Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Series 12.

773 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Didn't hear it inside the ground. Was on Emmet Road though. Group of 15 or so young lads. Lasted for about 30 seconds or so
    That's disgusting and a bit depressing.

Patently not true, from having seen Cork in the Bowl. Ten men behind the ball for most of it; didn't even pretend to play football in the second half.
    Down to ten men for the most of that and being 1 up, then that can hardly be used as a barometer of how we normally play.

3,269 Posts
    Bohs were down to ten men for the same length last night, and created far more than Cork did.

I agree that it shouldn't be a normal measure, but when a fairly poor Bohs side play more ball than Cork under the same circumstances, then I think it's fair to use the example to challenge the OP.

Bohs were down to ten men for the same length last night, and created far more than Cork did.

I agree that it shouldn't be a normal measure, but when a fairly poor Bohs side play more ball than Cork under the same circumstances, then I think it's fair to use the example to challenge the OP.
    Against the side with the worst defensive record in the league, ye could at least have risked one man up.

So you'll forgive me laughing at your comments that Cork try to play football.

Sorry, but from what I've seen of Cork, I'll agree with the Pat's fans on this one.

And as for dismissing racist chanting like you have...
    We were 1-0 up away from home before we had to play with 10 men for over an hour, in a ground where we had dropped points in recent years. Two different games entirely.

I don't condone racism and I apologise if I upset any Dubs or the PC brigade.

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel View Post
    We were 1-0 up away from home before we had to play with 10 men for over an hour, in a ground where we had dropped points in recent years. Two different games entirely.
    See point above. If Bohs could play a bit of ball against us with ten men, surely the mighty Cork should be able to?

I absolutely acknowledge that Cork had a gameplan, playing on one of our weaknesses (inability to open up packed defences), but it kind of flies in the face of your idea that ye play nice, attacking football.

Wow. You really don't get it, do you?

447 Posts

bohs were at home. big difference. bohs werent winning. big difference.

we havent played well in a few weeks though now.

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    bohs were at home. big difference. bohs werent winning. big difference.
    Bohs are muck. Cork are being put across as a great team. Negates the differences.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    we havent played well in a few weeks though now.
    That's fair enough.

See point above. If Bohs could play a bit of ball against us with ten men, surely the mighty Cork should be able to?

I absolutely acknowledge that Cork had a gameplan, playing on one of our weaknesses (inability to open up packed defences), but it kind of flies in the face of your idea that ye play nice, attacking football.

Wow. You really don't get it, do you?
    No, it doesn't really. We were 1-0 up away from home in a ground where we'd dropped points in recent years, before going down to 10 men, and still created some chances while restricting the opposition. That sort of situation doesn't really call for all out attacking football. Bohs were at home, it was 0-0.

3,269 Posts
    Still not a single sign in that entire match that Cork were anything other than a rather pedestrian team.

Still not apologising for defending the racism? Apologising for others getting offended isn't the same thing, you know that?

Still not a single sign in that entire match that Cork were anything other than a rather pedestrian team.

Still not apologising for defending the racism? Apologising for others getting offended isn't the same thing, you know that?
    It's beyond me that you don't understand why a team 1-0 up away from home with ten men for over an hour would not go out an attack as if they had eleven.

Defending racism? I said that I don't condone racism.

3,269 Posts
    You dismissed those criticising the chants as PC, or Dubs getting easily offended.

You absolutely do condone racism going by those comments. It's others' fault for getting offended easily.

It never even occurred to you that Asians might be offended by the comments too. Quite a blinkered view overall there.

880 Posts

Why am I not stunned by your level of ignorance?

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Don't feed the trolls.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Don't feed the trolls.
    Touché.

I'd talk about the Bohs v UCD game, but I think Dalymountrower covered literally everything of interest that happened in about 12 words, so...

You dismissed those criticising the chants as PC, or Dubs getting easily offended.

You absolutely do condone racism going by those comments. It's others' fault for getting offended easily.

It never even occurred to you that Asians might be offended by the comments too. Quite a blinkered view overall there.
    I have repeatedly stated that I do not condone racism. How dare you suggest that I "absolutely do condone racism", that is a slight on my character.

217 Posts
    The Premier seems split in 3 mini leagues right now - the top 4, 5th to 11th and Athlone. I'm surprised to see Sligo a bit adrift of the top 4. I know they had a good win in Limerick recently. Pat's leading the way, fair play. Rovers back in the mix. Kenny pushing Dundalk in the right direction once more. Cork back near the top for the first time since their resurrection. Dundalk, Cork and Pat's are Limerick's next three games, all at home. I'll have to make my way off to Thomond Park to see how Limerick and 3 of the top 4 are shaping up.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

445 Posts
    I have repeatedly stated that I do not condone racism. How dare you suggest that I "absolutely do condone racism", that is a slight on my character.
    Well the neutrals have said you're racist so I automatically agree with them without having any proof for myself...
    Here on a technicality.

3,269 Posts
    How dare you suggest that I "absolutely do condone racism", that is a slight on my character.
    I suggest it because you said -
    Quote Originally Posted by CityRebel
    I apologise if I upset any Dubs or the PC brigade.
    Which shows you don't even understand why the comments are offensive.

Fairly simple really.

Gerry Adams can say he condones violence. But it's actions that count, not words.

Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    The Premier seems split in 3 mini leagues right now - the top 4, 5th to 11th and Athlone. I'm surprised to see Sligo a bit adrift of the top 4. I know they had a good win in Limerick recently. Pat's leading the way, fair play. Rovers back in the mix. Kenny pushing Dundalk in the right direction once more. Cork back near the top for the first time since their resurrection. Dundalk, Cork and Pat's are Limerick's next three games, all at home. I'll have to make my way off to Thomond Park to see how Limerick and 3 of the top 4 are shaping up.
    The first mini-league is the top 5. Sligo may be a few points back but they have got their form back and they have the players to sustain a good run.

The three strongest squads are Pats, Dundalk and Sligo and they're also the teams playing the best football. Sligo are probably outsiders because of the points dropped but they'll chase Pats and Dundalk.

On what I saw last night, Cork are not top 3 material. Shamrock Rovers have some very good players but they don't have strength in depth in key positions. They'll battle with Cork for 4th spot.

After that 5, there's a big gap in quality and strength in depth. Most of the others are capable of the odd win against one of the top teams, but they won't do it consistently.

I suggest it because you said -

Which shows you don't even understand why the comments are offensive.

Fairly simple really.

Gerry Adams can say he condones violence. But it's actions that count, not words.
    Come off the stage.

880 Posts
    Ok you have apologised to Dubs and the PC brigade - now how about the Pakistani community, or is this ommission indicitave of your racist tendencies?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast