certain similarity in regional groupings of teams.
Algeria so far are the best of the lot (of the African teams I've seen).
Muller got hit in the face. Pepe the idiot reacted and whatever the ref's opinion on card colour he had no real option but to send him off as it was more likely he was about to give him a yellow for the "elbow".
As above.
Last edited by BonnieShels; 17/06/2014 at 8:13 PM.
DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?
Why can stu not watch the matches live bon bon? Has his doctor warned him off excitement due to a weak ticker from years of eating poutine, or is it simply that his village in the outback only has one tv, and he can only get access to it during off hours, after the rest of the town have watched you cant do that on television?
Surprised nobody mentioned (saw?) the RTE screw up just before the Brazil game. Dunphy was giving out about Neymar bricking it for the penalty in the last game, Didi was looking through his phone and Kenny was robotic. To alert them that they were on air Bill asked a question to Eamon, who still didn't realise he was on air. He preceeding to say his second on air "f**king" in a few seconds. A visibly shocked Bill alerted Eamon that he was on air, a very uncomfortable Eamon half apologised while looking around in shock and went on to give his prediction for the game... Didi subtlety putting the phone under the table and Kenny, well, robotic.
"No flow to the game" says Ray after two minutes and six seconds.
Stu lives in Canada Crosby, 6 hours behind us in theory, 20 years in reality...
Not his fault, just one of the sticks.
I know. You guys dont have poutine in Ireland do ye?
Not sure about Mexicos uniforms here. They look like the NJ Devils. Are you guys getting as many shots of the female fans as on the espn feed? What an amazing place. Charlie Darwin would be locked up within minutes of exiting the plane.
No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.
Mexico looking in more control at this stage.
I wonder are they under instructions to shoot whenever possilbe.