City annoyed about Sat. Night

Cork City annoyed at Longford’s lack of co-operation on fixture

By Bill George
    CORK CITY are peeved at having to travel to Flancare Park on Saturday night for their delayed League match rather than Sunday afternoon.
    Longford Town refused their request for a Sunday game and their stubborn attitude has irritated Cork who feel a little more co-operation is due to them after their generous attitude regarding midfielder Greg O’Halloran.

O’Halloran, a capable player at full-back or in midfield and a regular member of Brian Kerr’s international under-age teams, was allowed travel on loan to Longford when he expressed dissatisfaction at being left out of the Cork team at the start of the season.

Longford manager, Martin Lawlor, then sought to sign O’Halloran when his loan period expired a couple of weeks ago and Cork’s Liam Murphy gave the club permission to discuss terms with the player. However, they failed to reach agreement and O’Halloran is now back with the Cork squad.

He will not figure in the team for this match, however, and manager Murphy is likely to retain the line-up that started for the 1-0 victory against Derry two weeks ago.

Club captain Declan Daly is not ready to return as yet but Stephen Napier, who was ruled out for the postponed match a week ago, is available after his eye infection cleared up.

Cork’s options in midfield have not been plentiful in recent weeks but if Colin O’Brien returns after his loan period with Waterford ends on January 26 their hand will be strengthened.

O’Brien started just four early-season games for Cork and, like O’Halloran, was unhappy with his share of the action. With Kelvin Flanagan and Mark Herrick recently transferred, Cork’s resources are depleted.

O’Brien’s namesake, Colin P. O’Brien, played well against Derry and, with Noel Hartigan as his partner, will hold off the challenge of the fit-again James Mulligan. The restoration of nine points to St Pats means Cork need to win to remain in the championship battle.

Thumbs down Typical

Yes apparently it wasn't the ref to blame at all for not playing the game last sunday. The article is correct in saying its the home teams responsibility to re-arrange the match.

IMO its a shameful attitude as Longford obviously did it as they belived they'd get more people at a saturday night game plus the few injuries they had might clear up by this week.

Hopefully some extra incentive for city to win this weekend

BTW Bernie i'm sure if anyone knows it would be yourself but how far is Longford from Cork? Does it have to be over 200 miles between the clubs to prevent games been arranged for thursday or friday?

It's definitely more than 200 miles from Cork to Longford!

AA Roadwatch

Originally posted by Neil
    I don't know if I've done it right but AA Roadwatch says that it's 162 miles from Cork to Longford.

Thumbs up yup

Yeah i'm just back the AA Routeplanner ( proper title ) & you are indeed correct.

From Cork:
    - Galway 128
    - Longford 161 (more or less same as Dublin)
    - Dundalk 212
    - Derry 280

Was I correct that the rule is 200 miles?

I thought Dublin was about 300 miles!

Sorry I forgot to convert to euro...

Stop moaning - sunday football is sh!te. Saturday night is when we play our games - don't see youse changing your fixtures for us when we're at the cross. And don't forget how the two clubs came to the arrangement of the cup replay last year - playing on Sunday after Friday games, rather than afternoon during the week (I know it suited both clubs financially, but potentially with injuries etc....). Be thankful that the rumour that we're moving to Friday nights hasn't come about yet.....

Originally posted by Macy
    Stop moaning - sunday football is sh!te. Saturday night is when we play our games - don't see youse changing your fixtures for us when we're at the cross. And don't forget how the two clubs came to the arrangement of the cup replay last year - playing on Sunday after Friday games, rather than afternoon during the week (I know it suited both clubs financially, but potentially with injuries etc....). Be thankful that the rumour that we're moving to Friday nights hasn't come about yet.....
    We usually change to a noon kick-off to accomodate Derry City when they're in town and, more importantly, ye had no problem playing us on a Sunday on the opening weekend of the season - presumably because ye had a European match the Thursday before

Yeah, because we were playing on the Thursday, but unless I missed something we weren't playing last night. Longford to Cork is a 3 hour drive max, and easily doable on a Saturday.

522 Posts

No Neil, it just feels like it.

© 2002 trolls inc.

Longford to Cork is a 3 hour drive max, and easily doable on a Saturday.
    Easily 'double' more like! How the huck did ya do that trip in 3 hours? We had a Michael Schumacher type driving and it took about 4 and a half!

Yeah, because we were playing on the Thursday, but unless I missed something we weren't playing last night. Longford to Cork is a 3 hour drive max, and easily doable on a Saturday.
    I'm not disputing that. I'm just saying it would have been a nice friendly gesture to play it on Sunday and not just switch to Sunday when it suits the home team.

Besides the way Bernie drives it's more than 3 hours

Trying to think of the route we took....
    Longford - Athlone - Birr - Thurles - Horse and Jockey - Cork. As far as I remember it was around 3 hours, honestly.....

Sounds like correct route Macy. Horse 'n Jockey to Turners Cross be 90mins, dunno about the rest of it..........

Was This The Route Home?

Trying to think of the route we took...
    Cork,Cork
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    N8 Junction with R639
    At roundabout take 2nd exit
    N8 Dunkettle Interchange (N25)
    Branch left (signposted Dublin) and at roundabout take 1st exit
    N8 Watergrasshill

N8 Rathcormack

N8 FERMOY
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    N8 Mitchelstown
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    N8 Kilbeheny

N8 Junction with R670 (South)
    Keep forward
    N8 Junction with N24
    At roundabout take 2nd exit
    N8 New Inn

N8 Rockwell College
    In 3.7 miles turn right into
    N8 Cashel
    Follow signs Dublin N8
    "Horse and Jockey" public house
    Turn left N62 (signposted Thurles)
    N62 Thurles
    Follow signs Roscrea N62 In 8.7 miles turn right into
    N62 Templemore
    Follow signs Roscrea N62
    N62 ROSCREA
    Follow signs Birr N62
    N62 Birr
    Follow signs Tullamore N52
    N52 Junction with N62
    Turn left N62 (signposted Athlone)
    N62 Cloghan
    Keep forward
    N62 Ferbane

N62 Ballynahown

N62 Junction with N6
    Follow signs Athlone N6
    N6 Junction with Athlone Bypass
    Follow signs Galway N6 into Athlone Bypass
    N6 Junction with N55
    Follow signs Cavan N55
    N55 Junction with R390
    Follow signs Cavan N55
    N55 Ballykeeran (Marina)

N55 Glassan

N55 Goldsmith Country (Sweet Auburn) (on left)

N55 Tang

N55 Ballymahon
    Turn left then left again R392 (signposted Roscommon, Longford)
    R392 Junction with R397
    Turn right R397 (signposted Longford) In 1.2 miles at crossroads turn left
    R397 Keenagh

R397 Junction with N63
    Turn right N63
    N63 LONGFORD
    You have reached your destination.

Longford - Athlone - Birr - Thurles - Horse and Jockey - Cork. As far as I remember it was around 3 hours, honestly.....
    How the huck did we end up going through Mullingar and Port Laoise!

Sunday match means quieter roads and better driving time.

Michael Schumacher could really floor it then.

Originally posted by Bernie
    Sunday match means quieter roads and better driving time.

Michael Schumacher could really floor it then.
    Sorry lads, I'm not available!

That's probably a more direct route alright, but you have to go through Birr () and you miss out on Durrow (it's a Cork City thing!)

So Joseph, you dragged us all the way around the country just so we could SEE Durrow twice.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.