Page 21 of 62 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland in Europe 2014

2,446 Posts
    Pats v Warsaw live on Setanta on Wednesday.

to answer a earlier question the reason banga had only 14 squad plyrs was four othrs got refused visas!

2,284 Posts
    to answer a earlier question the reason banga had only 14 squad plyrs was four othrs got refused visas!
    They have a couple of players from Russia, Ukraine and Moldova, so I'm guessing it must have been them. I know the remainder of the team were Lithuanian nationals and thus free to travel as EU citizens, but, for the sake of argument, what might have happened had a significant enough number of players been denied visas by the Irish government so as to disable Banga from selecting eleven starters? Would Banga have been deemed to have failed to fulfill the fixture and Sligo awarded a victory? It would seem unusual that a government body might have such potentially extreme or direct influence as that, but I guess there's little UEFA can do about matters of international travel and to whom independent states decide to permit entry.

With Norway not being party to the EU and all, maybe the Irish government could also deny the Rosenborg squad entry?...

106 Posts
    The Irish government should do whatever they can to improve the league's standing.

If they won't fund the domestic game properly, the least they can do is deprive the opposition of a few visas.

386 Posts
    Hadjuk were average in the EL last year. Win and a draw in 2nd round and went out to a Georgian side in the 3rd Round. Haven't done a lot in Europe since reaching the EL Group stages a few seasons ago. Granted they'll be a step up but seem to be iffy away from home so think Dundalk have a chance.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by texidub View Post
    If they won't fund the domestic game properly
    If the government showered the FAI in money, you would still have Delaney and co. in charge. Nothing will ever change.

2,284 Posts
    Came across some quality public photos from the Derry game on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.howel...7250690&type=1

Did Aberystwyth have poppies on their jerseys?:

Any particular reason behind that seeing as poppy season is usually around November?

And a snap of the crowd, here, featuring Danny Lafferty and James McClean:

It should be pointed out, of course, that James wasn't wearing a poppy.

They're wearing the poppy all season apparently to mark the 100th anniversary.

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I'm surprised they were allowed it for this game as UEFA are quite strict on what you can and can't have on your kit. I know Dundalk had to get new jerseys with a smaller Fyffes logo and no sponsor on the back.

65 Posts
    I though Uefa dont allow political/memorial stuff etc to be worn in competitions? werent England trying to wear it in an International last year ? although it could be FIFA I'm thinking of.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    I though Uefa dont allow political/memorial stuff etc to be worn in competitions? werent England trying to wear it in an International last year ? although it could be FIFA I'm thinking of.
    They're not banned but I think you need permission. Either UEFA weren't that bothered about a low-profile game or else Aberstwyth didn't ask.

229 Posts
    Nice round to enter to get some handy wins. Next round is possibly where more notice and kudos will be given with the right result(s).

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Pats v Warsaw live on Setanta on Wednesday.
    Don't watch, we're going to be hammered

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Don't watch, we're going to be hammered
    Polish beer is pretty cheap to be fair.

1,825 Posts
    Typical barstoolers. Only going for the Polish p!ss-up.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

433 Posts
    Polish beer is pretty cheap to be fair.
    I lol'd but then i thought "no it fecking isn't"
    "That Polish beer not be cheap at tall at all"

Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

22 Posts
    Tyskie is far from cheap lads!

You lads are no craic. Sure it's a moot point anyway as Pats will be involved in a bonus dispute long before they think about boarding a plane for Varshava.

126 Posts
    http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/ne...ures-postponed

Two SSE Airtricity League fixtures postponed

Two SSE Airtricity League Premier Division fixtures scheduled for next weekend have been postponed due to the involvement of clubs in the second qualifying round of the Europa League. A third match has been rescheduled.

The matches between Limerick and Derry City, which had been scheduled for Friday, July 18, and Sligo Rovers and Bohemians, which had been fixed for Saturday, July 19, have both been postponed. Derry City play Shakhtyor Soligorsk of Belarus on Thursday, July 17, and Sligo Rovers face Rosenborg of Norway on the same date. A new date for both fixtures will be announced in due course.

Dundalk, who play Hajduk Split of Croatia on Thursday, July 17, have rescheduled their SSE Airtricity League Premier Division fixture against Athlone Town to Sunday, July 20, at 7pm in Oriel Park. The match had originally been scheduled for Friday, July 18.

I didn't know that! The poppy is only a hundred years old....
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Page 21 of 62 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast