Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Underage Soccer

Mayo Underage Soccer

Just a thread to discuss all the aspects of underage soccer in mayo, what teams have carried on in external cups from last year, what clubs are doing alot of work behind the scenes to improve their set ups and are clubs win at all costs stunting the growth of players in the county.....

any tapping up!

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pinkpowerranger View Post
    any tapping up!
    Oh that was a low blow ......

any tapping up!
    ah there is no clubs at that is there?

any tapping up!
    stick to the football lads.... Nice to see a few mayo teams getting to Connaught cup finals next weekend... Knock u12 Celtic u14 Westport u16 claremorris u18

Quote Originally Posted by Conn hawk View Post
    stick to the football lads.... Nice to see a few mayo teams getting to Connaught cup finals next weekend... Knock u12 Celtic u14 Westport u16 claremorris u18
    Cannot say I know of any 'tapped up' players in any of those teams.

Most Mayo League managers are more interested in getting there own club players rather than getting the best players in Mayo, last year we had a young lad he had scored up on 50 goals at U15 level, the Kennedy management was told to have a look at him, never got a look in. He played for Connaught before he played for Mayo.
    The situation with the age should be looked at where young fellas at 14 has too play at U15, we got the Mayo youths to admit they had not too change the year you have to be too play at that level The Mayo girls has returned to the old system. We as a club had a motion at a AGM a number of years ago, no one supported the motion but a number of clubs admitted to us afterwards that we were right.

51 Posts
    Dont forget the shield finals - celtic under 16 and your own under 18's!

Awful interesting how its mayo Galway in all the cup finals and 2 shield finals, are Sligo, Roscommon, Leitrim, athlone league behind by much? Round tower, the thoughts of a lad been on the Connaught team but not not on mayo team confuses me...

Great win for claremorris U18s beating salthill Devon on pens in the connacht cup final today. Hopefully these lads can step up to junior level now

51 Posts
    Yes great win for Claremorris Under 18 - fair play and it can be only good for the junior team for this year and next - they need to be brought inside the junior panel straight away or they will be loss from the sport.

Also well done to Celtic Under 16's who won the shield.

Been at two youths and schoolboys finals in milebush in last couple weeks, referee BB decisions have been major turning points in games,less seen of referee in a game the better, could do with learning this,feel sorry for the young fellas

Quote Originally Posted by pinero View Post
    Been at two youths and schoolboys finals in milebush in last couple weeks, referee BB decisions have been major turning points in games,less seen of referee in a game the better, could do with learning this,feel sorry for the young fellas
    I believe this ref. is part of the FAI referee's school of excelance, the same school that D. Mc G. did,. He was very fussy when he came out first but has changed to a very good ref. In the game against Swinford we had another one from this school, JM, very fussy, spoke to practicaly every player on the pitch, give these referee's a chance. Agree with you about the referee should be seen and not heard.
    Last edited by Round Tower; 08/05/2014 at 11:43 AM.

Has anyone else had problems with this. We have had players poached again from being sent to Mayo youths academies, it seems some clubs find it perfectly all right and ethical to approach any player who is in these academies. It seems to follow similar lines talk to the parents, tell them how their Johnny is better then where he's at, how he could play at a higher level and they can provide that. Manulla in particular seem to be very active at this. Anyone else have problems.

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Has anyone else had problems with this. We have had players poached again from being sent to Mayo youths academies, it seems some clubs find it perfectly all right and ethical to approach any player who is in these academies. It seems to follow similar lines talk to the parents, tell them how their Johnny is better then where he's at, how he could play at a higher level and they can provide that. Manulla in particular seem to be very active at this. Anyone else have problems.
    Yes we have had that problem for years, we lost 2 very young players to Ballina town in the last couple of years. When we don't send players we were asked why not, we told them that this was the problem, they denied this practice was going on. Conn Rangers is another club at it, we have evidence that they tried to take a player who played last year for Mayo, also tried to get 2 other underage players to sign for them. There is a member on here who will be very wary of redheads.

Quote Originally Posted by Round Tower View Post
    Yes we have had that problem for years, we lost 2 very young players to Ballina town in the last couple of years. When we don't send players we were asked why not, we told them that this was the problem, they denied this practice was going on. Conn Rangers is another club at it, we have evidence that they tried to take a player who played last year for Mayo, also tried to get 2 other underage players to sign for them. There is a member on here who will be very wary of redheads.
    Well ye tryed to sign 3 of our fringe senior players so will we call it quits roundtower

We never did, have you proof. have your club not been trying to sign one of our regulers for the last couple of years.

i'm confused whats wrong with approaching players to play for ya, if they want to go whats the problem, its a free world

At junior level most people would agree with u but not at school boys-girls level and not a league underage coach.

at any level they should be playing where there abilty is not handicaped by where they are born

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast