Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Matchday 14

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    The few times Dundalk played it on the ground , the pitch didnt seem a problem. A bit patchy around the goals but the pitch cant be blamed for Dundalk hoofing it.
    It's very difficult for fans sitting in a stand to comment on a pitch. From interviews I heard with the Dundalk players they all mentioned that the grass was very long and when combined with the lack of water made a quick passing game too dangerous.

The real positive from a Dundalk point of view is that they were able to adapt to the conditions and play a different game. A lot of balls were played long to Hoban, who was fantastic on the night. He constantly bettered the Bohs centre halves and intelligently knocked down balls for onrushing midfielders. I thought we should have scored more than two goals.

959 Posts
    City rebels on fire with the barbs today Bitter Corkies are funny.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Would have been 352 if the "Bohs Fans" had not attacked a group of fans on the way in. 2 had to go to hospital and it came from the away end, How the "gardai" (waste of ****ing money) never seen that about 30 fellas were all standing waiting for Dundalk fans to arrive il never know!

Our security is far from top notch, but last night was a disgrace! I know a good few have made complaints to the ombudsman, lets hope something comes out of it
    Sorry to hear that, hopefully both ok?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    It's very difficult for fans sitting in a stand to comment on a pitch. From interviews I heard with the Dundalk players they all mentioned that the grass was very long and when combined with the lack of water made a quick passing game too dangerous.

The real positive from a Dundalk point of view is that they were able to adapt to the conditions and play a different game. A lot of balls were played long to Hoban, who was fantastic on the night. He constantly bettered the Bohs centre halves and intelligently knocked down balls for onrushing midfielders. I thought we should have scored more than two goals.
    The first thing I noticed about the pitch before the match was the length of the grass. I accept your point that the players would have a far better perspective then supporters

Post match interviews

Sean Gannon - "Pitch was sticky, grass was long" @30secs

http://audioboo.fm/boos/2211056-sean-gannon

Stephen Kenny - "Pitch was difficult" @15secs

https://audioboo.fm/boos/2211059-stephen-kenny#t=3m4s

Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    And it was still probably better than the pitch at Oriel Park
    Of course...sure Roddy declared it as the worst pitch in the world.

The difference of course is that you can play passing football in Oriel Park. Last night in Dalymount the pitch condition meant it was high risk

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Would have been 352 if the "Bohs Fans" had not attacked a group of fans on the way in. 2 had to go to hospital and it came from the away end
    If you dress a certain way you have to expect to get a reaction.

Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    I'm not sure if your trying to be funny here but are you saying that away fans who wear colours should expect to get attacked???

555 Posts
    11 year kids deserve a thumping? What planet do you live on?

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    I'm not sure if your trying to be funny here but are you saying that away fans who wear colours should expect to get attacked???
    I think he's saying the ones that don't wear colours are the ones who get attacked/start trouble

Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    It's Sean South.

86 Posts
    That's an absolutely ridiculous post.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    It's Sean South.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    11 year kids deserve a thumping? What planet do you live on?
    Ah here, where did I say anyone deserves a thumping? I didn't know a 11 year old got caught up in it, the other guy was older not that it matters.

It's unfortunate, but it's true. If you dress like a "casual" you only bring attention on yourself even if you don't want it.

86 Posts
    Ah here, where did I say anyone deserves a thumping? I didn't know a 11 year old got caught up in it, the other guy was older not that it matters.

It's unfortunate, but it's true. If you dress like a "casual" you only bring attention on yourself even if you don't want it.
    How you dress should not dictate how you are treated. It's as simple as that.

105 Posts
    How you dress should not dictate how you are treated. It's as simple as that.
    I don't disagree with you but unfortunately others would.

86 Posts
    I don't disagree with you but unfortunately others would.
    That's fair enough, but your original wording is questionable.

Rovers 1-0 up right on half-time. Own goal by the sounds of it.

415 Posts
    Rovers 1 down at half time. Own goal

1-0 Rovers, full time. McCabe stupidly sent off with five minutes to go.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Although Europa League qualification remains a possibility, Sligo's season could be effectively over next Friday evening

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Although Europa League qualification remains a possibility, Sligo's season could be effectively over next Friday evening
    I make you right there.

Match nearly abandoned at the Showgs, usual vermin antics, not surprised, such yokes got off their buses, go to jail haircuts, tracksuits tucked into white socks like something out of Ross o Carroll Kelly.

Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast