Thread: Fair Play to Ye Lads

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    from what i can see so, we had a lot of late developers
    would you prefer if they never developed beyond the man yoo stage then?

had to endure some @sshole slating georgie behind me( what biy can clarify this, A FACE might be able to, dont know if he heard it,but was close by).....ended up telling him to shut the fcuk up
    I wonder why you didn't point him out to me?!!

Quote Originally Posted by U 4 E A
    School... work commitments? I was able to make this Shels game. It's the mid-term break. I try to make every away game possible where i don't have school, but I won't be able to make the Drogs game unfortunately. Hopefully I'll have a half day or something. But a lot of other people are in the same boat as me.
    Could you not just take a half day from school? There's a hell of a lot of youngfella/girls on the buses who do it nearly every second week. It's the last away game of the season so you won't have to do it again for a while.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Could you not just take a half day from school? There's a hell of a lot of youngfella/girls on the buses who do it nearly every second week. It's the last away game of the season so you won't have to do it again for a while.
    The poor fella might end up repeating the leaving cert if he carries on like

Sorry, I'm City till I die and everything, but school comes first for me. Once i'm out if it, then its away games all the time unless college/work stops me from doing this (but i hope it doesn't) and as long as Ian is running his buses .
    thats fair enough. not everyone can manage it

$hel$ was only my third away game. I only moved to Ireland last December and have been to most home matches and the away games I just mentioned. I am passionate about football and love watching City. Please dont have a go at us newbies. I will be going to Drogs away, buying a season ticket next season, getting involved with FourFiveOne and going to as many away games as possible. I will also be at Ovens on Tuesday night.

We all have to start somewhere......

looked around me last night and saw a lot of new faces, thats all well and good if they are gonna be back again...dont think so
    must have been the light from the flares in the otherwise dark stand.
    I think a plan is just a list of things that don't happen - Mr Parker

Once i'm out if it, then its away games all the time unless college stops me from doing this
    LOL!!! College?

The last time I heard the leaving cert was in June not November. Not tryin to knock you but you you wont miss too much by taking a half day on a Friday.

Quote Originally Posted by Soko
    The last time I heard the leaving cert was in June not November. Not tryin to knock you but you you wont miss too much by taking a half day on a Friday.
    I agree. In all fairness missing two or three classes on a Friday afternoon isn't going to do him any harm, there's a load of people who go on the bus that are doing their leaving cert who take a half day every second Friday.
    I can't see why you don't do the same U4EA? The Drogs game is the last away game of the season so you're not going to have to do it again for about 3 months.
    Champions!

in fairness lads, there's no call to be giving out to someone for not missing school. if its important, he has every right to put it first.

This thread has turned into a bit of a joke.....

Patsh: "I need to take yet more time off, Friday, boss."

Boss: "Hmmmm, what is it THIS time?"

Patsh:"Ehh, I have an...emm....thing I have to do"

Boss:"Oh OK, no problem..."

Patsh:"Thanks Boss, you're sound...(under breath "for a eggchasing tosser")

Boss: (as Patsh is leaving room) "Would this "thing" be taking place in Drogheda by any chance?"

Patsh:" Ehh No... "

Boss: "Grand.......because you would like to continue earning money one presumes?...."

ive work on fridays. it means i often miss a lot of home games, never mind away games. but any midweek games i go to, and i save my days off and sick days for the big games. i just cant make it to all the games and i'd prefer to see ones which are important. yes i know, they are all important but that shels one was pretty important.

actually it disgusts me
    where are they all season???????????
    we travel to most away games and u get these fellas that come out tonite
    I dunno Corner. I was one of the newbies at Tolka, and had a flock with me too. All week the forum was full of hope and promise that the crowd would be massive. It could not have been this size without us newcomers. But I see where you are coming from. The thing now is, how do you keep this level of support there.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

I think its hard to get support like that to away matches on Friday nights for obvious reasons. But I though Friday night the support was excellent. A Dutch Shels supporter came up to us after the match and said that the Cork support was the loudest he had have ever seen in all his years of being a shels fan.

On the other side of the coin, it was depressing to see the a top-of-the-table clash at the end of the season only draw 4,000. The League of Ireland is dead in Dublin. I mean 4000. Its sad really. You would think there would be 10,000 at it.

The stand with the B. Dearg lads is what should be where the Shed is, except that it should stretch all the way behind the goal. The Shels one looks ridiculous.

dont pick me up the wrong way lads, the support was massive but the point im getting at,in comparisons with our home support,our away support should be a lot better

we should be a ble to fill 3 buses every week we are away

While bringing 1000 to Tolka is a great achievement, it does however illustrate that attendances are going backwards all over the country. For the Pats-Cork title decider in April 1999, Richmond was rammed, the official attendance was just over 7000 and I'd say youse brought upwards of 1500 of that. That's only five years ago. Look where things have slid to since...
    Revenge for 2002

Its strange really cause the standard has really improved since those days.

the numbers havent been dropping...its just that shels have no fans

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I agree. In all fairness missing two or three classes on a Friday afternoon isn't going to do him any harm, there's a load of people who go on the bus that are doing their leaving cert who take a half day every second Friday.
    I can't see why you don't do the same U4EA? The Drogs game is the last away game of the season so you're not going to have to do it again for about 3 months.
    give the fella a break for fcuk sake.. if his leaving is important to him and city has to come second next week..thats fair enough
    fair dues to all the lads who go to every match but not everyone can put that sort of dedication in for various reasons... if u4ea is in scholl he prob had to spend all of his money on the city games all season which makes the trips he was on more of a sacrifice and effort than for most of us

corner....its a fact of life that the more attractive a game the larger the crowd..its always been like this and will always be no matter where you are or what sport it is. this whole thing of seeing new faces and claiming that it disgusts you is boll0x... city put on a geat show in tolka and some of those newbies will be back after it...others wont come again until theres a cup final or something..
    bigger away support every game would be great.. the way to achieve this is by subsidising busses, making a great atmosphere with flags, drums etc(as city do), the team playing attractive football..theres lots more
    criticising people is the last thing that will make them come back regularly

Quote Originally Posted by one_bounce

corner....its a fact of life that the more attractive a game the larger the crowd..its always been like this and will always be no matter where you are or what sport it is. this whole thing of seeing new faces and claiming that it disgusts you is boll0x... city put on a geat show in tolka and some of those newbies will be back after it...others wont come again until theres a cup final or something..
    bigger away support every game would be great.. the way to achieve this is by subsidising busses, making a great atmosphere with flags, drums etc(as city do), the team playing attractive football..theres lots more
    criticising people is the last thing that will make them come back regularly

read post number 62

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    While bringing 1000 to Tolka is a great achievement, it does however illustrate that attendances are going backwards all over the country. For the Pats-Cork title decider in April 1999, Richmond was rammed, the official attendance was just over 7000 and I'd say youse brought upwards of 1500 of that. That's only five years ago. Look where things have slid to since...

But put Pats in the situation we had Friday night and there could have been a similar crowd. City had also made a season long run at the league that year and interest was built up not on the back of an unforeseen winning run but a good solid season. Shels are just pathetic when it comes to support so I would'nt worry about that crowd too much.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast