Thread: Peter Hutton - Derry City Manager

874 Posts
    Free scoring Derry were top 2 for a good while last season and then faded final round to 4th and were nearly caught by Shams in the end

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Free scoring Derry were top 2 for a good while last season and then faded final round to 4th and were nearly caught by Shams in the end
    But how much of that was Devine's fault? They seemed to have a threadbare squad and with a few injuries did well to get into Europe again. Win the cup, get into Europe twice, get the boot, thats LOI for you.

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    But how much of that was Devine's fault? They seemed to have a threadbare squad and with a few injuries did well to get into Europe again. Win the cup, get into Europe twice, get the boot, thats LOI for you.
    Winning the cup was lucky. They finished 5th that year. That was a better indicator.

Devine was a poor enough manager. He got quite lucky that several local Derry lads came about at the same time but that's not really down to him IMO.

The problem wasn't getting rid of Devine, it was replacing him with Roddy

63 Posts
    Was at the cup final which Derry won, and once the game went into extra time it was clear that the Derry players "wanted it more" than the Pats lads. Maybe this motivation/better spirit/determination etc had nothing to do with the manager and was all down to the players, but the one of the most important factor in managing any team/club is that the players believe in the guy in charge. Strange looking back if you wanted to rate the 3 managers or coaches involved in the cup final that day (include Crolly) many felt that Buckley was the most insecure in his job. I think Stuart Byrne made a good point on radio; that if Derry had beaten Shamrock R on the first day (which they probably deserved) things could have been different, you need a bit of luck now and again. Rory Paterson was a sub that day for Devine against Pats if I remember rightly. However having seen a fair bit of Enda Curran I don't think he is good enough yet, he may improve with time, to be the main striker for a team near the top of the premier division.

Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    Was at the cup final which Derry won, and once the game went into extra time it was clear that the Derry players "wanted it more" than the Pats lads.
    To be clear, they weren't lucky on the day. I'm just saying league position is a better indication of where a team is than cup results. Derry's run to the final was Finn Harps, UCD, Mervue, Shelbourne. All teams below them in the league. They were better on the day v Pats. No doubt about that.

I think Stuart Byrne made a good point on radio; that if Derry had beaten Shamrock R on the first day (which they probably deserved) things could have been different, you need a bit of luck now and again.
    Stuey conveniently forgetting that Derry's goal came from a cross that Barry Murphy misjudged. Derry couldn't complain about luck that day

If Derry had won that day it would only have encouraged Roddy. They set up 15 men behind the ball and kicked it up the flanks to Stewart as their only outlet.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    If Derry had won that day it would only have encouraged Roddy. They set up 15 men behind the ball and kicked it up the flanks to Stewart as their only outlet.
    (insert double contracts joke here)

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Winning the cup was lucky. They finished 5th that year. That was a better indicator.

Devine was a poor enough manager. He got quite lucky that several local Derry lads came about at the same time but that's not really down to him IMO.

Still for a team that was in the first a few seasons ago, getting the Cup, and Europe two seasons on the bounce wasnt bad going, lucky or not Devine did do well if you say he wasnt a great manager.

874 Posts
    Devines Derry tore Dundalk a new one in Oriel they just werent consistant with the level of performance throughout the season. Played great football that day. At the same time I agree with Dodge Devine leavng didnt lose them a lot appointing Collins did. Prior to this stint i wasnt by LoI default slagging Collins I was interested in the job he could do in a job he 'wanted' he ballsed it up. So its back to touting himself to every club where the managers job is on the line and it will be 1st div again, watch out Waterford Roddy and his investers are on the way.

672 Posts
    People seem a bit bemused we've gone with Hutton, but who was out there to appoint? David Jeffries? Pat Fenlon?!

Unfortuantely, ambition doesn't run too high at the club right now and getting a local guy in who can get the team motivated, playing a half-decent version of football and not alienating the remaining fans would be the goal. We're not aiming for the statosphere here. I'm happy with the appointment on the basis that a) we're cutting our cloth and b) everything's a bonus after Roddy's gone. Everything.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    People seem a bit bemused we've gone with Hutton, but who was out there to appoint? David Jeffries? Pat Fenlon?!
    You mean Pat Fenlon the man who won the league 5 times as a manager?? Was it the fact he only won the league cup once that put ye off??

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Or maybe the fact he was already here and failed? No?

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Or maybe the fact he was already here and failed? No?
    How many games did he get though? 6? 7?

He won 5 league titles as manager, not bad going in fairness.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    How many games did he get though? 6? 7?

He won 5 league titles as manager, not bad going in fairness.
    He had 5 months in charge, brought in either players who were average or finished. Didnt improve us whatsoever, his style of play was brutal. Same is said of Dermot Keely's reign, and Roddy Collins reign.

Just could not let this one slide Dodge. What part of lucky do you think rebuilding a team that just lost Lafferty, McClean, McGlynn and Zayed on a short pre season was?

The only bit of luck Devine got in his entire time as Derry manger was getting Pats in a club final, as we all know how that game ends.

Derry's board have an awful lot to answer for. Forcing assistant managers on to manager and sacking a guy who was most certainly taking Derry in the right direction was disgraceful.
    MD

Quote Originally Posted by mrtndvn View Post
    Just could not let this one slide Dodge. What part of lucky do you think rebuilding a team that just lost Lafferty, McClean, McGlynn and Zayed on a short pre season was?
    Lucky in the cup run. I didn't say they were lucky overall.

However every team loses/adds players every year in this league. It's part of the job for LOI managers so I don't see that as a mitigating factor.

You can be happy with how Devine was doing if you like.

Lucky in the cup run. I didn't say they were lucky overall.

However every team loses/adds players every year in this league. It's part of the job for LOI managers so I don't see that as a mitigating factor.

You can be happy with how Devine was doing if you like.
    Again, I just can't let that side.

What other club have lost such talent all at one go, 3 internationals and Gareth McGlynn, who was a key player for Derry.

Despite all this, and an injury crises I've never seen the likes of while following Derry, Devine still managed to lead us to an FAI cup success. Pretty good going.
    MD

It doesn't really matter who wasn't there. How he puts his squad together is all that matters.

Under Devine Derry lost 24 of their 63 league games. If you think that's good enough. Then fair enough

101 Posts
    It doesn't really matter who wasn't there. How he puts his squad together is all that matters.

Under Devine Derry lost 24 of their 63 league games. If you think that's good enough. Then fair enough
    Which is it wins or final league position? 4th and 5th were fair reflections, that few Derry fans would, all things considered, complain about. Course if we're talking losses, he had one in the fai cup. That's fifty percent less than pats :O